Working Shoe for Young Exec

Seannie

Loakes 1880s for about $200. But I've only worn it for a year and in rotation with another pair, which means I only wore it for half a year effectively... that makes it quite expensive to me :( Cos I thought they would be able to last for at least a year.

OMG! $200 wear only half year really very unworthwhile lei. Lastime i buy those $100 unbranded shoes fm chinatown can wear at least one year without rotation, and never get any holes at the sole. Only wear & tear. And i even thought of going get a Loake 1880! After seeing your post i doubt its quality. My current shoes cost $500+ already into my 4th month without alternate wear.

doody_

Where u work? I go check for you near my work place next week let u know.

CBD lo... Yea really quite sian :( Dunno if it's cos I wore it too often during rainy weather... but my other pair seems to be doing fine though.

Seannie

CBD lo... Yea really quite sian :( Dunno if it's cos I wore it too often during rainy weather... but my other pair seems to be doing fine though.

Raining wear slippers. Unless u always need to be outside then no choice else its only going to work, lunchtime or going home that can get wet. Or wrap shoes with plastic cover then wont tio rain lo. :D

archangle13

Leather is not supposed to touch water leh, much less rain water. IMO, such shoes are made in the non-tropics for the non-tropics, where rainfall isn't that frequent.

Having said that, I think your soles should still be ok if you add on a topy or vibram.

josephkjc

FYI, I am and Kips n Kwik at B1-04 Bishan Junction 8 to topy my shoes.
Topy is $28 while there is 2 types of Vibram one is $25 another $30
Can actually collect in an hour or so.

doody_

FYI, I am and Kips n Kwik at B1-04 Bishan Junction 8 to topy my shoes.
Topy is $28 while there is 2 types of Vibram one is $25 another $30
Can actually collect in an hour or so.

Thanks for the info, may check that out. Replacing the entire sole seems troublesome and expensive.

No way to avoid the rain in Singapore... some days it just happens to rain on the way to work/lunch/on the way home....

zhane

how u all noe if the shoe tree u bought is of good fit?

the one i bought even after xpanding completely isnt able to fill the shoe at the 'throat' (just before toe cap) sideway wise

the length seems ok.. cause when put in.. the shoe tree hasnt xpanded out completely and still can compress further

archangle13

how u all noe if the shoe tree u bought is of good fit?

the one i bought even after xpanding completely isnt able to fill the shoe at the 'throat' (just before toe cap) sideway wise

the length seems ok.. cause when put in.. the shoe tree hasnt xpanded out completely and still can compress further

For me, the vamp must be completely filled. That would mean the shoe tree must apply pressure width-wise at the point where the shoe flexes.

Length-wise, the shoe tree must be applying pressure at the heel. I don't bother about the tongue area.

Too risky to buy shoe trees online IMO. The 'savings' become wasted $$$ if they don't fit. If your shoes are good, why bother with a couple of bucks in the long run?

zhane

For me, the vamp must be completely filled. That would mean the shoe tree must apply pressure width-wise at the point where the shoe flexes.

Length-wise, the shoe tree must be applying pressure at the heel. I don't bother about the tongue area.

Too risky to buy shoe trees online IMO. The 'savings' become wasted $$$ if they don't fit. If your shoes are good, why bother with a couple of bucks in the long run?

my one nv apply pressure width-wise at the vamp :S
lidat means nid buy 1 size bigger le ah for my shoe tree

makav31i

my one nv apply pressure width-wise at the vamp :S
lidat means nid buy 1 size bigger le ah for my shoe tree

I read somewhere that you should always buy a shoe tree half size or 1 size bigger than the shoe..

Alternative to shoe tree

Another cheap alternative to shoe tree is newspapers. When I go travel. I stuffed newspapers into the shoes to keep them in shape instead of carrying heavy shoe tree around. The secret is out and my apology for people who is trying to sell shoe tree to make a buck here. :D:D:D:D

-nzy90

Another cheap alternative to shoe tree is newspapers. When I go travel. I stuffed newspapers into the shoes to keep them in shape instead of carrying heavy shoe tree around. The secret is out and my apology for people who is trying to sell shoe tree to make a buck here. :D:D:D:D

Used to do that when I was a student. But realised that newspapers can't help to keep the shape of the shoe. Only help to draw out the moisture. Anyway the cheaper shoe trees are only $40-$50. Less than 10% of the cost of the shoe. Might as well just spend it.

archangle13

Used to do that when I was a student. But realised that newspapers can't help to keep the shape of the shoe. Only help to draw out the moisture. Anyway the cheaper shoe trees are only $40-$50. Less than 10% of the cost of the shoe. Might as well just spend it.

Yea, better to buy a good fitting pair of shoe trees. The shoes may not last, but the trees should last long enough to be used for your next pair.

Did you compact them into the shoe?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.