Work so hard for what

arsenalfc85

Study like crazy
Kena thrown to ns to suffer
Then work like dog
By the time retire (assuming still got good health from all the mental torture n stress over the years from working), collect cpf then 10-20 years later sayonara.
Somemore the last 10-20 years already old ah pek can do what?

is this what life is all about?

JustForFun

Study like crazy
Then work like dog
By the time retire (assuming still got good health from all the mental torture n stress over the years from working), collect cpf then 10-20 years later sayonara.

The most "evil" is housing loan or debt that entrapped most LIFETIME except the rich and power ? Repeat every generation except the rich and power ?

zzzzzzz

No time to rest

no time to even eat properly and slowly

no one to leave my assets to in future cuz bbfa

life is unpredictable . What if the person doesn’t even get to enjoy the money earned?

feel like lying flat ..
https://suttacentral.net/mn13/en/su...e&notes=asterisk&highlight=false&script=latin

And what is the drawback of sensual pleasures? It’s when a gentleman earns a living by means such as arithmetic, accounting, calculating, farming, trade, raising cattle, archery, government service, or one of the professions. But they must face cold and heat, being hurt by the touch of flies, mosquitoes, wind, sun, and reptiles, and risking death from hunger and thirst. This is a drawback of sensual pleasures apparent in the present life, a mass of suffering caused by sensual pleasures.

That gentleman might try hard, strive, and make an effort, but fail to accrue money. If this happens, they sorrow and wail and lament, beating their breast and falling into confusion, saying: ‘Oh, my hard work is wasted. My efforts are fruitless!’ This too is a drawback of sensual pleasures apparent in the present life, a mass of suffering caused by sensual pleasures.

That gentleman might try hard, strive, and make an effort, and succeed in earning money. But they experience pain and sadness when they try to protect it, thinking: ‘How can I prevent my wealth from being taken by rulers or bandits, consumed by fire, swept away by flood, or taken by unloved heirs?’ And even though they protect it and ward it, rulers or bandits take it, or fire consumes it, or flood sweeps it away, or unloved heirs take it. They sorrow and wail and lament, beating their breast and falling into confusion: ‘What once was mine is gone.’ This too is a drawback of sensual pleasures apparent in the present life, a mass of suffering caused by sensual pleasures.

:frown:

ramlee

Study like crazy
Then work like dog

Of course not. Don't forget to serve pap :(

arsenalfc85

https://suttacentral.net/mn13/en/su...e&notes=asterisk&highlight=false&script=latin

And what is the drawback of sensual pleasures? It’s when a gentleman earns a living by means such as arithmetic, accounting, calculating, farming, trade, raising cattle, archery, government service, or one of the professions. But they must face cold and heat, being hurt by the touch of flies, mosquitoes, wind, sun, and reptiles, and risking death from hunger and thirst. This is a drawback of sensual pleasures apparent in the present life, a mass of suffering caused by sensual pleasures.

That gentleman might try hard, strive, and make an effort, but fail to accrue money. If this happens, they sorrow and wail and lament, beating their breast and falling into confusion, saying: ‘Oh, my hard work is wasted. My efforts are fruitless!’ This too is a drawback of sensual pleasures apparent in the present life, a mass of suffering caused by sensual pleasures.

That gentleman might try hard, strive, and make an effort, and succeed in earning money. But they experience pain and sadness when they try to protect it, thinking: ‘How can I prevent my wealth from being taken by rulers or bandits, consumed by fire, swept away by flood, or taken by unloved heirs?’ And even though they protect it and ward it, rulers or bandits take it, or fire consumes it, or flood sweeps it away, or unloved heirs take it. They sorrow and wail and lament, beating their breast and falling into confusion: ‘What once was mine is gone.’ This too is a drawback of sensual pleasures apparent in the present life, a mass of suffering caused by sensual pleasures.

Bro u ok or not

I don’t understand what u just typed >.<

XiaoChilli

That is why I already lie flat.

Without desire for sensual pleasures we will have no sufferings.
But without sensual pleasures what is there to enjoy?

trumperater

Be a minimalist
Explore and pursue new experiences instead of material goods
Find a zhabor whom can be contented with little and gel along with (hard but not impossible)

dambio

Depends on 1s aspiration n goals in life. If desires not alot then live a more relax lifestyle lor.

tessss

work hard now so that can enjoy better life when older.

true that life is unpredictable. we can die anytime.
but we can also live beyond 80yo, and with unhealthy body, which need money to sustain.

to you, which is worse ?
1. work hard whole life, never enjoy and died early. money left for family.
or
2. lie flat since young, just enough to 'enjoy' earlier life. old already not enough money then burden family

trd_charlie

If you think too hard, you'll realize there's really no point to all of these. That's why so many superman in sg.

zzangiefzz

No time to rest

life is unpredictable . What if the person doesn’t even get to enjoy the money earned?

feel like lying flat ..
u can plan semi retire at 45, if capable enough

arsenalfc85

Since quitting my job in Oct 2024, I've retired and lying flat for almost a year now
How’s it like

do u have a big amount of savings or passive income ?

or u just don’t care , wait until money going to deplete then go find adhoc jobs to do?

coyote

No time to rest

feel like lying flat ..

Exactly why we need more foreign talents!!! No thank to TS.

lifeafter41

No time to rest

feel like lying flat ..
Maybe you should take a short break or holiday.

rrr2015

人生本来是Happy
没有烦恼最Steady
没事就去玩手机
边走边刷笑嘻嘻
饿了最爱吃Roti
涂上Kaya配Kopi
人生本来就Happy
steady steady pom pee pee 🥴

kimsix

No time to rest

feel like lying flat ..

help your bosses and politicans grow their wealth

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.