Working Shoe for Young Exec

Ind1go

Corrected grain looks good when you first buy it, but due to the plastic topcoat, creases will be very deep and unsightly. Also this topcoat is prone to cracking. Good example is the number 3 shoes from army.

cS3zz.jpg

The Left and Centre pair are full grain leather.
Right pair is corrected grain leather.

I have had the left pair for 3 years, and the right pair for 1 year.

shadow99er

Corrected grain looks good when you first buy it, but due to the plastic topcoat, creases will be very deep and unsightly. Also this topcoat is prone to cracking. Good example is the number 3 shoes from army.

cS3zz.jpg

which of Loake is full grain?

Irenicis

cS3zz.jpg

i have the pair on the left. How do you take care of it?

deweylim

cS3zz.jpg

Thanks Ind1go, I see what you meant.. Does black calf leather means full grain? For example this pair on Zalora? ALDB - Free Shipping | Zalora

So sad don't have my size.. :(

Rickosw

This is just my own personal take...In SG, really nearly impossible to get a "stylish, unique and cool" shoe that is realistically less than SGD $400....
(other than major sales/ GST for Gucci, Prada, etc)

If you are going for the mass market brands, the previous post pretty much covered them....but you will be wearing wat 90% of the SG guys will be wearing... (nothing wrong also, to each its own)

But if you want that something 'extra special", sad to say, you gotta go overseas...

i have around 7 pairs of shoes (1 gucci - uni graduation shoe-sale 40%, the rest, all little unknown brands (all MADE IN ITALY) - all bought overseas....not that $$$, $250-400.) Some are really quite cool, trendy, but you have to sacrifice on the "comfort" part....if you want stylist, you cant have comfort...either way...
same theory as Ladies, 5 inch Killer Heels ....

What I can bring to the table:
if your local SG boy: is you can try HUE (use to be at raffles city, but moved to M. Walk)...used to have a big collection of men shoes.... good for working...but they downsize the collection quite a bit...(last i heard, Sept/Oct new selection)

Lido (Shaw Center) - last time used to have some unique shops, but closed down....due to reno....does anyone know where their new location...

lastly, the most "well kept secret", a little shop at a industrial park....I am quite surprised...nobody talked about it....(but the designs really too wild / "too out there" ....even for me !! :)

Cheers!

LiquidShaDow

you have to sacrifice on the "comfort" part....if you want stylist, you cant
lastly, the most "well kept secret", a little shop at a industrial park....I am quite surprised...nobody talked about it....(but the designs really too wild / "too out there" ....even for me !! :)

Cheers!

Are you talking about the place related to a girl named Dorothy that travelled on the yellow brick road?

Rickosw

I randomly came across this dude, who makes his shoes ...
unless you are in italy ....but nevertheless, check out his styles...
abit unpractical but u can be 99.99% sure, nobody in the room will have something similar...

i dun know how to paste pics in here...so any kind souls, please send me a PM / help post some pics ... just for discussion .... what other types of shoes are out in the market....

i did message him once b4....cos it is "hand made in italy" ..fully customized it will not cum cheap....close to 1K SGD ....so definitely not for the faint hearted .... (that is also above my budget) ...

I also dun know how you going to "show off" your 1K shoe to others... haha

https://www.facebook.com/ivanchandm...116127966.8739.100003168344588&type=3&theater

https://www.facebook.com/media/albu...152794829.8734.100003168344588&type=3&theater

Ind1go

I guess I still have a thing for English made shoes / design as it is timeless.

However, you can head to Hong Kong to get customized shoes for about $250. It is not made on a personal last, but he will take your measurements and custom fit the shoe.

Ind1go

I might consider et Ed al at a later stage.

Regardin the RTW range : currently the sgd is so strong that buying from other manufacturers from uk or us seems like a better deal.

His custom services starts from $500, his bespoke from $1000 (+ $800 for personal last)

Ind1go

i have the pair on the left. How do you take care of it?

I always follow 3 step process of conditioner (Saphir Reno), shoe cream (Saphir Pommadier) and shoe wax (Saphir Pate De Luxe).
Conditioner and cream all over, and wax only on the toe cap and heel.

Every 6 months or so, I will use a heavy duty cleaner (Saphir Renomat) to clean the shoe.

Yes, I am a Saphir fanatic.

Samuelskb

I am a Loake-y (Hmm, read as "Lucky") Guy!!!

Dear brothers & sisters,

I stumbled upon this thread a few days ago, to my good fortune.

As it is, I have got problems getting a good pair of leather shoes. Or maybe, it has been a case of me looking in the wrong direction. Thus far, my purchases have been Bonia, Rad Russel, Alain Delon etc. Nothing against these brands, just that maybe my usage is very HEAVY (Btw, not talking about my weight, I weigh about 75kg. Haha).
l
I easily spend at least $200 on shoes every year (about $100 per pair). Problem is, they do not last beyond 9 months, averagely. So, I did my Maths, $200 x 5 years = $1000!
So, I reckon, instead of spending this amount of money, I would rather get shoes with really good quality & longevity.

To cut long story short, after reading through some of your threads, I pulled the trigger on a pair of Loake Savoy yesterday! Am hoping that it will last more than 5 years. If it suits me, may purchase another pair. Am super looking forward to receiving it soon. So, like a kid about to open his X'mas gift, I am excited but would also like to get advice from you experts:

1. I intend to put on a rubber sole. Adviseable? If so, should I do it immediately before
wearing or after wearing? Also, where can I go to have these soles put on?

2. In future, when I need to repair/refurbish my shoes, where do you recommend that I
visit?

3. How do you all maintain your shoes? How often do you polish them?

I understand that some of the threads here do address the above questions. But problem is, I need to read through most of them again, so very time-consuming lah. I would greatly appreciate if you, brothers & sisters, can take some minutes to provide me with your precious advice.

Many thanks in advance!!!

striker22

Buy at least 2 shoes to rotate alternate days. Even good shoes need a break. Go back and read other advice. The way u put it it's like other people's time not as important as yours.

Samuelskb

Yes, as mentioned, will try out the first pair first. If all goes well, will prob get another pair. Thanks for your suggestion.
Yes, am looking at the posts in this thread to gather feedback while asking Herring at the same time.
So, much feedback is appreciated.

Dahawk

Hi guys, where to buy the oils to maintain your leather items? Belts/shoes etc.

cowed77

No man, but even if hv, u wanna buy meh, so ******* ex.

Plus the accordion midsole, really hard to wear la.

khimwoon

Got myself a pair of Loake bank boot from zolora. It's beautiful but too bad I got a size too small. Now got to send it back for return.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.