Wireless IP Camera thread

marixsupport

We thank everyone for informing us of our broken SSL during a regular maintenance update, it has been fixed and tested, our shopping cart is up and running again.

Those of you that have been waiting for the site to be ready may proceed to place your order for the Zafego or OEM Products (OEM demo is currently
unavailable as we are renovating the area for the next 2 weeks)

We wish everyone a Happy and Prosperous New Year in 2016.

geckoSG

VStarcam's cloud server got compromised??!?! :eek:

14tt14x.jpg

2uh4zrd.png

localITguy

VStarcam's cloud server got compromised??!?! :eek:

14tt14x.jpg

2uh4zrd.png

china products where their server is unknown. i would avoid any IPCams that offers cloud storage.

only local Storage be it FTP or SD Card

that is the risk you have take ?:s13::s13:

Becareful of what you buy. esp ipcams from china.

buying cheap cam from china? think again. :D

pilotsnoopy

china products where their server is unknown. i would avoid any IPCams that offers cloud storage.

only local Storage be it FTP or SD Card

that is the risk you have take ?:s13::s13:

Becareful of what you buy. esp ipcams from china.

buying cheap cam from china? think again. :D

i think you need to substantiate what you are saying.

i believe most forumers here know what they are getting into before making their decision.

commach

@ marixsales and IU_leon

Kindly stop your commercial advertising and solicitation in the forum. If you wish to advertise in the forum, please contact the Advertising division.

You're welcomed to assist or provide technical assistance to fellow members on their technical issues. Commercial advertising and solicitation are strictly now allowed without prior approval.

geckoSG

Vstarcam does not offer cloud storagr services, however, authentication goes through their cloud. Seeing message like that even without logging into the server tells me they cannot be trusted. And I did not see any message on their website saying this is an internal test message.

Highly chances to say that their server had been compromised and maybe our account information could be leaked. Tats how i feel. I just cant trust device providers like tat.

I'm now in the process of changing my cameras out.

pilotsnoopy

somehow do not agree to this.
Just saying perhaps localITguy if he wants to point out those points for benefit of us here, then perhaps it be better if he can substantiate them so some vendors/resellers here wont feel like hes just out to bash.

I just thought most of us when we come to this forum, we would already be quite informed reading thru the posts, deciding for ourselves what is right wrong. Actually may not be clear cut but what is suitable for ourselves, and if there are trade offs, are we able to accept it because of other advantages, I don't believe in "cheap" but to others it's a very valid concern they do not wish to spend beyond a certain amount.

I am quite amused at the low prices INCLUDING installation by some vendors here, I appreciate they are offering an alternative, I do wonder about the sustainability and also how often they encounter customers whom want them to "bao ka liao"

Sent from Blackberry STV100-3 using GAGT

batniss

Just saying perhaps localITguy if he wants to point out those points for benefit of us here, then perhaps it be better if he can substantiate them so some vendors/resellers here wont feel like hes just out to bash.

I just thought most of us when we come to this forum, we would already be quite informed reading thru the posts, deciding for ourselves what is right wrong. Actually may not be clear cut but what is suitable for ourselves, and if there are trade offs, are we able to accept it because of other advantages, I don't believe in "cheap" but to others it's a very valid concern they do not wish to spend beyond a certain amount.

I am quite amused at the low prices INCLUDING installation by some vendors here, I appreciate they are offering an alternative, I do wonder about the sustainability and also how often they encounter customers whom want them to "bao ka liao"

Sent from Blackberry STV100-3 using GAGT

what i meant was even reading through the posts - some forumers only read a couple of pages and went on to decide what they want and end up with a mistake / something not fulfilling exactly on what they wanted.

to me, installation is pretty expensive at some point but since i could render the support / installation myself - i shall not comment on the price whom 1 is willing to pay.

On localITguy thoughts about cloud services, I do agree on having the need to remove/disable cloud services completely. Well, it serves as a good platform for newbies to have everything setup in a single click but it also compromise security. For that and since i am able to configure most of the basic features myself, i rather disable any form of cloud services and do my own port forwarding and/or etc by myself.

Sadly, alot of china-made-brands doesn't even have that option to remove it out from the box.

geckoSG

the idea of P2P cameras is the easy installation method, hence to reduce support, most manufacturer will not want this flexibility as some act smart half past six people will try this try that and rendered camera unusable and then make tech support increase. Simple concept.

geckoSG

This is not aiming at anyone, but to share information.

Let's say your pay is around $2.5K, your salary component per hour is around $13.5/hr. Normally, 2 person are deployed to a single project site cos they need to bring drill n ladder, etc.

A typical professional installation along the wall with trunking, drilling, mounting, installation of mobile & laptops. end-user education, clarification of single camera, can take up to 1 ~ 1.5hr, simple dun care trunking look nice or not, can be achieve under 30min ~ 1 hour. Not including your travel time here n there. Over all, 1 single project can be 2~2.5 hours. Some people delay your setup with unforseen circumstances, held up by work, can you charge them cancellation, next day come back install and bill them your initial travel time? NO. They WILL NOT pay.

Estimated material costs between $20~$30 perhaps depends on what you use. So, at this point, the cost for doing your home setup is (13.2*2guy*2hr,$20material)=$72.80. What have not include is petrol/diesel cost, parking charges, ERP charges, vehicle leasing, etc.

For a company to survive and grow, minimum they need to earn 3 times or more of the costs incurred within 8 hours operating hours. $80~$150 is not expensive honestly. The more points to be installed, if simple, some gives discount. And of cos, how they do the installation, the cheaper the price they quoted you, you do not expect sibei chio service please.

Last time, some forumers offer setup IP cameras at $30 each with materials, after a few setups from mulitple forumers, they disappear, do not want to do anymore. Why? I leave it for you to think.

batniss

the idea of P2P cameras is the easy installation method, hence to reduce support, most manufacturer will not want this flexibility as some act smart half past six people will try this try that and rendered camera unusable and then make tech support increase. Simple concept.

but full of nonsense. (no offense).

When router is becoming more and more features rich + flexibility, you cut that slack on the ip camera. Doesn't even make any sense.

Judging by what you have said, the manufacturers can always easily provide a password to lock that feature and only people who knows what they are doing can either

1. call in to obtain the password
2. retrieve it over the internet

There are many ways to implement it and not simply by taking it off.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.