dnsfpl

wage $7 per hour, big mac meal $7

if min wage become $10 per hour, big mac meal will cost $10

get what i mean?

pigskin

i think it does help for low wages workers.

But bosses can choose to hire less workers and add on workload to existing worker if set minimum wages?

unless company headcount & workload are being controlled by ministry?

Ubi-Warrior

They have no understanding of how it would work.

Therefore probably best they dont introduce.

Sent from An Alternative Viewpoint On Life using GAGT

Scrabby

Unlike first world Scandinavian region.. Spore is surrounded by countries that provide cheaper labour resources. For manufacturing, firms can easily outsource or relocate their production bases elsewhere in SEA if minimum wage is implemented here. For food n services, consumers will pay the price.

Ubi-Warrior

is it a sinkie only thing or all employee thing?

It would have to be a minimum wage for a specific job I expect.

I dunno how these things work around the world.

Ubi-Warrior

Unlike first world Scandinavian region.. Spore is surrounded by countries that provide cheaper labour resources. For manufacturing, firms can easily outsource or relocate their production bases elsewhere in SEA if minimum wage is implemented here. For food n services, consumers will pay the price.

Only can relocate if what you produce requires next to no skills and training can be done in a week.

hackberry

Min. Age for sinkie.

But this scheme will be a disaster if garment do not control the floodgate for FW.

Garment do not wish to control the Floodgate.

So they will not agree to it.
You can't have a minimum wages for Singaporeans only. That is discrimination.
If you clean floor, bangala also clean floor, because you Singaporean, you get minimum wages but bangala get lesser for the same job? Cannot rah? Bangala will be resentful also.
More problems nia. And then have to deal with human rights.

If SG start minimum wage, everything will degrade and problems will arise.

lazysundae

doesn't gel with existing practice of low cost foreigner labour

Sent from Anfield YNWA using GAGT

RadioAddict

Because minimum wage is like telling you it’s ok to aim lower in life and work as blue collar workers. You still get a decent wage.

You can’t have this sh1t in Singapore

pureice

hmmm i was just watching this vid~~ seems quite interesting, talks on both side of the coin: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=puPXbYFTV6A

how hor~ must see sg context rah~~ as they say its quite a blunt tool, and the outcome maybe not what we expected....

good intentions....maybe doesnt mean good policy?

lampPC

Nearby low cost environment is a big danger if we raise the costs of our own local labour.

What the government should do is to bring next generations Singaporeans to higher pay jobs.

Why Isreal and Estonia can do but Singapore cannot? Answer: Temasek Linked Companies receiving too much help and taking too much of the best talents.

glarerder

you see how fast hsbc run road after hk security law implemented..not sure what happen if minimum wage gets implemented..

we should compete on quality instead of cheap labour..

boredom2012

Nearby low cost environment is a big danger if we raise the costs of our own local labour.

What the government should do is to bring next generations Singaporeans to higher pay jobs.

Why Isreal and Estonia can do but Singapore cannot? Answer: Temasek Linked Companies receiving too much help and taking too much of the best talents.
Israel and Estonia can do because they protect their own people first. Next boom is hungrary.

Xeservico

Not all jobs can be relocated, nor can they be done by unskilled or lesser skilled labour.

And if those jobs can already be relocated and done by lesser skilled workers, you think they are still around meh? Minimum wage is a small pinch to these MNC's profits at best. :s8::s8::s8:

blong

Because min wage is not attractive to rich people. How dare someone set a wage for them not to set any lower.

But honestly in Singapore context, I feel it is good to have a min wage for Singaporeans. Some companies in Singapore damn jialat one.

Ubi-Warrior

Because minimum wage is like telling you it’s ok to aim lower in life and work as blue collar workers. You still get a decent wage.

You can’t have this sh1t in Singapore

Does it do that?

I have my doubts.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.