Working Shoe for Young Exec

PetiaC

Yes. From Vietnam. My friend station there says you can get similar quality shoes for USD90 to USD150, MTO somemore. Compared to sgd300 for RTW for Ed's shoes.

Anyone have friends in Ho Chi Mihn City? I read there is a street cluster all the tailors and shoemakers. Maybe someone go there sian a shoemaker daughter and takeover the business, next time give edmw members discount hor.

PetiaC

Seriously? Like where in the west? Singapore can't even find a decent range of kiwi wax polishes? Omg?

Look in the ulu small hardware or houseware shops. Or else go mustafa center buy the columbus and dasco products. Isetan should have too.

patryn33

Yes. From Vietnam. My friend station there says you can get similar quality shoes for USD90 to USD150, MTO somemore. Compared to sgd300 for RTW for Ed's shoes.

Ppl just need to learn how to market to get that kind of profit.
Those that don't LL charge cheap cheap.

U should get friend to start a biz there or get contacts so ppl here can get cheaper shoes

10 years on and the pair of shoes are still going strong

20130410_181723.jpg

The above is a classic example of a pair of all leather dress shoe or working shoe. I bought them in 2003 and they were Made in Italy. I paid $300 for them then. The cost of ownership is less than 10 cents a day for 10 years of usage. :s13:

archangle13

Has anyone asked a cobbler to place heel liners before?

Basically it is a smaller piece of leather at the back of the heel to fill up space in a big shoe, like a permanent version of the heel grip.

Any reliable cobblers to recommend for this?

Basically it is a smaller piece of leather at the back of the heel to fill up space in a big shoe, like a permanent version of the heel grip.

It will rub against your back of your foot. You can try wearing thicker socks for that or you can go down to any good shoe shops to buy some sort of heel gel piece. My advice, if you can put two fingers in between the gap, the shoe is too big for you.

Going out tomorrow as "part of the photography project work" to buy two more pairs of shoes...hhahhaahahahah.. once again, must be all leather and none of those crap man made leather or synthetic crap sole.

archangle13

It will rub against your back of your foot. You can try wearing thicker socks for that or you can go down to any good shoe shops to buy some sort of heel gel piece. My advice, if you can put two fingers in between the gap, the shoe is too big for you.

Going out tomorrow as "part of the photography project work" to buy two more pairs of shoes...hhahhaahahahah.. once again, must be all leather and none of those crap man made leather or synthetic crap sole.

I cannot even fit one pinky finger inside, but i want zero gap. the heel slip is annoying. I prefer it like cushioned sports shoes.

PetiaC

just buy the sticker type lah

PetiaC

bought mine from tangs shoe dept. flattening over time yes but crumbling erm no.

striker22

Ppl just need to learn how to market to get that kind of profit.
Those that don't LL charge cheap cheap.

U should get friend to start a biz there or get contacts so ppl here can get cheaper shoes

To be fair, i think ed designs the last and also has a hand sourcing the leather. Leather quality is a huge problem for alot of Asian shoemakers, it is difficult to obtain good quality calfskin from Europe and supplies are dwindling.

Anyone dealing with artisanal products in Vietnam will know that it is difficult to source good quality materials be it wool, shirtings or leather. The taxes for these can be horrendous. Often times, bringing your own material would be better, at least after a trial product, e.g. Make one shirt using their material and check fit then bring your own for subsequent ones.

patryn33

Americans also make good quality leather.
The issue here is sourcing, speaking little English is hard.

I am not in the industry don't know the supplies are dwindling

striker22

American leather is good for saddle, bags and accessories, workboots etc but not for calfskin used in mens shoes.

Language is not a huge problem. Even i they cannot speak english, some can speak french. The best calfskin comes from france, switzerland and germany.

PetiaC

American leather is good for saddle, bags and accessories, workboots etc but not for calfskin used in mens shoes.

Language is not a huge problem. Even i they cannot speak english, some can speak french. The best calfskin comes from france, switzerland and germany.

Same for British leather, saddle and bridle leather, traditionally use for horse riding and belts and boots.

Most of the local leather crafters use Pakistani leather which I find acceptable quality.

Premium calf leather will be double the price normal leather.

deadbeat

20130410_181723.jpg

The above is a classic example of a pair of all leather dress shoe or working shoe. I bought them in 2003 and they were Made in Italy. I paid $300 for them then. The cost of ownership is less than 10 cents a day for 10 years of usage. :s13:
where are they from?

patryn33

Oh anyway
horween cordovan leather is American, and it make good looking shoes.

Isn't Morocco is good country to source too? They have the oldest tannery
http://www.wanderplex.com/2012/03/14/the-oldest-leather-tannery-in-the-world/

Tannery in developed countries also shutting down due to high operations cost despite high demand of goods

cokiee

The one pair of shoe i have with taps came with them. My trusted repair at paragon only do vibrams

I've been there to ask before, and got rejected as well. Couple of places I've asked also only do Vibram, not Topy. I also asked if they know anyone who does taps, and they all said no.

Anyone know where I can get Mahogany Kiwi wax polish here?

I'm just looking for a tin of regular Kiwi wax in very light brown or red. NTUC only sells black, neutral and brown. Cheapo wax gogogo...

Wow i didn't even know kiwi has mahogany wax!

Has anyone tried collonil? How does that compare to the usual suspects?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.