Working Shoe for Young Exec

yamcancook

You should get this...as stated on the website:

New Herring Valet Box, Slide lid engraved with the Herring Crest.

The compact box holds 2 brushes, 4 wax polishes, suede brush, applicator brush, suede protector, polish cloth and a shoe horn.

actually i am quite confused by their english, or should i say my language command is slightly below average. So in your opinion, will i get it, or will i not get it? hmm.

Ind1go

Thank you for your prompt feedback.

2. I thought i would be getting the suede protector etc. along with the box as shown in the picture. hmm.. Any idea how much the Saphir wax or cream will cost around in singapore? and when i could get those? Please advise.

I was really hoping that they herrings would give me a complimentary tin so they can save me the hassle of looking for a new wax.

Didnt know that even for shoe cream/wax is such a intense study. Got to google more i guess to read up liao.

Sorry, I think I jumped the gun on that. I thought the $45 you quoted was in SGD. But for GBP45, it should be for all those listed there.

Herrings will give you a free tin of wax, but when you place your order, just drop them an email and ask for 1 or 2 more. I got 3 tins of wax when I placed my order. 9 months later, and I haven't even finished one yet...

You can get Saphir from ebay or some of the UK websites.
Colonnil is available from the Masterfix chain of stores (Paragon has one store).

In terms of bare essentials to what you need, this is my opinion.

• Cleaner / Conditioner - Saphir has Renovateur, highly regarded in Styleforum, I use it
  • Shoe Cream - provides a matt shine, nourishment and colour to the shoe
  • Horsehair brush - for buffing, I like mine big.
  • Wax (Optional) - Depends if you like to use it or not, I only use mine on the toecaps and heels, since Herring will provide you with a free tin, I reckon no stress there.

You won't need an applicator brush as you can just use a cloth to apply.

If you want more info about Shoe Care, read Styleforum's Official Shoe Care Thread : Tutorials, Photos, etc. Almost 3000 posts on shoe care, product reviews, etc.

By the way,

If anyone needs a tin of Herring Dark Brown Wax, I have 2.5 to give away.

Also, I bought too much Saphir Renovateur and am trying to sell a few of them. If anyone needs the Reno, keep me in mind and drop me a PM :)

Finally, if anyone else is getting Saphir products, can I add in my order with you or conduct a small mass order?

yamcancook

in that case when herrings do indeed provide a free complimentary shoe wax with each purchase, i will not be buying that valet box. *Initially i thought they dont.

Which models do you guys buy? able to share? i am looking at the herringbone from the sale section, however, it wasnt a really a good deal. lol. sian sia. i want to buy, but dont know which one to buy. able to share your hoots?

gambireu

Thank you for your prompt feedback.

2. I thought i would be getting the suede protector etc. along with the box as shown in the picture. hmm.. Any idea how much the Saphir wax or cream will cost around in singapore? and when i could get those? Please advise.

I was really hoping that they herrings would give me a complimentary tin so they can save me the hassle of looking for a new wax.

Didnt know that even for shoe cream/wax is such a intense study. Got to google more i guess to read up liao.

Hi yamcancook,

use the code tweet10. It shaved off 10% for my order in the past and i'm sure it still works. There's also a coupon code for free shoe tree. I think you can google it and find the coupon on askandy or styleforum.

As for Saphir, i normally buy it on ebay from a trusted seller. Or you can get it from A Fine Pair of Shoes - English Handmade Shoes Online. The ebay option's cheaper for me. Or you can get a reasonable polish made by Saphir from the Berluti store in Takashimaya. Its 30 dollars and can last you pretty long. I wouldn't get a shoe valet box till

1) i have quite a number of shoes in my inventory that needs alot of maintenance

2) i'm pretty committed to like a 15-step routine to take care of my shoes.

A simple Saphir renovateur and polish should be able to last you a long way i believe. Some saddle soap or Lexol to clean off the built up polish time to time will help.

Hope this answers some of your questions

Ind1go, how did it go on yr shoe purchase?

gambireu

Hey Ind1go,

I just saw your post. How much do you plan to sell your renovateurs? I'd like to get some spare ones. And also, i want to get some polishes. Are you buying from chelseashoes on ebay? or afinepairofshoes?

Ind1go

Hey Ind1go,

I just saw your post. How much do you plan to sell your renovateurs? I'd like to get some spare ones. And also, i want to get some polishes. Are you buying from chelseashoes on ebay? or afinepairofshoes?

Selling at $33 incl delivery.

I'm thinking of buying from chelseashoes.

xtwis7

so what did you do to your new shoes? rubber sole since day 1?

if so, any recommendations?

thx!

I didn't do anything to it. LOL. But so far I'm very satisfied with Aldo shoes. Bought it on sale in US for just 50usd and been my daily beater. That's why I hope to get another Aldo pair for rotation to extend the life of my shoe.

TurkMan

in that case when herrings do indeed provide a free complimentary shoe wax with each purchase, i will not be buying that valet box. *Initially i thought they dont.

Which models do you guys buy? able to share? i am looking at the herringbone from the sale section, however, it wasnt a really a good deal. lol. sian sia. i want to buy, but dont know which one to buy. able to share your hoots?

You can try emailing them and ask if they can give you complimentary wax. They're quite generous

saratagami

I didn't do anything to it. LOL. But so far I'm very satisfied with Aldo shoes. Bought it on sale in US for just 50usd and been my daily beater. That's why I hope to get another Aldo pair for rotation to extend the life of my shoe.
I just love to reinvent my fashion statement with espadrilles. I even wear it in the office or when going to the bar. The latest pair I bought in discounted price is this Satuna wedge espadrilles.

Ind1go

I just love to reinvent my fashion statement with espadrilles. I even wear it in the office or when going to the bar. The latest pair I bought in discounted price is this Satuna wedge espadrilles.

Thank god, I did a quick google and the Satuna wedge espadrilles are for ladies.
I was honestly thinking that a guy was wearing espadrilles to work.

However, if you are not a lady, then rock on with those 3 inch wedges.

Gambler.

rad russells selling for $59 - $69 at the zalora sale..

borse mogan also around that price

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.