Wine

stayhappy21

Hi ikileo,

Sorry. Din know that Bordeaux is so expensive. I guess I will have to leave the budget open, maybe below $40. Please help to recommend a Bordeaux wine with grape consist of 60% Merlot, 25% Cabernet Sauvignon, 15% Cabernet Franc.

Thanks!

Hi gohks,

I am no expert on wines, but based on your description, it would be a little hard to find an exact match for the wine you are looking for. Let me explain.

Right bank Bordeaux wines are predominantly Merlot based wines, aka more than 50% Merlot. The rest of the 50% can be a mix of Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Petit Verdot, Malbec and Carmenere. It is entirely up to the wine maker how much percentage of what grapes he wants to use for his wines. And here's another catch: as the weather in Bordeaux change every year, the different grapes perform differently and the farmers gain different yields, and thus, the combination of the different types of grapes (and the percentages) that goes into wine making may be more or less different.

Instead of insisting on the 60% Merlot, 25% Cabernet Sauvignon, 15% Cabernet Franc ratio, why not settle for something right bank, decently priced, decent to drink and close (or quite close) to the ratio you outlined?

Your call.

gohks

Hi stayhappy21,

Thanks for your advice. You are right about different wine have their own characteristics even though they have similar content. Different year will also affect the quality of the wine.

I am OK for recommendation of wines that are close to what I stated earlier, it need not be 100% identical in content.

KS

MuthuCurry

i didn't include the bdx (except for one), italy and burgundy.

this list is stuff within my budget that i would buy:

Kalleske Old Vines Grenache
Wild Duck Creek Reserve Shiraz
Wild Duck Creek Press Springflat
Carbonnieux Blanc
André Perret St Joseph Les Grisières
Pierre Gaillard Cote Rotie
Pierre Usseglio & Fils CDP Réserve des Deux Frères
Thierry Allemand Cornas
Climens

thanks ikileo for sharing ... your budget range is quite wide (from $30+ to $100+)... hehe... i am more inclined to try rhone bottles -André Perret St Joseph Les Grisières, shld be quite value for $$ since it is quite cheap. still combing thru the list ....

ikileo

If I haven't tries a Bordeaux blanc, try the carbonnieux.

I am a proponent of the smaller appellations of the rhone like st Joseph, crozier hermitage, gigondas etc... Cos u can get really good wines at a modest price from these regions, as opposed to a chateauneuf or a hermitage.

ikileo

everyone who is interested in attending this shiraz/syrah + white rhone session in Oct, please indicate the dates and times that you can and cannot make it:

Google Docs Calendar Spreadsheet: http://tinyurl.com/6w3mvc4

Theme: Shiraz/Syrah from around the world + White Rhones varietals to start

Just indicate your interest and preferred date and we will split up who brings what etc...

OPEN TO ALL WHO WANTS TO TRY DIFFERENT TYPES OF SHIRAZ/SYRAH FROM AROUND THE WORLD. BEGINNERS TO PROS, MALE OR FEMALE, ANY LEGAL AGE etc... ARE ALL WELCOME!

hey guys, so far only myself, starhappy and HKM has feedback on the available dates in the calendar spreadsheet link above.

we really want more peeps to join so that u can try different stuff. Do indicate your availability on the link!

gohks

Wines from Carrefour

Do any one if there are still wines available from Carrefour? Suntec or at their Mega Expo sale?

Have seen their wines at PS last week. Really not much variety left.

looiwte

hey guys, so far only myself, starhappy and HKM has feedback on the available dates in the calendar spreadsheet link above.

we really want more peeps to join so that u can try different stuff. Do indicate your availability on the link!

I put in liao, seems like the Oct 20/21st weekend is doable.
I would vote for 20th dinner, if ok with everyone.

Venue - how about Old Airport Rd Food Ctr? Love the place, the food and lotsa seating. BYO stems.

looiwte

Not bad. Several Bordeauxs for tasting. Labels like La Conseillante (sp), Lynsolence (100% Merlot), Pape Clement for tasting. From 06 or 07 vintages. Also two CdPs (04 & 05), two Sauternes, a few Burgs, and few Italians (Ucelliera Rosso 02, Tua Rita Giusto di Nori 07). Most not showing well or simply too young. Also the mass market wines from Taylors, Banfi and Cono Sur 20 barrels.

ikileo

What did u get in the end?

I was finishing up some loose bottles in my fridge this pas week. But they were all very meh. A bottle of 09 Two Hands Angels Share and a 2001 Jadot Chambille Musigny.

The Shiraz seemed to be an off bottle cos I had a good one before. The burg smelled nice and the taste was pretty nice for the first 30mins then it kinda went downhill from there.

ikileo

ok so if we set the next session on 20th, the attendees so far are:

ikileo
hkm
looiwte
starhappy21

anyone else wannt join in? it's shiraz/syrah time!

looiwte

Most of what I got were selected from the pricelist, rather than what was on tasting.
I got the cheap Aussie reds - Hutton Shiraz, Kalleske Grenache, Wild Duck Yellow Hammer, a few value Bordeauxs - Malartic Rouge, Fontenil, Climens (375), some obscure Italians - Lamborghini (run by daughter of founder Ferrucio) from Umbria and Ambria Elanza, Carmignano DOCG. Also got a Napa Cab (Forman) and Banfi's Brachetto d'Acqui to try. Most around 20+ to 30+ bucks.

ikileo

ok guys, i am proposing the nice burger place at Queensway area kopitiam there.
definitely free corkage, but BYO glasses as well.

the burgers would go really well with the syrah/shiraz. also there is a german store selling stews and roasts so all in all should be quite good!

and u can wash it down with some nice european (incl swedish) beers/ciders from the drinks store in the kopitiam.

what do u guys think?

looiwte

I am cool with the place. I think they used to be at Ghim Moh? Shifted before I got a chance to try them. Think I'll pass on the beer since the Shiraz will probably keep me high for the whole night.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.