~ Winter @ Hokkaido ~

jimmy_sg

TOKYO (AFP) - Northern Japan was in the grip of a blizzard Wednesday as strong winds and heavy snow forced the cancellation of almost 300 flights and buried vehicles in deep drifts, officials and reports said.

More than 70 centimetres (28 inches) of snow had fallen on parts of the northern main island of Hokkaido in the 24 hours to 0500 GMT (1 pm Singapore time), according to the weather agency.

The Hokkaido government has received at least two reports of injuries, including a 52-year-old man who broke his leg as a gust of wind blew shutters off a building.

In another case, a man broke ribs after strong winds overturned his trailer, a local official said.

The snow storm forced two major airlines - All Nippon Airways and Japan Airlines - to cancel at least 296 international and domestic flights, Jiji Press reported.

Heavy snow hits Japan's northern Hokkaido island, flights cancelled - East Asia News & Top Stories - The Straits Times

Hope everything will be fine soon.

fuzzybear

To be honest, Uniqlo's men's down jacket quite good. Husband got one and kept him warm throughout. It's a bit heavy though

i own both uniqlo 4 way and TNF classic model the nuptuse

i would recomend uniqlo 4way is good for tokyo osaka
even in record snow in tokyo unqilo 4way is good plus water proof and decent wind proof too and walk indoor wont feel like a oven unlike my TNF

but hokkiado i will recommend TNF or better coat lor more stuffing to mkeep u warm lor

actually quite like uniqlo 4way as it got a hood too i ca aslo keep it away and looks like a salary man ahah
allthogut i dont dress up like a salary man

fuzzybear

TOKYO (AFP) - Northern Japan was in the grip of a blizzard Wednesday as strong winds and heavy snow forced the cancellation of almost 300 flights and buried vehicles in deep drifts, officials and reports said.

More than 70 centimetres (28 inches) of snow had fallen on parts of the northern main island of Hokkaido in the 24 hours to 0500 GMT (1 pm Singapore time), according to the weather agency.

The Hokkaido government has received at least two reports of injuries, including a 52-year-old man who broke his leg as a gust of wind blew shutters off a building.

In another case, a man broke ribs after strong winds overturned his trailer, a local official said.

The snow storm forced two major airlines - All Nippon Airways and Japan Airlines - to cancel at least 296 international and domestic flights, Jiji Press reported.

Heavy snow hits Japan's northern Hokkaido island, flights cancelled - East Asia News & Top Stories - The Straits Times

Hope everything will be fine soon.

this is nothing new lor
it like last year record snow freak
as predicted by japan meteo agency its seem the preodiction is coming true

xiaojing11

Someone jus back from hokkaido told me it was very very cold over there!! Sometimes heavy snow with thick layer, with wind blowing.

Canot imagine how it will be like in january. Worried le. :( Becos even year end period like nov and dec in sg, i already feel very cold.

Not yet buy winter snow boots. As for glove, I bought normal touchscreen one for cold weather, no insulation i think. For cold hands, can put hands in pocket and use heat pad. My scarf also normal type one. For neck, can jus zip up the jacket.

Where to find nlyon and with imsualtion hat? Or else i will buy the wintertime one.

I dun wan becos i super scared of cold to stop me from going to c and play with snow, but am worried and scared at the same time, later ganna the frostbite and other health problems due to coldness.

samtcy

Not yet buy winter snow boots. As for glove, I bought normal touchscreen one for cold weather, no insulation i think. For cold hands, can put hands in pocket and use heat pad. My scarf also normal type one. For neck, can jus zip up the jacket.

Where to find nlyon and with imsualtion hat? Or else i will buy the wintertime one.

I dun wan becos i super scared of cold to stop me from going to c and play with snow, but am worried and scared at the same time, later ganna the frostbite and other health problems due to coldness.

My advice is to get a good pair of gloves. Because it is a very uncomfortable and painful feeling if your fingers are not protected well enough.
There are times when it's way too cold and the heatpack doesn't even warm up (which happened to me a couple of times already).

Keeping fingers and toes warm is most impt, well, in my opinion that is, cuz I've experienced biting cold on my fingers (cuz my 1st pair of gloves was only pretty to look at but not that functional) and soaking icy socks on my cheapo winter boots which had a hole in the sole due to me walking too much...and let me tell u, both are really extremely unpleasant feeling.

To kinda describe my 10mins walk in my soaking socks under minus 10 degrees celcius weather at Nagano during Dec 2 yrs ago, is like putting your feet in a tub of icy cold water with ice for those 10mins.

xiaojing11

My advice is to get a good pair of gloves. Because it is a very uncomfortable and painful feeling if your fingers are not protected well enough.
There are times when it's way too cold and the heatpack doesn't even warm up (which happened to me a couple of times already).

Keeping fingers and toes warm is most impt, well, in my opinion that is, cuz I've experienced biting cold on my fingers (cuz my 1st pair of gloves was only pretty to look at but not that functional) and soaking icy socks on my cheapo winter boots which had a hole in the sole due to me walking too much...and let me tell u, both are really extremely unpleasant feeling.

To kinda describe my 10mins walk in my soaking socks under minus 10 degrees celcius weather at Nagano during Dec 2 yrs ago, is like putting your feet in a tub of icy cold water with ice for those 10mins.

Thanks samtcy. Ya, my hands and feets get cold very easily, so i get wat u mean by extremely unpleasant feeling.

Am buying a neck warmer, becos neck also very imprt.

As for winter boots, my sis said she bought gd boots also can get cold. Where u bought yours?

Jus dun know how much is enough. I jus know i must prepare myself well for this extreme cold weather.

leogeo

If u are going Tokyo as the first stop, can get your winter wear at Uniqlo, much cheaper in SIN.

The down jacket in SIN sells $169; there it is 7900 yen during promo (usual 9900 yen). Can get VAT rebate also.

Scarves or neck warmers are very good at keeping you warm, so are good gloves and waterproof shoes. Try Timberland - pretty good albeit slightly expensive. But probably worth the investment.

Deathskull88

Solo tripping again? Hehe.

I have no experience in snowing conditions but one thing I learned from the autumn and spring weather trips is to wear a good base layer. Without one, u will be cold. And also get an outer layer that can withstand the wind.

Happy holidays!

kenchi

the inner layer is the foundations if u got the weakest link is your cold climate tolorance

the inner wear long john
best advice if u plan go visit more of cold country

1) invest in a better inner wear top and bottom
2) look closer at the % of the wool, cashmere, man made down or goose down or hybid of wool with cotton example as the % play a major part
3) weight of the equipments matter as u go out longer and if heavy is weights u down and u feel more tired
4) water proofing like ion mask , goretex or full leather proofen shoes
5) chemical warmer helps little bit for hand and insole inside shoe
6) eat well ( food play a major part in keeping u happy and warm too)
7) the weaklest link in our both lost the most heat is hand feet and your heat
keep those warm
8) windproof equipment is good but wont keep u warm so down from man made down or goose down will keep u warm while wind proof equipment will block the wind and aslo double the warmness too
9) if low on budget u can look for winter times example or uniqlo but sometimes some thing need to spend more if a person cold trolance is low
so try to save by gettting non proven brands or equipemnt will in theend waste your $$ and make your holiday trip experience bad
10) some jacket the pocket inside is built in made made material unlike those with full nylon which is not able to provide it

xiaojing11

Thanks all, i will try to cover myself from head to toe with warm wear and invest in gd winter shoes and gloves. But if after being done tht, i still feel cold, thn i really dun know how. Hopefully no wind blowing and heavy snow.

@ Kenchi and leogeo - Ya, jap uniqlo is much much cheaper, i go the website and compare abit of the prices before. Where to find gd waterproof winter shoes (goretex)? Other than timberland?

Qoo10 got leather/waterproof winter shoes, made in korea, but should b not gd rite?

Kifo recommended the mitten glove, wanted to buy from amazon, but it does not ship to sg. Any other recommendation?

I bought microfiber polyester thermal wear from universal travel becos the staff said better than 3layers one. I ok with wool material one, but he explained the diff btw these 2, so i chose microfiber.

sereneong19

Thanks all, i will try to cover myself from head to toe with warm wear and invest in gd winter shoes and gloves. But if after being done tht, i still feel cold, thn i really dun know how. Hopefully no wind blowing and heavy snow.

@ Kenchi and leogeo - Ya, jap uniqlo is much much cheaper, i go the website and compare abit of the prices before. Where to find gd waterproof winter shoes (goretex)? Other than timberland?

Qoo10 got leather/waterproof winter shoes, made in korea, but should b not gd rite?

Kifo recommended the mitten glove, wanted to buy from amazon, but it does not ship to sg. Any other recommendation?

I bought microfiber polyester thermal wear from universal travel becos the staff said better than 3layers one. I ok with wool material one, but he explained the diff btw these 2, so i chose microfiber.

The mitten glove can be bought from The Planet Traveller. However, the glove that u see from this website has been phased out and replaced by this instead

evilerniex

for hands, I suggest getting a gloves liner as well. liner is a very thin gloves that can be worn by itself or inside another gloves. coz sometimes u need to remove the thicker gloves to handle camera, open bag etc. if u have a second layer, it can help retain some heat.
example:
Apex Glove Liners - Icebreaker (US)

the key idea of keeping warm is to trap and retain heat from ur body. all ur layering serves to prevent ur body heat from escaping. and in order to do so, u need to wear ur jackets, gloves etc. before u go out into the cold. dun wait until u start to feel cold then start wearing coz by then it is too late. this is especially so for gloves coz most ppl want to keep their hands uncovered so they can use camera, handphone etc. by the time ur hands feels cold and u put on ur gloves, it is not going to help much. so it is good to have at least the liner gloves on all the time

kifo

For liner gloves, get something that allows you to use your mobile devices while still wearing the gloves. They usually have special patches for the thumb and index finger.

fuzzybear

Mitten glove budget price can get from winter times too
With similar tech polartec

xiaojing11

Thanks all.
I called the shop and asked abt mitten glove/neck warmer, but not sure which one is better?

Winter Times:
1) 20-30% wool mitten glove, not waterproof (around $16)
2) Leather glove, water resistant (around $45)

The Planet Traveller:
3) 100% polyester mitten glove, waterproof
4) Neck warmer - Around 30% Merino wool
5) Neck warmer - Around 30% Arcylic
6) Neck warmer - ??? cannot get it what material she said
(All around $35-$39)

Is it necessary to get waterproof glove becos i dun intend to ski, jus play with snow activities if weather permits?

I am thinking of getting 1) and 4). But not sure warm enough?

Btw, i already got one pair of gloves touchscreen, which can be used as base layer. Not sure wat material. From the shop name "Winning".

fuzzybear

Thanks all.
I called the shop and asked abt mitten glove/neck warmer, but not sure which one is better?

Winter Times:
1) 20-30% wool mitten glove, not waterproof (around $16)
2) Leather glove, water resistant (around $45)

The Planet Traveller:
3) 100% polyester mitten glove, waterproof
4) Neck warmer - Around 30% Merino wool
5) Neck warmer - Around 30% Arcylic
6) Neck warmer - ??? cannot get it what material she said
(All around $35-$39)

Is it necessary to get waterproof glove becos i dun intend to ski, jus play with snow activities if weather permits?

Winng is a shop lor

I am thinking of getting 1) and 4). But not sure warm enough?

Btw, i already got one pair of gloves touchscreen, which can be used as base layer. Not sure wat material. From the shop name "Winning".

Winning is the shop name lor
They carry so so products
(1) option u pick is ok lah
Just use a base layer glove with mitten gloves
Ans rub off the snow& water after u play with snow

Neck warmerv? U mean a scarf
Wool is decent enough just zip up your coat to your neck and cover it well

Some smartphone got enhanced screen option for use with glove one
Example on nokia wp8 phone or sony if I recall but not all brands or models got this option
That why I use half glove base layer with a mitton so I can use phone cum camera
When it's get too cold if I wil cover up my mitton and put hands in jacket

Eat we'll it's wil keep u warm

samtcy

Thanks samtcy. Ya, my hands and feets get cold very easily, so i get wat u mean by extremely unpleasant feeling.

Am buying a neck warmer, becos neck also very imprt.

As for winter boots, my sis said she bought gd boots also can get cold. Where u bought yours?

Jus dun know how much is enough. I jus know i must prepare myself well for this extreme cold weather.

I bought mine from 1 of the ABC mart shoe shops at Tokyo, i think from their Shinjuku branch. But they have many outlets. Think my pair costs around 6000yen.

My very 1st part of winter boots was the more cheapo type, bought from 1 of the shoe shops at dotonbori for about 1200yen if I'm not wrong. But it only lasted me 2 to 3 trips until the soles spoiled.

xiaojing11

Thanks all. Counting down to my 2nd solo holiday trip, still very scare and worry ahhh, plus a little excited. Kind of miss japan.

I left 1 pair of gloves and neck warmer to buy. The shop staffs told me ski gloves has better protection than mitten gloves.

My sis asked me am i going to challenge myself to the coldness in hokkaido?
When my colleags asked me where am i going for holiday trip? I no tell them. They will think 'this crazy gal, super scared of cold, always say so cold in office, still go hokkaido, somemore solo travel'. :crazy:

I really think i am a bit crazy.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.