Wine

Beta_Tester

@beta tester: what is the corkage? The wine pairings look sound. But I dunno about the sherry, had it before and wasn't so great.

100bucks. Totally unacceptable lol.. forcing u to buy their list of wine. Btw i send u the wine list already.

ikileo

ikileo, were you the guy in grey tee yesterday? That the only guy I noticed spitting every wine he tasted.

Can't wait for your notes on those different wines :s12:

No I wasn't the guy, I was wearing able polo with gf in tow. It will take me a while to post all of them. Most of the ores a short and brief with the key notes

ikileo

100bucks. Totally unacceptable lol.. forcing u to buy their list of wine. Btw i send u the wine list already.

Yup I saw. $100 really chop carrot. But the wine pairing look sound lah. It's ok one. U buy one of their bottles already more than $100 and u only get one type

ikileo

anyone else attended the WFA Wine Fiesta?

Looiwte, how was it?

@Beta_Tester: i will get back to you on the Jaan thing 2nite. When is your dinner btw? I ate there once before about 3 years back. Was treated to a meal there by a family friend. Andre Chiang was still helming the place. Crazy food, cos one of them knew Andre personally so he go and make extra stuff outside the menu; plus they go and bring 3 other wines...i think that night the dinner for 8 people more than my monthly salary.

kangzkangz

I attended the French Wine course at WFA Wine Fiesta in the morning. Pretty basic stuff... the key takeaways for me are:
- Basic French phonetics to help me read French labels
- Taste profiles of French wine regions
- Get to taste a Beeaujolais Moulin-n-Vent
- Complimentary ticket to Wine Fiesta... :)

But I was down with a slight flu... so I restricted myself to the 2008 Bordeaux booth and an Italian booth.

Favourite Bordeaux tasted were:
- Chateau Kirwan 2008
A well-balanced wine with chocolaty & plummy notes. Tannic but expected from a young Bordeaux
- Chateau Beaumon 2008, Cru Bourgeois
Quite impressive for a Cru Bourgeois.
- Chateau Climens, Barsac
Nice balance of sweetness & acids

Started chatting with the Italian at his booth when I stumbled upon a 100% Cabernet Franc. It has a strong capsicium note and I didn't like it. Bought his Amarone 2007 and Pinot at very low price!
- la Collina dei Ciliegi Amarone della Valpolicella DOC 2007 --> $20!!!
- Kurtatsch Cortaccia Blauburgunder (Pinot Nero) 2010 --> $10!!!

Still having blocked nose now but I am happy with my buys! :D

ikileo

I attended the French Wine course at WFA Wine Fiesta in the morning. Pretty basic stuff... the key takeaways for me are:
- Basic French phonetics to help me read French labels
- Taste profiles of French wine regions
- Get to taste a Beeaujolais Moulin-n-Vent
- Complimentary ticket to Wine Fiesta... :)

how did they describe the taste profiles of the french regions.

everyone should get their hands on Cru vineyards from the Beaujolais region, especially the 2009 vintage. Those are stellar, great price, drinkable now but best aged and consumed 3-5 years later. Aside from Moulin-A-Vent, there's also Morgon and Fleurie to name a few

But I was down with a slight flu... so I restricted myself to the 2008 Bordeaux booth and an Italian booth.

Favourite Bordeaux tasted were:
- Chateau Kirwan 2008
A well-balanced wine with chocolaty & plummy notes. Tannic but expected from a young Bordeaux
- Chateau Beaumon 2008, Cru Bourgeois
Quite impressive for a Cru Bourgeois.
- Chateau Climens, Barsac
Nice balance of sweetness & acids

The Kirwan was showing nicely if I recall correctly as well.

Started chatting with the Italian at his booth when I stumbled upon a 100% Cabernet Franc. It has a strong capsicium note and I didn't like it. Bought his Amarone 2007 and Pinot at very low price!
- la Collina dei Ciliegi Amarone della Valpolicella DOC 2007 --> $20!!!
- Kurtatsch Cortaccia Blauburgunder (Pinot Nero) 2010 --> $10!!!

Still having blocked nose now but I am happy with my buys! :D

Pinot Nero is indeed rather unique and interesting. Let us know how it tastes when you open it.

you should try the 100% cab franc from Loire Valley. They way they make it is great and very stylishly old world. the problem with cab franc is that if they are not ripened properly the greenness will come off too strong. But if they are ripened properly, there will still be a green note but it will be a hint of it and it will come across as more fresh rather than stuffing your mouth the plants.

I can recommend the 2003 (a warm year) Chateau de Festle Anjou Rogue. You can get it from the Carrefour at Plaza Sing. The Suntec one carries the 2001 version (i havent tried it yet). Both go for $20+ and the 2003 tastes absolutely awesome: medium bodied, silky, sweet red fruit, good acidity, integrated tannins, hints of green-ness and other secondary flavours.:s12:

I am a big Loire proponent.

looiwte

anyone else attended the WFA Wine Fiesta?

Looiwte, how was it?

I quite enjoyed myself with the quantity and variety of wines, this being my first WFA event, though in hindsight I think I could have gone about things more strategically, and at least noted down what I drank, if not tasting notes.

Still haven't learnt how to spit, so got myself a bit tipsy towards the end. Didn't help that the past few days have been crazy helping to prepare for a friend's wedding, with a lot of last minute arrangements - including shopping for his wedding suit with 2 days to go before the wedding!

I digress. It's interesting reading the different comments from the threads, seems like we went to the same fair but mostly went to different booths.

I naturally gravitated towards Italian wines, so tasted from two Piemonte producers, one Trentino-Alto Adige producer, and from the Italian Wine Club booth, which had offerings from all over Italy, including usual Tuscany (Chianti, Brunello) and Piemont (Barolo, Asti), as well as some lesser known places Campania (Aglianico).

I kinda agree on some of your comments regarding groupie like behaviour. Some staff from booths were less than welcoming to noobs (Auric/Banfi was one of them), while some of the event goers seem content to grab cheap wine bargains and get drunk, while others were there just to socialise. Par for the course, but with the serious wine lovers here in Singapore I would have thought there would be a more mature crowd. Maybe they had their lobangs during the prior trade-only days.

After not getting much attention at this fancy French booth with many rose wines, I made my way to the Bordeaux 2008 tastings. Tried some St Julien, Margaux and Pessac Leognan to try to understand the typicity of wines. Not familiar with what are the supposed good Chateaus, so I made my choices based on ones I'd seen around at shops.

Then made my way to the 'award-winning' wine mass-tasting. Disappointed that there were hardly any Rieslings, but tried quite a few interesting wines, including a Swiss Pinot Noir, Chilean Malbec and some others I forgot. Interesting, for me, rather than outstanding. Thought they would have done better to provide some mineral water though, given that this was under the premium ticket. We had to ask and haggle from some of the staff hiding around, and saw many others looking for it as well.

Also went to the Wine Universe booth where there was a huge line-up of wines to taste. I tried a 100% Merlot Pomerol, and some good Spanish blends. The price was outta my league though.

My free wine was a Siam Red Blend from Naga. Though I'm keen to try Thai wines, am a tad disappointed because IIRC the ticket described a >$30 wine, so I expected something more premium. Maybe I'm wrong though, should keep an open mind on this.

As I mentioned to you, halfway through the wine fair I popped over to the Jap food fair going on and got some nice samplings of premium beef and seafood. Yes, they should really organise these things side by side next time; I even see some going over with their wine glasses in tow!

In the end I bought an Italian Gewurz, a nice Nebbiolo-Barbera blend, some Dolcettos and Barberas, a Barolo (reasonable price) and an Aglianico. Not sure if I made the decisions under the heavy influence of alcohol though :p

ikileo

nice writeup guys...thanks for all your input.

btw, something to blow up your wallet again.

Massive clearance sale at www.wineexchangeasia.com lots of good stuff (mostly new world) but at great prices. going to buy my first magnum!

MuthuCurry

nice writeup guys...thanks for all your input.

btw, something to blow up your wallet again.

Massive clearance sale at www.wineexchangeasia.com lots of good stuff (mostly new world) but at great prices. going to buy my first magnum!

saw the sales at wineexchangeasia this morning... any good buy to recommend?

i just accidentally dropped by vinum again, and left the shop with another 8 bottles with me last nite... i have to say tt there are so heavy as i took train home with them!! my wallet has a big hole now, even b4 i start checking out other wine sales ...:s13:

ikileo

for those working on a budget, it's good to give yourself a monthly budget for wine every month. while i know some offers seem 'real good', the reality i have realized is that there is always an 'awesome deal' every other week or every month, so you are not losing out; unless they're offering a first growth at like $100 or something lah. but that's usually what i do.

there's a bunch of nice stuff. if you are looking for daily drinkers there are lots of those under the $50 and 40 region for both whites and reds. and you can get really great stuff that are at least 10 years old for less than $100.

I requested for these wines:

1994 McWilliam Mt Pleasant Semillon Elizabeth $50
1998 Parker Coonawarra Estate Terra Rossa First Growth $55
2008 Clonakilla Viognier $55
1999 Domaine A Cabernet Sauvignon $55
1992 Wynn's John Riddoch (Magnum) $160

however i was also considering these wines, but i didn't get them:
2006 Clonakilla Hilltops Shiraz $49
2001 d'Arenberg Coppermine Cabernet Sauvignon $79
1999 Elderton Command Shiraz $80
2008 Majella CAbernet $42

MuthuCurry

saw the sales at wineexchangeasia this morning... any good buy to recommend?

i just accidentally dropped by vinum again, and left the shop with another 8 bottles with me last nite... i have to say tt there are so heavy as i took train home with them!! my wallet has a big hole now, even b4 i start checking out other wine sales ...:s13:

totally agreed with ikileo, there are always better deals happening every now and then. the bottles tt i bought (or stock up) are mostly those tt i tried and suit my palate. of cos, the price point must be reasonable. here is my harvest last nite:
1. 1999 puy blanquet ($25) x 4
2. 2000 hospitalet de gazin ($$61)
3. 2004 leoville poyforre (half bottle, $55)
4. 2007 rossignol trapet, beaune les mariage ($43)
5. 2008 rossignol trapet, gevrey chambertin petite chapelle 1er cru ($62)

the #4 & #5 are pretty new to me as i dun have much experience with burgundy, so, thinking of getting some affordable burgundy to try. hope there will turn out good. guess it will take a long while to digest my stock.. :)

hkm520240

I requested for these wines:

1994 McWilliam Mt Pleasant Semillon Elizabeth $50
1998 Parker Coonawarra Estate Terra Rossa First Growth $55
2008 Clonakilla Viognier $55
1999 Domaine A Cabernet Sauvignon $55
1992 Wynn's John Riddoch (Magnum) $160

1994 McWilliam Mt Pleasant Semillon Elizabeth is still holding well and I have just tried recently. Lovely ;). That's a Good buy.

and 1998 Parker Coonawarra Estate Terra Rossa First Growth is an awesome value and market is above $100 per bottle.

So did you receive confirmation for all of them? Cause I saw Parker '98 and Wynns Magnum has sold out. If you got all that's very good :)

ikileo

when i saw it this morning, it was still in stock, so i hope there is still sufficient.
when did u view it?

hkm520240

I view the sales 1-2 hours ago. If you sent your order in the morning then quite likely you will get it. But it will be more firm when you receive his confirmation.

Somehow I overlook the 1998 Parker Coonawarra Estate Terra Rossa First Growth because I just can't believe it selling at $55 and keep thinking it is the Terra Rossa Cabernet. If it's true it is one of the best bargain in this sale and all being snapped up before noon. Somehow I still feel skeptical because I bought some from him earlier at 50% more.

On the other hand I didn't consider 1992 John Riddoch because it is a magnum bottle, need more people to drink together and I can't think of any occasion to open. Instead I picked up a Killibinbin Shiraz magnum at $50 that will be good for gathering or occasion for all level of crowd at a very good price. By the way, 1992 John Riddoch is ready to drink now and JH recommend to drink by 2009. So do call me if you got the bottle and want to open ya =:p

ikileo

I view the sales 1-2 hours ago. If you sent your order in the morning then quite likely you will get it. But it will be more firm when you receive his confirmation.

Somehow I overlook the 1998 Parker Coonawarra Estate Terra Rossa First Growth because I just can't believe it selling at $55 and keep thinking it is the Terra Rossa Cabernet. If it's true it is one of the best bargain in this sale and all being snapped up before noon. Somehow I still feel skeptical because I bought some from him earlier at 50% more.

On the other hand I didn't consider 1992 John Riddoch because it is a magnum bottle, need more people to drink together and I can't think of any occasion to open. Instead I picked up a Killibinbin Shiraz magnum at $50 that will be good for gathering or occasion for all level of crowd at a very good price. By the way, 1992 John Riddoch is ready to drink now and JH recommend to drink by 2009. So do call me if you got the bottle and want to open ya =:p

it should be the Cab for parker because he only makes the Terra Rossa First Growth for his cabs.

as for the magnum, well either way you still got a killibinbin magnum so you'd need lots more people as well. i don't think i have a problem with finding the right peeps. I've been a long fan of Wynn's and especially their John Riddoch so this is a great way to enjoy something in a magnum, which would have aged gracefully by now.

did u get confirmation for yours?

hkm520240

it should be the Cab for parker because he only makes the Terra Rossa First Growth for his cabs.

as for the magnum, well either way you still got a killibinbin magnum so you'd need lots more people as well. i don't think i have a problem with finding the right peeps. I've been a long fan of Wynn's and especially their John Riddoch so this is a great way to enjoy something in a magnum, which would have aged gracefully by now.

did u get confirmation for yours?

First Growth is a bordeaux blend predominantly with Cab. There is small percentage of Merlot and Petit Verdot. They do make a pure cab call Terra Rossa Cabernet.

No doubt Wynn John Riddoch is one of the best cab produced in Aus with its excellent ageablity. Musculine at young and even '98 is still too young and Musculine to drink now, but when it aged it will mellow down and excellent to drink. At least I have tried the '88 and it was beautiful. I will keep my '06 John Riddoch for 8-10 years before I consider open. :o

Yup I have got my confirmation in the morning and I still missed Robert Mondavi Cab Reserve '90.

ikileo

maybe i kena roberto....

i sent a followup email to their other email addresses to check my order.

i am preparing for the worst where they never see my email so i never got the wines that i would have gotten by right.

hkm520240

@ikileo: Hopefully you get what you want... let us know.

Here come an opportunity for us to taste Lebanese wines - Chateau Musar as Crystal Wines is offering a vertical tasting from 1998-2003 for $28 on 12 November 2011, Saturday.

http://www.crystalwines.com/tasting-events.php

Do join me if you would like to explore a new region. I have never try Ch Musar hence very keen. But Crystal wines has the tendency to cancel their tasting if they can't gather enough participants. For such lesser known wines I am not optimistic if it can be carry out as per schedule.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.