Working Shoe for Young Exec

Carnage

How do you guys polish your shoes?

With the shoe tree inside to stretch out the shoes or just use bare hands?

Carnage

alrite. i think i noe where u coming from. still u cant deny that those branded like gucci lv etc make certain good quality stuff and certain crap stuff, just that maybe the premium paid for them can get u other brands like what kiton said.

Fashion brands are rarely synomous with value for money. It largely depends on the item you are buying. I.e. I don't think Tods shoes are bad.

Btw, you are half way there towards your postfolio already?! Pretty quick!

archangle13

Advise needed:

Current pair of shoes has lots of wrinkles, probably due to over wearing for the last 3 years. I don't swap shoes around and rarely use a show tree (too lazy to slot it in).

Is there a way to de-wrinkle it or really have to get a new pair?

wrinkling is inevitable mah... just force yourself to use shoetrees and apply some shoe cream bah.

archangle13

No idea about the insoles, what size are you referring to?

Have you seen the petina for Berluti? They are damn gorgeous!

Unfortunately they don't do MTM in SG, gotta go China for that.

i need eu41 or US8.5 insoles. i think my budget is 20 bucks. just need to fill my shoes.

Ind1go

ahboy82

Fashion brands are rarely synomous with value for money. It largely depends on the item you are buying. I.e. I don't think Tods shoes are bad.

Btw, you are half way there towards your postfolio already?! Pretty quick!

yep tods are quite well-known for their shoes, just that i have not gotten the chance to try them myself.

quick meh, consider quite slow le lol. going to add more into warchest after bonus come in...but money stuck. nth much to buy with sky high prices..

archangle13

Aiyo where got large? I thought size 12 and above. :s13:

You can try calling using SAF insoles?

OMG, is my English that bad? :s13:

I meant my shoes are oversized. I think half size larger.

I'm not going to use SAF insoles for dress shoes lah wah piang... :s22:

archangle13

Have you considered tongue pads? If the shoe is not too loose, I think tongue pads are going to be more comfortable instead of putting in a second insole.

Amazon.com: 3 Pairs of Large Felt Tongue Pads for Shoes and Boots Self Adhesive Size Large: Everything Else

I use them on my bluchers just to give it a bit more tightness across the top.

The thing is that I'm not sure if the shoe's high instep is the problem, cos it seems comfy everywhere. but i'd be happier if it was a bit more snug.

The annoying thing is the CREASES. omg wear once, crease like a b*tch already. and yea, it's a pair of vass shoes. 'top-quality' leather apparently. bull.

gambireu

The thing is that I'm not sure if the shoe's high instep is the problem, cos it seems comfy everywhere. but i'd be happier if it was a bit more snug.

The annoying thing is the CREASES. omg wear once, crease like a b*tch already. and yea, it's a pair of vass shoes. 'top-quality' leather apparently. bull.

It'd help to know what kind of shoe is it. Derby, Oxford or monks? It might also help to know if it's because the heel doesn't hug you the right way, there is a lot of slippage? Or if there's a large space due to the high instep.

There're a lot of ways to deal with shoes being larger because of the different lasts used. Simply putting an insole can cause unnatural creasing and defeats the purpose of having a leather insole. The shoe can't breathe properly and will feel uncomfortable. Do fill us in with more info.

Kiton12345

LOL. At one point in time, I remember this was de rigueur amongst all successful bankers.

It still is, at least in the US.

I thought Church already belonged to Prada?

Another good shoe brand would be Berluti. But that cost like heavenly sums of money. :s22:

Berluti is a gamble. Great patina and all but blake stitching for that asking price.

Every shoe will crease even if you use the best leather from the best tanneries.

But that's the reason why I don't go for Vass. Sizing/fitting is a b*tch, unless I can try them on, I don't buy shoes online.

archangle13

It still is, at least in the US.

Berluti is a gamble. Great patina and all but blake stitching for that asking price.

Every shoe will crease even if you use the best leather from the best tanneries.

But that's the reason why I don't go for Vass. Sizing/fitting is a b*tch, unless I can try them on, I don't buy shoes online.

Well, I just got a pair of insoles from hush Puppies. Now they fit like a dream. So it turned out well after all. :)

Grizz.P

Or can try cordavan leather? Heard it doesn't creases but has a sorta crumple effect?

archangle13

Or can try cordavan leather? Heard it doesn't creases but has a sorta crumple effect?

I did think of that. The utility of strong leather appeals to me, but the shell ripples look a lot worse than calf creases to my eyes. Shell ripples look like swellings imo. But then again, my knowledge of shell is limited to the internet.

Where can I find shell shoes in Singapore? Wanna see them in the flesh. :)

Carnage

OMG, is my English that bad? :s13:

I meant my shoes are oversized. I think half size larger.

I'm not going to use SAF insoles for dress shoes lah wah piang... :s22:

They are damn comfortable hor. Provided you can get them to fit inside.

regityoung

Well, I just got a pair of insoles from hush Puppies. Now they fit like a dream. So it turned out well after all. :)

Congrat! A lot of my shoes has high instep problem, just means that the last is not quite for me. Mind you, F last has a lesser degree. But all is well now!!!

archangle13

Congrat! A lot of my shoes has high instep problem, just means that the last is not quite for me. Mind you, F last has a lesser degree. But all is well now!!!

Thanks! :) May I know of those you own, which lasts have a high instep and which are low to normal instep?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.