• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

ponpokku

Open to abuse and places an artificial value of work for jobs where the returns are low.

Double edged swords too, e.g the McD example, higher Minimum wage = less cashiers replaced by machines.

thats just becos govt ish the biggest landlord controlling the rental. :s22:

all other fastfood chains in 1st world dev-ed countries got min wage and they dun use machines as cashiers. :s22:

u are just blaming the wrong party.

draco_88

If a business cannot afford to operate in its environment than there is something wrong with its business model. Probably the best is for such businesses to go burst and allow the human capital to be channelled into business that are profitable. Singapore has a small population it is better not to waste human resources in sunset industries.

Yah best if let those SMEs close down. O wait, SMEs form main bulk of SG biz

trax06

Originally Posted by RadioAddict:
Because minimum wage is like telling you it’s ok to aim lower in life and work as blue collar workers. You still get a decent wage.

You can’t have this sh1t in Singapore

Blargh.. I detest!

MyWill

Because elites are mostly SME owners who prefer cheap labour over innovation for productivity. And when push come to shove, elites rather side with self interest and own kind.

junlove

minimum wages provides a layer of 'forced' buffer against depressed wages, taking into consideration of costs of living and inflation. TBH though, the current Progressive Wage Model is actually a form of minimum wage, if the company follows. It will work if strictly implemented.

Without any form of 'wage protection', it's called supply and demand, and we all know market is never perfect. Given a choice, which boss will want to pay higher wage for lower rungs when the supply is ample. For the control of supply, well, it's the job of the govt. we are only few million population, if no gate is set, any amt of low waged supply across the world can flood us.

We should not be enticing businesses to thrive in SG because of LOW WAGE, if so they should have set up in neighboring countries and third world ones... and if this trend goes one... we will become like them

We must re-profile so that businesses will still want to set up in SG due to multiple factors, while providing FAIR wages for our Citizens. Low wages cannot be the factor, else SG economy will chuiz in time to come....

If you are a host, will you want to only provide benefits for the visitors and not a win win for your own people??

gandalfthegrey

Ideal behind minimum wage to to provide a floor for those who falls through the crack when the economy progress from cheap labour up the value chain :o

Businesses which are resistance to minimum wage are mostly those who failed to progress, value add and thus heavily dependent cheap labour, the cheaper the better :o

antonpoh

As per subject :o

Papee hate it so much because they can't import more FT and tax them.

What you will see, same like Europe those with minimum wage. When they can employ 2 waitress 1 cleaner(all 3 are foreigner), with minimum wage they now employ a local that do all that. And her pay is at least aro 2k euro.

ponpokku

How are about domestic helpers? Will they be under minimum wage rule too?

yup. and u will see sinkie aunties willing to take up hourly housecleaning jobs and drive out the foreign maids. dun need to hear duckalog speaking kids. :s22:

Dracky

Politically, minimum wage signals that there is a such a thing that you can't sustain yourself in Singapore if your pay is too low. For PAP, there is no such limit. You die, you poor, your problem.

There is no right or wrong.

If nobody will hire a person at the minimum wage, will taxpayers support welfare for this person? Or leave him to his own devices?

coyote

Easy for you to say because you do not belong to the category of low wage workers.

If a business cannot afford to operate in its environment than there is something wrong with its business model. Probably the best is for such businesses to go burst and allow the human capital to be channelled into business that are profitable. Singapore has a small population it is better not to waste human resources in businesses that depend on artificially enforced low labour costs to survive.

As per subject :o

Keynesian economists widely practiced by most countries have seen effects being practiced by some countries such as USA.

70% disagree - A level textbook.

Other than that case study in Canada if i rmb correctly.

Basically others have tried it and failed. If got other majority of countries try liao but = OK / good and really bring dramatic improvement AKA TYS.

Okok good bring in bring in

ponders

thats just becos govt ish the biggest landlord controlling the rental. :s22:

all other fastfood chains in 1st world dev-ed countries got min wage and they dun use machines as cashiers. :s22:

u are just blaming the wrong party.

Actually they do use the machine. Some mcD are even machine only and you collect food, this is developed country.

Even developing country like Indonesia (minimum wage country), implemented the machines about 2-3 years before Singapore.

Anyway this is just a fast food example, in Singapore's context argument for minimum wage is more towards certain jobs really pay very low until nobody wants to work. Govt is somehow implementing minimum wage for certain jobs now.

But to have a blanket minimum wage i think Sg employers for now not ready yet.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.