• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

overman

In order words, some one breaks into your home at night, it's because it's gov fault?

Let me explain.
You seem to pin the blame on gov for companies breaking the law.
There is a law on housebreaking, someone breaks into your house, it's gov fault.

By the way, your numbers are old.
Time to refresh.

:)

Ya sorry i used the wrong figure for CPF calculations.

Should not be $1,856 should be $1,872. Employer contribution is 17% not 16% liao.

The levy numbers are current leh. Service sector plus work permit since wage is below $2,200.

Where old?

http://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/work-permit-for-foreign-worker/sector-specific-rules/services-sector-requirements

I am not blaming the government. Which part you see me blame the governent?

Haha i lay the blame on the companies who do this.

Then hor i also tiagong some sg boss si bei chek ark one

See? sg boss is government meh?

bakuten

Here's an example.

wage gap = fever
big govt = internal infection
min wage = panadol

panadol will relieve the fever, but will not cure the internal infection.

prolonged taking panadol relieve the fever, but will lead to kidney failure.

keep taking panadol without treating the infection....will eventually lead to the infection getting worse.

to cure the patient....you gotta aim at the right place. don't just settle for a relief treatment.

I_am_bored

Its not stupid on advanced economy.

Btw the 2% unemployment is exaggerated. At least 10% under 30 unemployed for more than 6 months.

PAP telling u cannot is for their own agenda of cheap workers.

hmmm..interesting..where did you get this?
The under 30..is it on all under 30s? Or grads only?

cloudnim

Dun support minimum wage. Goods and services will be adjusted to match the cost. So prices still increase.

Sent from cloud using GAGT

fox1

Ya sorry i used the wrong figure for CPF calculations.

Should not be $1,856 should be $1,872. Employer contribution is 17% not 16% liao.

The levy numbers are current leh. Service sector plus work permit since wage is below $2,200.

Where old?

http://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/work-permit-for-foreign-worker/sector-specific-rules/services-sector-requirements

I am not blaming the government. Which part you see me blame the governent?

Haha i lay the blame on the companies who do this.

Then hor i also tiagong some sg boss si bei chek ark one

See? sg boss is government meh?

First of all, is a Chef under work permit or S Pass?

CrimsonXross

yet the overall productivity shows that the higher influx of FTs have led to lower productivity over the past 10 years. What does it mean?

it shows that these hardworking FTs....may not be more productive than their supposedly "lazy" sinkie counterparts.

remember....
lazy people will find ways to simplify work processes that increase productivity.

lazy people came up with the calculator so you dont have to count using ur fingers or a piece of paper.

lazy people came up with scripting so that mundane computer jobs can be automated. :s13:

low-skilled hardworking people will try to extract 10 documents that take 10hrs of physical sifting through....while maybe the lazy bugger just double click on the script and be done with it. :s22:

so...yeah....FT maybe more hardworking....but the lazy guy is more productive. :D

true that, i dont understand why my pinoy colleague like to manually copy and past data through excel, when he could simply just reference it across different sheets.

his reason "if i do finish fast, i will be given additional workload"

so this clown choose to spend that few hrs to do something which could be completed in less than 30mins, to shun additional workload.

dafuq is his logic man..

overman

First of all, is a Chef under work permit or S Pass?

S5LaNPT.png

Depends on pay.

Can get employment pass for chef also if pay is at least $3,300

Wah lau can please go read up in the MOM website bo. I am very lazy by nature don't like to do extra work one.

The example is a $1,400 chef. You call MOM see they approve bo haha

overman

Dun support minimum wage. Goods and services will be adjusted to match the cost. So prices still increase.

Sent from cloud using GAGT

I don't even support subsidies.

A subsidy generally affects a market by reducing the price paid by buyers and increasing the quantity sold. Subsidies are usually pareto inefficient because they cost more than they deliver in benefits.

So that's why hor education/housing/etc all the subsidies should be removed.

Let the free market decide.

fox1

S5LaNPT.png

Depends on pay.

Can get employment pass for chef also if pay is at least $3,300

Wah lau can please go read up in the MOM website bo. I am very lazy by nature don't like to do extra work one.

The example is a $1,400 chef. You call MOM see they approve bo haha

Ah..
I'm lazy to waste time with you.

The foreign work force an be categorised in three main groups:

Skilled professionals (e.g. software engineers, doctors, R&D specialists etc.) who are issued an Employment Pass.
Semi-skilled professionals (e.g. technicians, chefs, administrative professionals) who are issued the S Pass.
Unskilled Professionals (e.g. construction workers, domestic help) who are issued a work permit, also known as R Pass.

S Pass
The S Pass allows mid-level skilled staff to work in Singapore. Candidates need to earn at least $2,200 a month and have the relevant qualifications and work experience.

S Pass quota and levy requirements
The number of S Pass holders you can hire is limited by a quota. You must also pay a monthly levy for these workers.

Basic/Tier 1 Up to 10% of the total workforce $315
Tier 2 Above 10% to 15% of the total workforce $550

Hiring the china chef is more EXPENSIVE than hiring your friend.
Your friend must be maggie mee chef.

worcer

Whoever said mere mortals cannot comment?
I was referring to people who are good at policies online but not standing for election.

I, for one, am not good at policies.
How about you?

I am good at policies. but u keep attacking me.

PainTenshi

Minimum wage for jobs that people despise = yes
Jobs like cook , cleaner and rubbish collector by all means minimum wage.

Jobs inside office blow aircon with minimum wage? oh come on this type of job plenty of people waiting.

But seriously even pay me $10-$15 for jobs like cook , cleaner I also wont take , how the fk am I going to face my friend with such jobs , dude I'm Singaporean I need an office job.

overman

Ah..
I'm lazy to waste time with you.

Trust me. 100% you will never find a S Pass chef whose pay is $1,400 in Singapore. The criteria for S Pass is minimum $2,200. How to approve if you submit $1,400 application?

Imagine lar. Gordon Ramsey wants to work in SG. His pay is say 30k a month. You think he gets an S Pass ah? Just because he is not a Skilled professionals (e.g. software engineers, doctors, R&D specialists etc.) who are issued an Employment Pass.

He will get EP liao.

I am the one wasting time actually.

I am a nice guy. I give you more info.

https://services.mom.gov.sg/sat/satservlet

Key in yourself if you don't believe.

Edit

Just in case, i would like to point out this is what i was answering.

So does the levy make that foreign chef cheaper or more expensive to hire than the local?
Remember, the story was local chef was hired for $1600 but was subsequently rejected because there was a China chef for $1400.

Dunno why you keep bringing up S Pass levies when it is obviously a WP.

bakuten

Minimum wage for jobs that people despise = yes
Jobs like cook , cleaner and rubbish collector by all means minimum wage.

Jobs inside office blow aircon with minimum wage? oh come on this type of job plenty of people waiting.

But seriously even pay me $10-$15 for jobs like cook , cleaner I also wont take , how the fk am I going to face my friend with such jobs , dude I'm Singaporean I need an office job.

why not let the market decide what is the right amount to pay such "degrading" jobs?

every FT you import to do these "degrading" jobs....is 1 potential job gone for an unskilled local worker....who have nothing to offer other than their muscles and sweat. Who are you to decide for him that this job is "degrading" to him?

if the industry has difficulty hiring people to do such jobs....there are a few solutions around it. Automate these processes so you require less manpower and hence can pay more to people who can run these machines.

why are japanese ok with doing such "degrading" jobs?

i believe this "degrading" thing is being flipped around by the incumbent to justify importing cheap labour rather than innovate and improve on productivity. i.e. taking the easy way out. but alas...it is coming back to bite them in the arse. :D

stresskiddo

If u know u earning above min wage, why support?
Already well known for giving u chicken wing take back spring.

It may all change one day if your boss decides to import a FT from abroad that is willing to do your job at half your pay, won't you feel threatened?

minimum wage in a way safeguards against that.

PainTenshi

why not let the market decide what is the right amount to pay such "degrading" jobs?

every FT you import to do these "degrading" jobs....is 1 potential job gone for an unskilled local worker....who have nothing to offer other than their muscles and sweat. Who are you to decide for him that this job is "degrading" to him?

if the industry has difficulty hiring people to do such jobs....there are a few solutions around it. Automate these processes so you require less manpower and hence can pay more to people who can run these machines.

why are japanese ok with doing such "degrading" jobs?

i believe this "degrading" thing is being flipped around by the incumbent to justify importing cheap labour rather than innovate and improve on productivity. i.e. taking the easy way out. but alas...it is coming back to bite them in the arse. :D

I don't degrade people working such jobs, in fact I respect them from the heart. The fact is the majority of us despise such jobs isn't it , be true to urself.
On the side note, ain't all of us being taught in school, that if u'r in JC u will make it in life , and if u'r go to ITE u will become a failure.
I wonder how this "degrading'' practise started.

bakuten

I don't degrade people working such jobs, in fact I respect them from the heart. The fact is the majority of us despise such jobs isn't it , be true to urself.
On the side note, ain't all of us being taught in school, that if u'r in JC u will make it in life , and if u'r go to ITE u will become a failure.
I wonder how this "degrading'' practise started.

salary is the deciding factor.

people who do true work are the truly productive ones compared to those paper-pushers being molly-coddled in the govt sector.

nobody is "degrading" these low-skilled jobs other than themselves.

a low-skilled worker is worth more to me keeping my estate sparkling clean than a useless jiak liao bee in the govt. ;)

chickenpiez007

I don't support minimum wages too but I wanted to debunk the myth of point 4.

Automation is the final destination we are heading. We are living in a globalization Era. It doesn't matter is overseas or Singapore, it will happen sooner or later. What PAP do now is a short term resolution.

PAP said mw will led to jobs been automated. We should instead raise productivity to counter it.

Can I point an example from their propaganda media that they self pwned themselves. There is a show in ch8 that highlighted businesses changing their biz process such as genki sushi.

In the past, this food joint employs waiters and waitresses to serve dishes to customer. By answering PAP call to raise productivity, they use automated conveyer belt to send the dishes to your table. Now, they do not employ waiters and waitresses to serve you yet they still charge you 10% service charge.

So what is the difference between them propagating mw leads to loss of jobs and their idea of raising productivity? Both the waiter and waitress jobs are lost. But they still charge you the same price after the biz gained in productivity and lower overheads.

Sent from xmm room using xmm brand ear warmer using GAGT

Dark.Horizon

Paying the salary of S Pass holders
You will need to pay S Pass holders using electronic methods such as GIRO and funds transfers.

Requirements for paying salary

If you employ S Pass holders, you need to:

Pay their salaries electronically.
Start electronic payments within 3 months after the S Pass is issued.
Maintain a record of the salary payments.

I understand your next argument will be that the foreigner will be asked to return the money in cash.
Is that right?

Does the foreigner also need to return the S Pass levy?
Return to HR or accounts dept?

Thats why I am asking. Who will they transfer back to?

Sent from A Singaporean Son using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.