Wireless IP Camera thread

batniss

This is not aiming at anyone, but to share information.

Let's say your pay is around $2.5K, your salary component per hour is around $13.5/hr. Normally, 2 person are deployed to a single project site cos they need to bring drill n ladder, etc.

A typical professional installation along the wall with trunking, drilling, mounting, installation of mobile & laptops. end-user education, clarification of single camera, can take up to 1 ~ 1.5hr, simple dun care trunking look nice or not, can be achieve under 30min ~ 1 hour. Not including your travel time here n there. Over all, 1 single project can be 2~2.5 hours. Some people delay your setup with unforseen circumstances, held up by work, can you charge them cancellation, next day come back install and bill them your initial travel time? NO. They WILL NOT pay.

Estimated material costs between $20~$30 perhaps depends on what you use. So, at this point, the cost for doing your home setup is (13.2*2guy*2hr,$20material)=$72.80. What have not include is petrol/diesel cost, parking charges, ERP charges, vehicle leasing, etc.

For a company to survive and grow, minimum they need to earn 3 times or more of the costs incurred within 8 hours operating hours. $80~$150 is not expensive honestly. The more points to be installed, if simple, some gives discount. And of cos, how they do the installation, the cheaper the price they quoted you, you do not expect sibei chio service please.

Last time, some forumers offer setup IP cameras at $30 each with materials, after a few setups from mulitple forumers, they disappear, do not want to do anymore. Why? I leave it for you to think.

judging by your argument - if the particular household doesn't need all of the material - will they reduce the price? No. What you are using is probably one of the worst case scenario.

$139-199 (marix quoted pricing) may be cheap but that doesn't apply to anyone.

Apologize if i might sound condescending but i am standing from the POV of a consumers and his pocks not on how businesses make money. Call me unreasonable, businesses thrive whether they have my business or not.

I strongly believe this thread is for consumers not businesses. What and where you are coming from is getting obvious.

geckoSG

Its obvious on how you interprete messages n read facts. nevertheless, why bother.

Heres another cheap camera i bought for colleague, he said this one clarity is good at 720p, easy cloud setup no wires needed.

http://b.mashort.cn/h.htx71?sm=9431cf

Lowest price was RMB99. Lens are glued down when I open up n see, so lens change may not be possible. He compared against his vstarcam and this audio is better.

pilotsnoopy

judging by your argument - if the particular household doesn't need all of the material - will they reduce the price? No. What you are using is probably one of the worst case scenario.

$139-199 (marix quoted pricing) may be cheap but that doesn't apply to anyone.

Apologize if i might sound condescending but i am standing from the POV of a consumers and his pocks not on how businesses make money. Call me unreasonable, businesses thrive whether they have my business or not.

I strongly believe this thread is for consumers not businesses. What and where you are coming from is getting obvious.
I dislike consumers whom only care about their pockets and only want "cheap".

You dont let manufacturers earn then wheres the development money coming from?

This kind of parasitic consumers is not only bad for businesses but eventually bad for consumers also.

Sent from Blackberry STV100-3 using GAGT

batniss

I dislike consumers whom only care about their pockets and only want "cheap".

You dont let manufacturers earn then wheres the development money coming from?

This kind of parasitic consumers is not only bad for businesses but eventually bad for consumers also.

Sent from Blackberry STV100-3 using GAGT

look around you, there are threads on DEALS (multiples). Everyone is there for himself. Even for businesses.

I think you are going off topic. I never said a word about don't let manufacturers earn. I am referring to installers (and i feel the price is high - i never said anything about don't let them earn). If you want to bash for the sake of bashing, start off by learning how to read properly.

I do not want to get tangled in a meaningless argument with someone I don't even know.

I am fair to share my side in a public forum. You are welcome to ignore it if it doesn't fit your taste. Calling people as demeaning as "parasitic consumers" is really distasteful.

geckoSG

He didnt go read properly on what 139 ~ 199 contains. 199 contains camera plus installation on marix website as an example. Camera costs ard $109 ~ $129. So, installation like tat also high? Hahaha. I got nothing more to comment on this.

Will focus on dirt cheap cameras reviews instead of commercial available ones instead.

jeofefforts

Hi Dean,

Thanks for dropping by on advice of enhancing mounting of ip cam at kitchen. Great after-sales service. Shall buzz u if I need any assistance.

mooner

Dlink DCS-5222LB

Just bought the Dlink 5222LB camera, the night vision sucks, much worse than its previous model 5222L although it has HD (720P) mode and wide angle view. Anyone who has the same camera, am wondering there is anything I can do in the setup to improve the night vision. The image is flickering and fuzzy, and I can't even see my baby's eyes. Am returning it if I can't resolve this.
Thanks.

geckoSG

Mooner, u try change another unit first. If same, means the problem lies on the lens. The wide angle lens sort of diffuse the night vision so it becomes fuzzy n flickering.

I learn this from some technies who show me differences between lens. Not every lens can used as wide angle lens.

chickemon

Hi Dean, thanks for the great service helping to install my ip camera on the ceiling. Thanks for swinging by several times.:)

Dr_ARCHer

Just bought the Dlink 5222LB camera, the night vision sucks, much worse than its previous model 5222L although it has HD (720P) mode and wide angle view. Anyone who has the same camera, am wondering there is anything I can do in the setup to improve the night vision. The image is flickering and fuzzy, and I can't even see my baby's eyes. Am returning it if I can't resolve this.
Thanks.

Does it look out of focus? Some of my cameras (albeit the older ones) allow you to focus the lens by rotating/turning the lens. Use your thumb, press it against the front of the lens, and try turning it. You might improve the focus (like an SLR).

geckoSG

Ok. Got feedbacks that those cameras i posted here (cheap ones) r on par with all the camera sold by local Distributors. All cameras includes live stream, playback using mobile. Wireless setup. And best of all, so far no one experienced any break in connection Over wifi. These cameras r between $30∼$60. Comes with between 1∼2 years warranty.

mounting fee wise, i have some lobangs from some contractors n service providers, PM me ur mobile and I will ask them to message u. If you provide your own materials, it will b slightly cheaper. If you expect under $30 setup, then dun msg me.

Dr_ARCHer

One of the biggest concern about deploying wireless IP cameras is the mounting of them.

Guess what? I was at Challenger Funan for lunch, and as usual, I would walk the aisle selling IP cameras. Guess what what I saw? Appbot Link:

This is like a IP camera mounted on a roving robot (think Mars Rover :) )

Here is the link of the web site:

http://appbot-link.com/shopinfo/appbot.html

Just when I thought I can retire from this thread, I now have something new to play with. Yes, I bought a unit. Will try it out over the weekend.

Dr_ARCHer

What is the widest wide-angle IR Camera lens you can think of? 120 degrees?

Well, looks like Dlink has a new wireless IP Camera that is offering 180 degrees view. It is the DCS-2630L. Unlike their DCS-6010, this is not a fish-eye lens camera. Yes, there will still be some distortion but that is expected for wide-angled lens (camera buffs will know... A wide lens have distortion).

And Guess what? It uses the AC standard. Most cameras are only on wireless N.

Maybe at the next computer show, Dlink will have this camera on offer. Dlink likes to have computer show offers that can be quite attractive.

Dlink DCS-2630L web page:

http://us.dlink.com/product-category/home-solutions/view/network-cameras/

molecule

One of the biggest concern about deploying wireless IP cameras is the mounting of them.

Guess what? I was at Challenger Funan for lunch, and as usual, I would walk the aisle selling IP cameras. Guess what what I saw? Appbot Link:

This is like a IP camera mounted on a roving robot (think Mars Rover :) )

Here is the link of the web site:

http://appbot-link.com/shopinfo/appbot.html

Just when I thought I can retire from this thread, I now have something new to play with. Yes, I bought a unit. Will try it out over the weekend.

best liao doc! how much is one of these???!!

geckoSG

Yah. How much boss? Its a shame they didnt wanna use night vision but use an LED light instead.

mooner

Mooner, u try change another unit first. If same, means the problem lies on the lens. The wide angle lens sort of diffuse the night vision so it becomes fuzzy n flickering...

Does it look out of focus? Some of my cameras (albeit the older ones) allow you to focus the lens by rotating/turning the lens. Use your thumb, press it against the front of the lens, and try turning it. You might improve the focus (like an SLR).

Thanks geckoSG and Dr_ARCHer. I brought back to Dlink, the CS tested a few units and all looked equally bad, finally found one that looks better (but still a lot of noise). Surprised that they said so far nobody complains about the night vision. Apparently Dlink said it could be the latest Firmware and asked me not to upgrade the firmware. I brought the replaced unit back to my place, tried every possible way to tweak the image e.g. adjusting the focus, the noise level, contrast, brightness, sharpness, anti-flickering etc...but the image is still not as sharp as my old Sineoji. After 2 days of trying, i gave up and returned the unit to where i bought it and exchanged for a new Sineoji camera. Sineoji is quite expensive nowadays, my old model cost under 100, now the PT593V cost me $199 (as i wanted a wide-angle unit). :eek: One note on PT593V, the night vision is better but wide screen is still not as wide as 5222L even though it stated as 'ultra wide angle'. I read older post that there was a promotion in Nov, but over now.

I have another Dlink 5222L, which i bought 6 months back, didn't bother much with the night vision at first cause i need to for daytime use. However, the night vision is equally bad. Dlink is awaiting for HQ to check the problem, and the CS promised me that they will replace a better one for me once they hear from HQ or when HQ rectified the problem.

Based on my experience with 2 5222L's, which is Dlink's most high-end model, i can conclude that the existing Dlink camera is not up to par with others in the market. Skip them for now till they come out with newer model.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.