Wireless bluetooth EAR BUDS recommendations

Remless

They not aptx suddenly, so I not buying liao

That's because they are smarter now. They know if they want to win over iphone users who are looking for a 'budget airpods', they must never use qualcomm chips. Many manufacturers who knows what is going on are actually abandoning aptx and tws+.

Iphone users don't even care about aptx, and having aptx as a feature which they cannot use and have to live with the finnicky and untrustworthy re-connecting and pairing process of tws+ is a big minus.

Sony, Samsung and Jabra had never bothered with aptx and tws+, and they made the right choice.

Computeron

Then u ordering?

That's because they are smarter now. They know if they want to win over iphone users who are looking for a 'budget airpods', they must never use qualcomm chips. Many manufacturers who knows what is going on are actually abandoning aptx and tws+.

Iphone users don't even care about aptx, and having aptx as a feature which they cannot use and have to live with the finnicky and untrustworthy re-connecting and pairing process of tws+ is a big minus.

Sony, Samsung and Jabra had never bothered with aptx and tws+, and they made the right choice.

Remless

Then u ordering?

Lol. And where does this come from. I applauding their choice of abandoning aptx means I must order this earpiece?

I am just saying, people should not determine their purchase decisions just merely based on aptx support. Aptx is never a guarantee of sound quality. Tons of earpieces without aptx sound equal or better than their aptx counterparts.

Aptx may have some minor impact of battery life but lack of it can be remedied by manufacturers with better engineering or simply a bigger battery.

Aptx is too over-rated. End of the day, its just a codec.

Computeron

Hahaha mai sensitive bro. Just wondering u got order. I also want to know how many ppl ordered.

Lol. And where does this come from. I applauding their choice of abandoning aptx means I must order this earpiece?

I am just saying, people should not determine their purchase decisions just merely based on aptx support. Aptx is never a guarantee of sound quality. Tons of earpieces without aptx sound equal or better than their aptx counterparts.

Aptx may have some minor impact of battery life but lack of it can be remedied by manufacturers with better engineering or simply a bigger battery.

Aptx is too over-rated. End of the day, its just a codec.

Remless

Hahaha mai sensitive bro. Just wondering u got order. I also want to know how many ppl ordered.

Nah. I had wanted to order KZ S1 previously, but the battery life is too weak. Otherwise, I kinda like their design and their offering. For this KZ S2, I cannot seem to find info on its battery life...

Hope I had managed to advise u. If you like the earbuds, go for it. Don't let the lack of aptx stop u.

Hua_Hui

That's the connectivity you get from qualcomm tws+. Its driving me crazy, especially if you are a person who connects and switches between multiple devices. Sometimes there is lag in connecting, sometimes only one side have sound, and worst, sometimes it won't connect and erases your earbuds' bluetooth profile from your device.

I am trying to get rid of the tws+ earbuds I owned. Already sold off sabbat e12 ultra, next to go is soundpeats truedots. (Truedots is has high value-to-features worth, but tws+ killed it)

In my opinion:
Double master/mirroring > Tws+ > Master/slave config

Qualcomm's new chips, announced earlier, will feature mirroring, making connection more seamless in the new earbuds which uses them.

Interesting. Looking forward to the new release. For now, just stick to tws+ since WFH.

maddyks

Nah. I had wanted to order KZ S1 previously, but the battery life is too weak. Otherwise, I kinda like their design and their offering. For this KZ S2, I cannot seem to find info on its battery life...

Hope I had managed to advise u. If you like the earbuds, go for it. Don't let the lack of aptx stop u.

Reviews seem to state between 3-4 hours.

Remless

Reviews seem to state between 3-4 hours.

Hmm.. not much improvement over KZ S1 in this aspect and not much difference with the other budget ones I already have... I'll pass.

Btw, you are right. Just saw their return policy. If I receive a defective set from them, I still need to absorb 35% of the cost!? That's really zzzzzz.

Alexz_Hong

Finished my review liao. Overall i find definitely an upgrade over the S1 in most aspects. Considering early bird price is 29USD, it's not that much more than S1, so still quite a decent deal for the price.

it's one of the less "V-shaped" sounding earphones I've heard from KZ thus far which is a nice step forward. But i'm more looking forward to the next KZ Z1 since it seems to be like a pure dynamic driver setup. :s13:

Elijahonli

Finished my review liao. Overall i find definitely an upgrade over the S1 in most aspects. Considering early bird price is 29USD, it's not that much more than S1, so still quite a decent deal for the price.

it's one of the less "V-shaped" sounding earphones I've heard from KZ thus far which is a nice step forward. But i'm more looking forward to the next KZ Z1 since it seems to be like a pure dynamic driver setup. :s13:
what about the audio latency for iphone youtube?

Alexz_Hong

what about the audio latency for iphone youtube?

It sounds fine to me in both standard mode and low latency mode on my iPhone 11. I used this to test by the way. Watched like people talking i didn't feel like their mouths were really out of sync too.

Remless

I think this is an 'ok' pair, generally an improvement over KZ S1, but did not really bring anything new at this price point.

It does not have the 'Wow' factor in terms of features like the qcy T4.

Hope that you will do a similar review for qcy T4 when you receive it. There is not much review online and at aliexpress, but a lot of buyer reviews at taobao. Generally positive reviews from the buyers except for sound quality (seems to be a bit worst than T5 in comparison) and connectivity strength.

Alexz_Hong

I think this is an 'ok' pair, generally an improvement over KZ S1, but did not really bring anything new at this price point.

It does not have the 'Wow' factor in terms of features like the qcy T4.

Hope that you will do a similar review for qcy T4 when you receive it. There is not much review online and at aliexpress, but a lot of buyer reviews at taobao. Generally positive reviews from the buyers except for sound quality (seems to be a bit worst than T5 in comparison) and connectivity strength.

Yeah. haha. but other than the odd introduction of the more splashy and slightly sibilant treble, I like the direction KZ is going with their tuning though. Less of that chi-fi V shape tuning. I think for cheap earbuds, dynamic drivers seems to be easier to tune properly in terms of the tonality? so KZ Z1 could be interesting.

I think T4 interesting part is just the app support and customisability of the controls at that price range? If it can come close to T5 in terms of sound quality and in that price, form factor, and features, it'll be interesting for sure.

Just checked my order, departed country of origin 7 days ago. Not sure when it will arrive. I only saw some Korean review it, since it's so new, will probably do a review for it too. well, we'll see. :s13:

jeremyp777

anyone got any cheap airpod recommendation on taobao?

just decent sound quality can liao.. dont need super good

Remless

Yeah. haha. but other than the odd introduction of the more splashy and slightly sibilant treble, I like the direction KZ is going with their tuning though. Less of that chi-fi V shape tuning. I think for cheap earbuds, dynamic drivers seems to be easier to tune properly in terms of the tonality? so KZ Z1 could be interesting.

I think T4 interesting part is just the app support and customisability of the controls at that price range? If it can come close to T5 in terms of sound quality and in that price, form factor, and features, it'll be interesting for sure.

Just checked my order, departed country of origin 7 days ago. Not sure when it will arrive. I only saw some Korean review it, since it's so new, will probably do a review for it too. well, we'll see. :s13:

When u told us abt T4, it got me really interested. If fill tx1 is the first one to have app support and tons of features under $100, T4 will be the first to offer all these under $40.

The only thing that is preventing me to get one now is the lack of deeper reviews, design is the old qcy style which is a bit boring and well, the lack of volume controls. Otherwise, it seems really a good buy, on paper at least.

kazuki666

Anyone used or using this? Seems not bad. But seems uncommon in our local online shopping platform. Buy from the brand website after coupon abt S$67 inclusive shipping. This price can compare Sabbat E12 ultra le, so not sure if really worth the hoot...

Hopefully the QCC5100 and QCC30xxmirroring can solve the connection problem as promised. I still find the disconnection on my Sabbat E12 ultra a little annoying... :(

I saw this on indiegogo, was gian too. But see no volume control, abit sian le lor... :(
Really worth the $41?

Alexz_Hong

When u told us abt T4, it got me really interested. If fill tx1 is the first one to have app support and tons of features under $100, T4 will be the first to offer all these under $40.

The only thing that is preventing me to get one now is the lack of deeper reviews, design is the old qcy style which is a bit boring and well, the lack of volume controls. Otherwise, it seems really a good buy, on paper at least.

let's wait and see lor. I think probably under S$30 when i bought it. I've seen the korean reviewer show the app, can configure to have volume controls. lol. I think just have to see how it sounds. :s12:

Anyone used or using this? Seems not bad. But seems uncommon in our local online shopping platform. Buy from the brand website after coupon abt S$67 inclusive shipping. This price can compare Sabbat E12 ultra le, so not sure if really worth the hoot...

Hopefully the QCC5100 and QCC30xxmirroring can solve the connection problem as promised. I still find the disconnection on my Sabbat E12 ultra a little annoying... :(

I saw this on indiegogo, was gian too. But see no volume control, abit sian le lor... :(
Really worth the $41?

Their old tranya t3 was pretty popular though, not sure about rimor. But for audio reviews, techtablets wouldn't really be my top choice? Chris does really good phone reviews, but audio wise not so sure though. Maybe he has a defective unit because his impression of the KZ S2 feels like he's reviewing an entirely different unit from mine. In comparison zpolt and prime audio, and from another user on head-fi, what they've described are pretty close to what I'm hearing apart my some preference related stuff. Scarbir.com is another source that I've found to be good at describing the sound signature too but don't think he has reviewed the Rimor.

Hopefully the newer QCC chips will be better. 3020 in my experience haven't always been the most reliable. Just that it's nice to have aptX for android users. In comparison some of the realtek chips has been pretty solid.

I think worth it or not depends on what you value more liao. Just purely sound wise, I still prefer the haylou gt1 plus and that is like S$2X only. S2 still sounds good, and is probably more "fun" sounding with more bass and treble, it can get much louder, and some might prefer those things more. Most regular users probably aren't as particular or might not even know the type of sound signature they like, but minor things like the slight sibilance and the thinner mids takes away from the experience a tiny bit for me. For me the value is in the other stuff. Like USB-C charging, nice case, nice design. But i wouldn't pay more than 29USD for sure. hahaha

But ah, stuff like the truedot and gt1 plus are probably anomalies in the market. A lot of more mainstream TWS in the market are probably more expensive and might not even sound as good as the S2. So to a lot of ppl out there, it is still going to be really worth it, not to mention it's from a fairly reputable Chi-Fi brand.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.