~ Winter @ Hokkaido ~

sereneong19

My cold tolerance is super low and jia lat. Example: sg aircon places, buses and mrt aircon i also will feel cold. I dun even on aircon, only sometimes on the fan when i sleep.

Do u wear snow boots?

Cannot, leggings not warm for me. I did wore heat tech leggings during my tokyo trip. I rem u shared tht u wore skirt during your trip to tokyo, i can't do tht, i will shiver like mad. U do hv high cold tolerance.

I hv long hair too, wore a normal hat (with no insulation) during my prev autumn and spring trips, my hair still can feel the coldness! So my conclusion is long hair doesn't help protect from the coldness at all.

No leh, i wun get used to the coldness, the freezing cold feeling is very bad, i dun wan to hv such feeling again for my holiday trips. :(

Where u got your cold wear from?

Hmm...I wore boots. Got it from several shops like timberland, geox n tangs. Some ppl wear ear muffs cos the ears will be red and painful from the cold.

I did wore skirts n dress with warm leggings. Try getting those at BHG which it sells leggings with fleece lining. I find too small even though it's L size.

fuzzybear

Ya, but japan only ard$120 + tax.

Huh? Wat also not thin too it's thick??? Dun understand.

I got a windbreaker with hood from the shop name called winning, bought it during sales last time, material 100% polyester, gd enough?

Ok thanks.

2nd week of jan will be cold lor
do prepare well

ahah ya i mean the $169 ladies down jacket is ok la its not soo thin but i feel its not as warm as those fubby thick type
like my nuptees northface

if u can wait then wait for timberland sales they will having sales soon if not just hoot uniqlo

i got gold member discount if u need it

wow even in local aircon bus u feel cold then u really need proper clothing liao

wow long hair also dont helps u much then better get a cap lor
that is big enough to cover your ear

and a coat with a hooty so u can pull it over to give u more protection from the climate

oh ya the down jackiet uniqlo for ladies i check for u is this
http://www.uniqlo.com/sg/store/women-down-coat-1276600020.html

but from the specs
http://www.uniqlo.com/sg/store/women-j-wool-blended-down-coat-1358150004.html
this one looks more warmer as it filling is more

samtcy

I have travelled on my own to Japan a couple of times previously, and I'm female too. :)

On 1 of my solo trips, I travelled from Hokkaido all the way down to Osaka, and taking Overnight train Akebono (not long before they changed it to a seasonal train) from Aomori to Tokyo.

Here are some of my solo trip blog posts:
(Nov 2011, half with family, half on my own)
Go Away, Sam...: Japan 2011 (Nov)

(Sep 2012)
Go Away, Sam...: Japan 2012 (Sep)

(Mar 2013)
Go Away, Sam...: Japan (Mar 2013)

(Oct 2013)
Go Away, Sam...: Japan (Oct 2013)

I really enjoyed travelling to Japan on my own...eat wherever/whenever you like, if see cute shows on tv I can nuah in my room for a while more before leaving the room in the morning, shop however long I want without the feel that I'm causing my travelmates to wait for me...etc...
It's a very leisurely feel :)
Plus, many hotels in Japan have female-only floors, or special rooms for female solo travellers.

free2d

Hi guys,
My gal and I planning for a winter trip to Hokaido on Feb 2015 using Chan Brothers. Read somewhere recommend JTB. Which one is better?

Below is the link for the tour packages. Usually I will choose the longest tour. My main objectives are snow festival, hot spring and crabs…

Singapore Online Tour Packages - ChanBrothers.com

Hope seasoned travelers can give me some advice.
Thank you.

jimmy_sg

Hi guys,
My gal and I planning for a winter trip to Hokaido on Feb 2015 using Chan Brothers. Read somewhere recommend JTB. Which one is better?

Below is the link for the tour packages. Usually I will choose the longest tour. My main objectives are snow festival, hot spring and crabs…

Singapore Online Tour Packages - ChanBrothers.com

Hope seasoned travelers can give me some advice.
Thank you.

Heard HIS and Hong Thai(check TWTAN review) is not bad!

I have a relative who went with Chan Brothers tour before, she said that they take her to those outlet like force them to buy things... then they don't buy, the tour guide face black black... And you need to pay tour guide tips every day & etc...

jimmy_sg

Guys, will "Shell: 100% Nylon; Fill: 80% Down, 20% Feather" sufficient for Hokkaido Winter?

sereneong19

Guys, will "Shell: 100% Nylon; Fill: 80% Down, 20% Feather" sufficient for Hokkaido Winter?

To me, yes. as long the percentage of the down is high, it should do the trick. it won't really makes me feel really warm like snuggling under a warm blanket, it should be good enuff for me to tolerate the cold. btw, does it comes with a hood?

jimmy_sg

I'm looking at this 2:

AEO Get Down Hooded Jacket
AEO Get Down Hooded Jacket, Black | American Eagle Outfitters

The North Face Thermoball Full Zip Jacket - Men's
Amazon.com: The North Face Thermoball Full Zip Jacket - Men's: Sports & Outdoors

Which one is better? Can't decide...

"Good down quality is characterised by low weight, high loft and good compression, which is usually described using the concept of fill power. The higher the fill power, the better the quality and the more warmth. The finest down has 95% down and 5% small feathers, thus giving it high fill power. This means the jacket’s fill is very light and fluffy. Using a finer quality down with more fill power gives more heat per unit of weight. In other words, a light down jacket with fine down is just as warm as a heavier jacket of poorer quality.

We use three different qualities. All of them are good. The reason that jackets with Etaproof® cotton as the outer fabric have 80/20 down is that a higher proportion of feathers are needed in the fill to support the heavier fabric.

Read more about down

Down 95/5 contains 95% goose down and 5% small feathers.
Fill power 800+ (IDFB/US method) 750+ (EN 12131)

Down 90/10 contains 90% goose down and 10% small feathers.
Fill power 750+ (IDFB/US method) 700+ (EN 12131)

Down 80/20 contains 80% goose down and 20% small feathers.
Fill power 600+ (IDFB/US method) 550+ (EN 12131)"

xiaojing11

2nd week of jan will be cold lor
do prepare well

ahah ya i mean the $169 ladies down jacket is ok la its not soo thin but i feel its not as warm as those fubby thick type
like my nuptees northface

if u can wait then wait for timberland sales they will having sales soon if not just hoot uniqlo

i got gold member discount if u need it

wow even in local aircon bus u feel cold then u really need proper clothing liao

wow long hair also dont helps u much then better get a cap lor
that is big enough to cover your ear

and a coat with a hooty so u can pull it over to give u more protection from the climate

Yes, tht's y i hv been saying i super scared of cold.

Timberland and tnf are too ex for me.
I browse thru uniqlo, but feel tht their winterwear like not so warm, more like for autumn or spring season.

Wah, gold member somemore, discount how much? Ok thanks, will let u know if i need the member discount. But i rather u lend me your tnf jacket becos u always rave how gd it is, hehe.

To all: Btw, i notice tht uniqlo winterwear like not warm enough and material quite thin.

Which type of material more warm - polyester/wool/down feather?

Is this gd enough for 1st layer? Merino is warm enough?
http://www.uniqlo.com/sg/store/women-extra-fine-merino-v-neck-sweater-1281630003.html

Still canot find 2nd layer of winter wear.

cheefarn

Actually, is there any reason why no one recommend Winter Time products? I got my winter clothings from them last year and I thought their products were of pretty high quality.

Look out for their warehouse or big sale

kifo

I just want to say that everything is warm if you put on enough layers. The only difference is price and weight. Down is expensive but it is light and very warm for its weight, so you might be able to get away with less layers. Natural wool and polyester fleece are just as good, but they are not so light. In the end it is all about layering, because you do not just wear a single outfit all the time when you are travelling in cold weather. You need thick warm outfit when you are walking outside, and you need to take off your outer layers when you come indoor. Some interiors might be very warm, others might not be so warm. Your clothing must be flexible enough to match all these conditions.

darkmatt

if you can tong, can save alot of money by buying in japan itself.

my $30(25 at current exchange rates) jacket still going strong. lol

fuzzybear

Agreed too

And news of snow fall coming in earlier
LookL Ike it's will he a shiok Yuki again

xiaojing11

I just want to say that everything is warm if you put on enough layers. The only difference is price and weight. Down is expensive but it is light and very warm for its weight, so you might be able to get away with less layers. Natural wool and polyester fleece are just as good, but they are not so light. In the end it is all about layering, because you do not just wear a single outfit all the time when you are travelling in cold weather. You need thick warm outfit when you are walking outside, and you need to take off your outer layers when you come indoor. Some interiors might be very warm, others might not be so warm. Your clothing must be flexible enough to match all these conditions.

Yes, i know layers are imprtant, which i mentioned in the prev pages abt the diff layers.
I also know indoor areas hv heater on.

But even with layers, doesn't mean everything is warm, if anyhow mix and match, or the layers material are not warm type, like tht also not warm. U all hv better cold tolerance, so for u all not so bad.

Choosing the proper layer and material is more imprt, for pple whom is super scared of cold.

To kifo and all: Anyway, Thanks all for the help, at least i know wat to get for the winterwear accessories. :)

leogeo

Feb seems better for the snow festivals...but hotels would prob have been snapped up by now..

Carnage

Hihi, anyone knows if the special discount for Star Alliance is still on? Am traveling to Hokkaido in Feb but yet to book my domestic air travel from Tokyo to Chitose.

I remember seeing it on this forum but I can't find it now. Anyone pls help?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.