• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

5star_pundit

singapore is a first world country yet the wages does not match countries like HongKong for example KFC is paying S$4.5/hr
whereas the min wage in HongKong is S$6/hr
http://www.labour.gov.hk/eng/news/mwo.htm
the purpose of min wage is to discourage companies replacing an existing Singaporean with a foreign worker purely because of cheaper salary. And malaysian does not mind lower salary cos of the favourable exchange rate and he is spending it in m'sia.

more than 90% of all country in the whole world have Minimum wage law why not singapore
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minimum_wage_law#Hong_Kong
if countries like HK can do well with min wage why not singapore ? it is becos HK trade union is very strong and people oriented

ahgohgoh

singapore is a first world country yet the wages does not match countries like HongKong for example KFC is paying S$4.5/hr
the purpose of min wage is to discourage companies replacing an existing Singaporean with a foreign worker purely because of cheaper salary. And malaysian does not mind lower salary cos of the favourable exchange rate and he is spending it in m'sia.

more than 90% of all country in the whole world have Minimum wage law why not singapore
if countries like HK can do well with min wage why not singapore ? it is becos HK trade union is very strong and people oriented

I disagree. Because if some jobs are really undesirable to Singaporeans, it really mean giving minimum wage to foreigners. Does that benefit Singaporeans?

Once you open the minimum wage, the flood gate will open. Get $1,000, want $1,200.

up up up !!

bakuten

Shrink our govt sector. That will free up manpower so we do not need FTs. Let those jiak liao bees working in the govt do some real work in the real world.

Remember. There can be no govt without a pte sector to tax. All those working in the govt sector are no diff from jiak liao bees to me regardless of how impt they claim themselves to be.

Shrink our govt sector. That will free up manpower so we do not need FTs. Let those jiak liao bees working in the govt do some real work in the real world.

Remember. There can be no govt without a pte sector to tax. All those working in the govt sector are no diff from jiak liao bees to me regardless of how impt they claim themselves to be.

:)

I'm an ex civil servant. I confess is TRUE for what you mention.

5star_pundit

I disagree. Because if some jobs are really undesirable to Singaporeans, it really mean giving minimum wage to foreigners. Does that benefit Singaporeans?

Once you open the minimum wage, the flood gate will open. Get $1,000, want $1,200.

up up up !!

a friend of mine who is a chef apply for a position as a cook in a restuarant and the employer offered him $1600 and my friend accepted it. the next day b4 my friend wanted to start work, the boss found another chef from china who is willing to accept the job for $1400 who do you think got the job in the end ???

Stoneman

Pruss huan

WaSiSGKia

up up up !!

In the first place if the job is undesirable to singaporeans then we wont even take it up even with minimum wage.

champagne_0910

In the first place if the job is undesirable to singaporeans then we wont even take it up even with minimum wage.

i agree..

a friend of mine who is a chef apply for a position as a cook in a restuarant and the employer offered him $1600 and my friend accepted it. the next day b4 my friend wanted to start work, the boss found another chef from china who is willing to accept the job for $1400 who do you think got the job in the end ???

i dun get your illustration.. so what should be the minimum wage so that your friend will be hired rather than the china guy? :s11::s11:

fox1

So Singaporeans will not take up undesirable jobs even with minimum wage.
Foreigners who don't mind will want to do.
But because there are complaints that there are too many foreigners, gov cut back and companies cannot hire.

So companies hire elderly folks who do not mind the job.
Then Singaporeans complain that elderly folks have to work during old age, cannot retire.

So companies have to spend money to mechanise (which they might not be able to afford due to money or scale of operation, various plausible reasons) or close down.

Now, what is the point of minimum wage?

first world government have min wage policy.

If PAP want to claim they are having first world government?

than they need to take a serious look at their policies.

fox1

The foreign work force an be categorised in three main groups:

Skilled professionals (e.g. software engineers, doctors, R&D specialists etc.) who are issued an Employment Pass.
Semi-skilled professionals (e.g. technicians, chefs, administrative professionals) who are issued the S Pass.
Unskilled Professionals (e.g. construction workers, domestic help) who are issued a work permit, also known as R Pass.

S Pass
The S Pass allows mid-level skilled staff to work in Singapore. Candidates need to earn at least $2,200 a month and have the relevant qualifications and work experience.

S Pass quota and levy requirements
The number of S Pass holders you can hire is limited by a quota. You must also pay a monthly levy for these workers.

Basic/Tier 1 Up to 10% of the total workforce $315
Tier 2 Above 10% to 15% of the total workforce $550

Hiring the china chef is more EXPENSIVE than hiring your friend.
Your friend must be maggie mee chef.

LeroyTanz

Though this guy is an IB. His first 3 paragraph does hold certain truth.

As for whether minimum wage is a bad idea, I believe we need a more detailed analysis. More numbers, not just vague paragraphs.

So Singaporeans will not take up undesirable jobs even with minimum wage.
Foreigners who don't mind will want to do.
But because there are complaints that there are too many foreigners, gov cut back and companies cannot hire.

So companies hire elderly folks who do not mind the job.
Then Singaporeans complain that elderly folks have to work during old age, cannot retire.

So companies have to spend money to mechanise (which they might not be able to afford due to money or scale of operation, various plausible reasons) or close down.

jedi5diah

because numbers needs to be "generated" so that employment rate is very very high...

Dark.Horizon

The PWM is an extended minimum wage model. The balance has to be there such that its not high, but not self-defeatingly low. $1000 is a good line imo. Current hawkers are offering 100 a day leh, and the costs are low. So who is pulling whose leg?
In Singapore, Annalakshmi has two outlets, one in Amoy Street (near Chinatown) and one near Clarke Quay. All-you-can-eat and pay-what-you-want.

Go there for Indian food theoretically can pay 10 cents.
Kns, u go there feed ur whole family all then pay 1 dollar cfm slow cook in hell.

Sent from A Singaporean Son using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.