Will you support Huawei new OS?

watzup_ken

I'm stating my views. Since you are staying with android, continue with Google is the safest way to go. Why waste time and resources with a new OS and app store? I wouldn't want the Great Firewall of China in my phone.

Posted from PCWX using The Seven Deadly Sins

Personally I feel its an unavoidable scenario where Android will branch out between Google Services vs HMS.

As mentioned, the Chinese government already have plans to decouple reliance on foreign technology. It is possible that those phone makers that are not banned like Huawei may continue a dual services approach, but the odds of going all out on HMS is quite high to make is successful. In the short run, Chinese phone makers can only rely on Android open source since they do not have their own OS. So it is imperative that they make HMS work. OS wise there will be no change, but services like app store will differ. If there is any company that can pull this split off, it has to be Huawei with full Chinese government support.

OutBreak

I'm stating my views. Since you are staying with android, continue with Google is the safest way to go. Why waste time and resources with a new OS and app store? I wouldn't want the Great Firewall of China in my phone.

You are not living in China.. How could there be a great firewall in your phone?? Don't make a mountain out of a mole hill.

andyhtc

I have just checked the Huawei App Gallery. There are a lot of Apps now. Possibly by end of the year, the most common Apps will be inside.

kopi22

You are not living in China.. How could there be a great firewall in your phone?? Don't make a mountain out of a mole hill.

Come on man.. The tailor made OS is from China. Apparently you have no idea what's call surveillance. With the current China technology, one don't have to be in China for them to monitor you. Not only firewall, they can put in hidden backdoors also no problem.

kopi22

Personally I feel its an unavoidable scenario where Android will branch out between Google Services vs HMS.

As mentioned, the Chinese government already have plans to decouple reliance on foreign technology. It is possible that those phone makers that are not banned like Huawei may continue a dual services approach, but the odds of going all out on HMS is quite high to make is successful. In the short run, Chinese phone makers can only rely on Android open source since they do not have their own OS. So it is imperative that they make HMS work. OS wise there will be no change, but services like app store will differ. If there is any company that can pull this split off, it has to be Huawei with full Chinese government support.

Got to see how well received will it be outside China. HMS is totally different from GMS. Will developers be leveraging both HMS and GMS is also a question. But if users are already used to the Google ecosystem, what's the benefit for them to switch over? I don't see any.

OutBreak

Come on man.. The tailor made OS is from China. Apparently you have no idea what's call surveillance. With the current China technology, one don't have to be in China for them to monitor you. Not only firewall, they can put in hidden backdoors also no problem.

There are no evidence that Huawei devices has a backdoor. I am not a China citizen, so I don't give a hoot. I am not sure whether you are still following the news. HUAWEI Mobile Services is not a new OS. Its still running Open Source Android without the proprietary Google Mobile Services.

Your iPhone and Samseng devices has NSA/CIA/FBI backdoor as well. Don't think you are safe and secure.

tohchr

There are no evidence that Huawei devices has a backdoor. I am not a China citizen, so I don't give a hoot. I am not sure whether you are still following the news. HUAWEI Mobile Services is not a new OS. Its still running Open Source Android without the proprietary Google Mobile Services.

Your iPhone and Samseng devices has NSA/CIA/FBI backdoor as well. Don't think you are safe and secure.

I share with u something which I encountered in real life. My Netflix and credit cards had been hacked and misused before. Upon checking from the banks and Netflix admin, all these are done by people in the US. So call safe amdk are better than China? I had subscribed to youku paid services to watch movies for around 3 years now and xiami music for download higher quality song, never ever did I had any issue with it being hack. Just sharing..

watzup_ken

Got to see how well received will it be outside China. HMS is totally different from GMS. Will developers be leveraging both HMS and GMS is also a question. But if users are already used to the Google ecosystem, what's the benefit for them to switch over? I don't see any.

Let's put it this way, let's assume today China says all Chinese phone makers must use HMS and ditch Google Services. While its true that most people are used to the Google ecosystem, but to remain with GMS, your choice of phone is only limited to the likes of Samsung, LG, Sony, Asus and Google Pixel, would this have an impact to your decision to switch?

The more affordable/ better value for money phones are on the other side. Will that impact people's decision to ditch Google? Do bear in mind that Android is largely successful in the first place because they have a wide range of phones from low to high end. It is actually the low/ mid end phones that contributes 80% to this number.

watzup_ken

Backdoor is common, and likely to be found on every phone. Apple claims they can't unlock phones, I am not sure if that is true. So I am incline to feel that Huawei is not speaking the truth. Every country is about cyber espionage (cyber security on the other hand), so not putting a backdoor as I mentioned is unlikely. I don't believe it is just limited to spying if you have been reading about the types of cyber threats out there.

FYI, I am also a Huawei user. So just in case people think I am trying to scare people away from Huawei.

cscs3

Take note Huawei is still using Android. Best to describe HMS is it is just a application running on top of Android.

cscs3

Never mix up OS vs application.
Windows is a OS, Microsoft office is a application.
Huawei phone is still using Android (OS), HMS is just a services (or Apps) running under Android.

vaxvms

i think now we are ready to de-googling liao

imo HMS only gmail / youtube /google map cannot sideload while therest no issue at least to me

above 3 can easily replace by other apk to access

tohchr

i think now we are ready to de-googling liao

imo HMS only gmail / youtube /google map cannot sideload while therest no issue at least to me

above 3 can easily replace by other apk to access

Luckily I dun use Gmail, YouTube and Google maps. I used Hotmail and apple iCloud mail, used youku and if need YouTube, I just use normal web browser to watch without signing in. For maps, I used "here we go", one map and Waze.

aucheukyan

Luckily I dun use Gmail, YouTube and Google maps. I used Hotmail and apple iCloud mail, used youku and if need YouTube, I just use normal web browser to watch without signing in. For maps, I used "here we go", one map and Waze.

Yeah, but do you know that many of your apps rely on google services like google authentication and gmaps to function? Grab for example.

vaxvms

Yeah, but do you know that many of your apps rely on google services like google authentication and gmaps to function? Grab for example.

thats why sinkie must think out of the box

langkawi already testing 5g........

nvm sinkie still got apple /sammy can already:s12:

tohchr

Most of, if not all of my apps doesn't rely on Google services. I had got no grab app on my phone. So, for me I'm fine and Google free.

OutBreak

My main email is Yandex Mail and cloud is Yandex Disk.

Here WeGo Map is a good enough replacement for Google Map. Moovit is also a good app for public transport. Huawei Map should be coming soon later.

YouTube is not a mission critical app, I can just use the browser without logging on. Haha.

We need to de-google ourselves. Google is getting evil. :D

Btw, I also don't use Chrome. Firefox is the best!

Uno_Hu

There's a new browser called BRAVE and you can download from brave.com

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.