Windows 11 and TPM

swathe

Windows 11 will now require a TPM. Does anyone know if we can get TPM modules for Asus or Gigabyte mobos?

Gaminator

I was told to check my BIOS as Ryzen CPU should have something like fTPM in BIOS, I found it under miscellaneous in Settings under BIOS, I enabled it and Hey Presto! My system meets with all the requirements.

tsteo77

Windows 11 will now require a TPM. Does anyone know if we can get TPM modules for Asus or Gigabyte mobos?
Don't think so, it come with the motherboard. Look for TPM/FTPM inside your bios.

zzzzzzz

Just buyed MSI B560 Tomahawk Wifi
Need to buy TPM module or not? If need where got sell?
:frown:

Apparatus

Check the BIOS in the CPU first. If have then no need to buy otherwise check MSI website for TPM modules lor

GIGA and ASUS websites do have TPM modules leh

Gaminator

IF you have Ryzen 2000, 3000, 5000 CPU, should be no problem. Just need to enable fTPM in BIOS like I'd done. Mine failed requirement before I'd enabled it.

Gaminator

ASUS and GIGA websites have TPM modules mah
Heard in overseas forums that scalpers have grabbed a bunch of TPM modules, dunno if they were joking or not. Also, for earlier mobos, like my R4E don't have TPM header on mobo, so can't use.

zzzzzzz

IF you have Ryzen 2000, 3000, 5000 CPU, should be no problem. Just need to enable fTPM in BIOS like I'd done. Mine failed requirement before I'd enabled it.
me is intel i7-11700 with MSI B560 Tomahawk Wifi
got another old pc pentium g3240 with MSI H97 PC Mate think dont have TPM

Gaminator

me is intel i7-11700 with MSI B560 Tomahawk Wifi
got another old pc pentium g3240 with MSI H97 PC Mate think dont have TPM
Sama sama bruh, got an i7 3960X and i7 4770K, both CPU's not supported....though I've seen vids where there're workarounds.....but that's for the leaked Win11 ISO I think.

wwenze

Heard in overseas forums that scalpers have grabbed a bunch of TPM modules, dunno if they were joking or not. Also, for earlier mobos, like my R4E don't have TPM header on mobo, so can't use.

There are probably lots of people who think you need to buy the modules. Like those Y2K PCI cards. So there is market for suckers.

wwenze

The earliest appears to be Haswell. I've seen Intel Platform Protection Technology mentioned in the manual of one Z97 (or was it H97?) board, but on another board it is not.

Even my cheap H110 has it

vM0ijdi.png

Ignore the warning sign, this motherboard is buggy as hell right now.

CopySeeSewDye

i mean i dont know if my 11 gen motherboard has TPM onboard or need buy add-on module
11th gen intel confirm has fTPM already, its called Intel Platform Trust Technology (PTT). Go to the bios, find the settings somewhere and enable it can liao.

Gaminator

11th gen intel confirm has fTPM already, its called Intel Platform Trust Technology (PTT). Go to the bios, find the settings somewhere and enable it can liao.
LOL, I'm reminded of many Intel users who'd complained their setups dun have fTPM, all a bit red-faced when told they were supposed to enable PTT instead.

As for meeting with WIn 11 requirement, let's just wait and see. They'd be workarounds for older 'unsupported' hardware to install and run Win11. My two older Intel rigs can wait, running Win10 Pro perfectly so no need to bother for now.

swathe

Hope the disti start bringing in TPM modules. It will be crippling for the past 2 years Intel mobo that meets all specs but no TPM modules to install and cannot be upgraded to Win 11.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.