Wine

ikileo

i suggested this weekend already, i'm just waiting on them to see the response first.

as for location, personally i'm not really a person who likes to pay for ambience haha. Wine Connection i frequent but not on weekend cos you have to pay an extra of $10 on top of your bottle price if you wanna consume on a friday and saturday. Denise wines carries a good range but the nice stuff might be a little out of the general budget. as for Winebos and Wine Network i cannot comment as i've not been there.

for me why i enjoy food courts is that it's much cheaper and i get to eat food with my wine instead of paying $10 and above per plate of finger food at a wine bistro etc...sorry if i sound too cheapo but i also don't really want those who are just starting on wine to unecessarily spend on the extra nice stuff. that's why i actually rarely visit winebars nowadays cos i know most of their distributers and buy direct from them haha...

power789

Hi I am perfectly fine with food courts, but can we have a central location? So easier for everyone to meet, dont have to be orchard road since their food court is like restaruant/cafe price.

This sunday I am free, I am all up for it. But timing?

ikileo

we've got 7 pple on the list now waiting confirmation. i would like to ask u guys if you want to open up for an 8th person? in this case POWER789

power789

Lol, wth, so fast ah, it was a suggestion, now so many people liao. I think nvm then, join next time lor......Since too many people can be quite difficult to gather and talk.

ikileo

@Beta_Tester: I need your help to confirm with the other mod and your malay friend. keep in mind, it looks like it will likely be a food court thing so check if they have their own glasses.

ikileo

@ikeleo: what wines are you getting? 4 bottles right?

4? no lah... just 3. beta_tester won't be able to make it..i'm just confirming the people right now including the other guys that beta_tester went to jio. hopefully in all is about 5 or 6, then 3 bottles is fine.

i haven't settled on what wines i wanna get...hopefully something that can be useful for teaching rather than something that might be too 'complex' for a new palate. but of couse, i won't skimp on quality.

nautilus

4? no lah... just 3. beta_tester won't be able to make it..i'm just confirming the people right now including the other guys that beta_tester went to jio. hopefully in all is about 5 or 6, then 3 bottles is fine.

i haven't settled on what wines i wanna get...hopefully something that can be useful for teaching rather than something that might be too 'complex' for a new palate. but of couse, i won't skimp on quality.
3 would be just nice for 6 pax

ikileo

so just need some consensus here...

what would be the ideal maximum amount per bottle? $30? $35

if it's $30, then 3*30=90
90/6 = $15 per person for the wine

IMO, $30 max is fine as I probably can find stuff that's well below it.

Delusion_Disorder

Very nice / good value bottle in S$30...

Ch. Doisy-Vedrines, Sauternes 2003 (half bottle ie. 375ml)

P.S. don't know why I am not allowed to post any picture...:s11: (when I did that without problem last few days)

twtan14

@Beta_Tester: I need your help to confirm with the other mod and your malay friend. keep in mind, it looks like it will likely be a food court thing so check if they have their own glasses.

Sorry, am not able to attend cause I have other commitments. No, I am not going for more buffets. :D

Beta_Tester

TS: me and my friends come on another day. :)

Anyway if u want to have it at modesto's i have 50% meal vouchers on Mon,40% on Tues. Corkage charge at 2 bottles free. Im some invited member there ~ :o

Delusion_Disorder

TS: me and my friends come on another day. :)

Anyway if u want to have it at modesto's i have 50% meal vouchers on Mon,40% on Tues. Corkage charge at 2 bottles free. Im some invited member there ~ :o
Modesto's ...nice

But it is a very pricey woodfire pizza shop...50% off would be great...

ikileo

ok guys, thanks for the updates...

so right now it seems to be
ikileo
ikileo's friend
Nautilus
Nautilus' wife

so we have 2 extra spaces. POWER789, you are able to join or anyone else, do let me know ASAP so i know how to plan.

but just to inform ya'll whether we are doing this or not, i will still be drinking wine with my friend on sunday night with dinner somewhere with free corkage or something.

Beta_Tester

What will be a good wine to buy from the Airport. My friend flies here and there so sometimes she will ask me what i want. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.