Working Shoe for Young Exec

kazuki666

what brand? share px?

Kowalski is the name of the brand. Sounds Polish, but it says its made in Spain though...

The box

The shoes
[

Sorry the pics look quite bad, taken with hp...
The shoes itself looks quite simple, but the pics dun really justify the real thing though...

atypical

IMHO no point wearing nice shoes. Take train, let people step. Drive, the right shoe crease more than left ones, unless you go through the hassle of wearing driving mocs. Raining, leather soles kenna wet also LL. People don't take the time to polish also. Buy lousy ones wear liao jus throw. Good shoes in our humidity the leather also LL. No need to pay more than $100 for shoes.

People say better shoes can re-soled so better value but not really true. Don't have expertise here to do that. Sending them back to and fro can buy you a new shoe. Local shops do a F up job, doesn't replace the cork filling, sometimes the welt cut so close already they also don't replace...

BTW, in the last two years, even though the Grenson "Rose" is still made in Britain (actually only assembled, welted and burnished), all the uppers are finished and the leather is even sourced and tanned in India. The rest of their range is made entirely in India. If your Rose collection is more than 2 years ago, then it is still possible that they are made entirely in UK. As far as I know, they still make in Rushden for other brands/ retailers like Tim Little.

You are probably right. But I won't treat my feet, who hardworkingly tahan as much as 3x my body weight, that way.

I iron my shirts and pants, so there's no reason why not, for once every month, I give my shoes a little coat of shoe cream. With a little care and rotation, the humidity problem here is not an issue. Effort is the key.

I agree totally with you on re-soling and the s**ty craftsmanship of our local cobblers. Calling their work F-up is an understatement! :D

There's no issue with sourcing leather from India, so long as they are sourced well. There's only so many tanneries around.

We need to define 'good shoes' for ourselves, that's all. :)

hst201

Bravo! Good cop on the Church's and Cheany. I'm sure they will serve you well. Yes, June/July is definitely a good time to comb Hong Kong. There got EG. All the best! Share with us if you hoot some back hor! Thanks! :s13:

Thanks, atypical and purple, for your comments. Amongst the EG oxfords and derbys, which last would you recommend that will always look classic, and not out of place whether at work or dinners.

hst201

You are probably right. But I won't treat my feet, who hardworkingly tahan as much as 3x my body weight, that way.

I iron my shirts and pants, so there's no reason why not, for once every month, I give my shoes a little coat of shoe cream. With a little care and rotation, the humidity problem here is not an issue. Effort is the key.

I agree totally with you on re-soling and the s**ty craftsmanship of our local cobblers. Calling their work F-up is an understatement! :D

There's no issue with sourcing leather from India, so long as they are sourced well. There's only so many tanneries around.

We need to define 'good shoes' for ourselves, that's all. :)

Agree totally with atypical. Other than taking regular care of the shoes, I would have the local cobblers add a rubber soles to protect the original leather shoes. I acknowledge this is really not "purist", and perhaps some see it as a defeat of having leather soles. I found that it really make the shoes last for a long time - I have 1-2 shoes that I have been wearing for about ten years now.

balzebub

anyone knows where i can buy mid-cut or high-cut shoes for work? Not too expensive? Black since all my pants are black and my belts are all black too? Always prefer mid or high cut but now like damm hard to find?

atypical

Agree totally with atypical. Other than taking regular care of the shoes, I would have the local cobblers add a rubber soles to protect the original leather shoes. I acknowledge this is really not "purist", and perhaps some see it as a defeat of having leather soles. I found that it really make the shoes last for a long time - I have 1-2 shoes that I have been wearing for about ten years now.

Thanks man, and I think your adding the rubber soles an excellent effort. I don't do that, coz I like to allow the leather soles to breathe better, BUT, I'm with you, in that the additional rubber soles do have their advantages.

mfbatzap

Saw an exotic never hear before brand in bata, and it looks quite nice. Kowalski, it claims to made in Spain.
bought at $59, claim to be $249. I doubt that ex lah:s13:
oh you'd be surprise that some bata shoes can last quite long.. my first brown work shoe lasted me close to a year before the colour near the base started to peel.. haha.. no use polishing coz it's not made of real leather la.. FYI, i bought that pair for $20 during a bata sale LOL

electronics

anyone knows where i can buy mid-cut or high-cut shoes for work? Not too expensive? Black since all my pants are black and my belts are all black too? Always prefer mid or high cut but now like damm hard to find?

i also like high cut shoes for work.

BallyHiLeatherShoes.jpg

kazuki666

oh you'd be surprise that some bata shoes can last quite long.. my first brown work shoe lasted me close to a year before the colour near the base started to peel.. haha.. no use polishing coz it's not made of real leather la.. FYI, i bought that pair for $20 during a bata sale LOL

$20?!
wah, didnt know bata can chop so siong also... :(

hst201

hst201

Thanks man, and I think your adding the rubber soles an excellent effort. I don't do that, coz I like to allow the leather soles to breathe better, BUT, I'm with you, in that the additional rubber soles do have their advantages.

That's a great purist way of wearing your shoes. Where do you get them re-soled then since you mentioned most of the cobblers in Singapore are not up to scratch. And I assume many of the brands here do not have the capability to re-sole in-house.

cowculator

Working shoes for old men

Will only wear this on Fridays. Lace shoes for most work days. My fat feet cannot take slim pointy shoes, nor can I take skinny pants and jeans. Uncle must take ah pek style or else people laugh.

chelseashoes.jpg

atypical

Will only wear this on Fridays. Lace shoes for most work days. My fat feet cannot take slim pointy shoes, nor can I take skinny pants and jeans. Uncle must take ah pek style or else people laugh.

chelseashoes.jpg

Cowculator, this brogue wing-tip chelsea is in no way ah pek style, and you know it! Good job!

Boys, this pair is a thing of beauty. See how elegant the last is, as compared to that black pointed pair earlier. Y'all may think slim and pointed is sleek and fashionable (they can be, if done well), but Cowculator's are far more elegant, and will NEVER go out of style.

Chelseas are actually very versatile. In black or dark brown, you will see that they are very elegant in suit pants, and very stylo in jeans. I recommend my pair : The R.M. Williams Craftsman in black kangaroo. I think there is also a dark brown yearling that is peng tasty too!

For brogue styles, I must say they are a matter of preference. I'm like brogue shoes. But I find that they do, tend to look less formal in lighter shades, so my colour of choice is dark brown.

atypical

That's a great purist way of wearing your shoes. Where do you get them re-soled then since you mentioned most of the cobblers in Singapore are not up to scratch. And I assume many of the brands here do not have the capability to re-sole in-house.

hahahaa .... pai seh, I've only seen the worksmanship on other people (colleagues) shoes. Centrepoint Mr Mint. I won't recommend.

For me, I'm still rotating. None have worn out yet, so I will worry about this matter later! :s13:

cowculator

Thanks. I look for less pointy stuff that are more or less well made. My philosophy is still I won't buy any shoe more than $100. You'd be surprise the kind of things you can find at Bata.

Cowculator, this brogue wing-tip chelsea is in no way ah pek style, and you know it! Good job!

Boys, this pair is a thing of beauty. See how elegant the last is, as compared to that black pointed pair earlier. Y'all may think slim and pointed is sleek and fashionable (they can be, if done well), but Cowculator's are far more elegant, and will NEVER go out of style.

Chelseas are actually very versatile. In black or dark brown, you will see that they are very elegant in suit pants, and very stylo in jeans. I recommend my pair : The R.M. Williams Craftsman in black kangaroo. I think there is also a dark brown yearling that is peng tasty too!

For brogue styles, I must say they are a matter of preference. I'm like brogue shoes. But I find that they do, tend to look less formal in lighter shades, so my colour of choice is dark brown.

exxondus

hmm but i cant really appreciate it :( think beauty is in the eye of the beholder bah :D

probably like you mentioned, its a boys thing? me unker liaoz haiz..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.