Working Shoe for Young Exec

electronics

IMG_0162.jpg

My pair of >15 years old made in italy Kenneth Cole shoes...shows that good shoes are lasting... :D

just did a re-sole of vibram rubber cos find the wooden base noisy...haha

Have tried the below and swore off:

Pedro - quality no good, last less than a year
EverBest - rubber soles drop off within a few months
Beetlebug - rubber soles drop off within a few months

the front looks like too "rounded"

loveeveryday

My pair of >15 years old made in italy Kenneth Cole shoes...shows that good shoes are lasting... :D

I second Kenneth Cole! I am female so I never wore their men's workshoes BUT I have a few friends who says Kenneth Coles are very long lasting. They may be expensive to start with, but they are more value-for-money in the long run compared to other brands like Bata, Design & Comfort...etc.

My husband will buy cheaper shoes from neighbourhood shops or Design & Comfort (D&C) at about $30 to $40 but they only last him 6mths before the rubber soles wear off! The shoes look nice at first but they really don't last beyond 6mths. :(

Goolio

IMG_0162.jpg

the front very cute sia

LiquidShaDow

IMG_0162.jpg

It looks not bad, front is a little roundish though.

Some of these brands earned their reputation from the past where their source of manufacturing was better. Since this is 15 yrs old, it might have been from that era. Any ideas of KC are still made in the same places these days? I suspect the ones today are MIC and possibly not possess that kind of durability that yours does.

jeromecd

It looks not bad, front is a little roundish though.

Some of these brands earned their reputation from the past where their source of manufacturing was better. Since this is 15 yrs old, it might have been from that era. Any ideas of KC are still made in the same places these days? I suspect the ones today are MIC and possibly not possess that kind of durability that yours does.

Yeah, Kenneth Coles these days are crap.

I'd rather invest in a shoe that'll last me 10 years than repeatedly buying cheap shoes every 6 months. Do the math, you'll realise the former is cheaper.

LiquidShaDow

Yeah, Kenneth Coles these days are crap.

I'd rather invest in a shoe that'll last me 10 years than repeatedly buying cheap shoes every 6 months. Do the math, you'll realise the former is cheaper.
I think likewise, but in reality, it's difficult to get a pair of shoes that will last 10 years in this country. Goodyear welted English shoes do not even convey to us their primary benefit which is resoling since there are no qualified cobblers here. Without care and repair, it's tough. The only thing I've had that lasted me more than 10 years were an old MIE Dr Marts.

Phelan77

I think likewise, but in reality, it's difficult to get a pair of shoes that will last 10 years in this country. Goodyear welted English shoes do not even convey to us their primary benefit which is resoling since there are no qualified cobblers here. Without care and repair, it's tough. The only thing I've had that lasted me more than 10 years were an old MIE Dr Marts.

If you are worried about refurbishing your English made shoes, go for church's shoes. They have a shop at ION and can do the shoe refurbishment for $250

jeromecd

If you are worried about refurbishing your English made shoes, go for church's shoes. They have a shop at ION and can do the shoe refurbishment for $250

True, thinking of getting a pair online. Still overpriced though.

LiquidShaDow

Too expensive to buy from them. Costs SGD200+ less to buy online, inclusive of shipping. Actually, I'm not worried. I'm resigned to the fact that mine will never get a chance to be resoled.

exxondus

I find ecco not bad oso leh. Comfy and below 200. Lasted more than 2+yrs but sadly, the insole gone le. Couldnt find another worthy insole cos ecco don sell the berlin type of insoles.

In the end waited for sale n bought the same pair haha.

kazuki666

hey guys.

u have anything to recommend <$200 for a ankle length shoes for work?
Will be great something not too complicated to remove also :D

userid2

Bata shoes: Good designs (recently), cheap, comfy, but not durable. the leather came off within 3 months of using....

Pedro: Good designs, uncomfortable, not durable at all... considered expensive for what it has got to offer...

my take is to go for a shoes taht can last 10 years at least.. i don't mind paying extra but if you do the math it's actually much cheaper in the long run.. then again r there any shoes these days( even the top end) that can last that long?

jeromecd

Yes there are, though mostly high end english shoes. And also provided you take proper care of them.

Phelan77

Thinking of pulling the trigger on a Grenson Rose COllection shoe, anybody has any feedback on these shoe collection?

fire

have seen some good reviews on the grenson rose collection.

was thinking about this collection as well but grenson was over my budget :s13:

pull the trigger on the below instead... :)

2805-1417-photo3.jpg

fortyseven

wearing aldo now, bought during sale and quite satisfied with the purchase.
tried pedro. nice design but not comfy. furthermore, the heels wear off too fast.
next will try ecco when there is sale and design improved.

jeromecd

Looks ok, quality's terrible. For that price and bit more can get much better quality elsewhere.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.