Xbox One vs PS4

addictzz

Before this turned out into a console war, I just want to know, has TS decided which console he will buy?

tidiii

Hi there,

I did some research but am still very confused, I understand this probably comes up a lot but will appreciate any help at all.

I've never owned a console before, (and am only looking for one due to Dota2's ridiculous new UI). Basically I'm looking to play Fifa 17 (and every version after) and GTA V.

I understand that with Xbox you have to pay a monthly subscription just to play fifa online? Don't really understand all these different tiers of subscriptions and what not.

Both consoles seem to have been out for some time now, but which will have more longevity?

There is a great deal on xbox one student, $309 bundled with fifa17 and is really tempting.
From what I can see, PS4 prices are all around ~$500-600.

Please help! thank you :)

ignore the 2 ppl quarreling here

to decide what console u wan to buy, just see the exclusives...
if u dun like the games on the console, nothing to going to justify the 400-600$ pricetag on the machine. nobody gives a damn if the controller got battery or not.

if u dun wan to play any games on it, then it is just a very expensive brick. the ps4/xbox controller they r quarreling about, without any games, its just an expensive piece of plastic...

both xbone and ps4 need to pay monthly to play online...so no diff there.

tbh if u got a good pc, why not jus play your fifa on pc? iirc fifa on pc no need monthly fee..FM also on pc..

GTA V/online also on pc free multi...on ps4/xbone u need pay monthly...

anyway right now the ps4 is the consoles with the better exclusive games

kNiGhTseVen

ignore the 2 ppl quarreling here

to decide what console u wan to buy, just see the exclusives...
if u dun like the games on the console, nothing to going to justify the 400-600$ pricetag on the machine. nobody gives a damn if the controller got battery or not.

if u dun wan to play any games on it, then it is just a very expensive brick. the ps4/xbox controller they r quarreling about, without any games, its just an expensive piece of plastic...

both xbone and ps4 need to pay monthly to play online...so no diff there.

tbh if u got a good pc, why not jus play your fifa on pc? iirc fifa on pc no need monthly fee..FM also on pc..

GTA V/online also on pc free multi...on ps4/xbone u need pay monthly...

anyway right now the ps4 is the consoles with the better exclusive games

Are you sure no difference? Or you just another wealthy guy who owns many GTX titan :s13:

I just brought PS4 slim to my cousin but for me I came to know a lot American friends which I know online play more on xbox

because I want a refresh feel to play online on console.

After gaming on PC.

Last time I use to own P2 slowly find it bored as playing with AI than come PC online gaming trend I switch to PC gaming.

:s34: now is should I wait or just buy xbox 1?

I don't want wait it just last for 3 to 5 years wow lau need to buy new console again.

I don't realy fancy 4k , important is content of the game as I slowly came to know xbox games more suit for me play online

one thing I worry is wifi connection as I prefer wifi connection , on 500mbps , got two computers , one tablets two phones connect to my home wifi

so now come wifi console gaming wonder will lag? bandwidth enough? as I using 5oombps.

Swordsman

i hardly play online on console (ps4)

the reason i pay for the subscription is occasionally there are some good games that are free to grab or for the plus logo :s13::s13:

when comes down to it, it's whether the exclusives of the console can pull you towards xbox1 or ps4.

want to play 3rd party games, just hoot pc version if you have a decent system.

not sure this list of console exclusive is accurate or not.

Xbox One Exclusive

Retail
[Import] Azito x Tatsunoko Legends (Hamster)
Forza Motorsport 5 (Microsoft)
Forza Motorsport 6 (Microsoft)
Halo: The Master Chief Collection (Microsoft)
Halo 5: Guardians (Microsoft)
Powerstar Golf (Microsoft)
Rare Replay (Microsoft)
Sunset Overdrive (Microsoft)

PS4 Exclusive

Retail
Bloodborne (SIE)
[Import] Crows: Burning Edge (Bandai Namco)
[Import | English] Dead or Alive Xtreme 3: Fortune (Koei Tecmo)
Disgaea 5: Alliance of Vengeance (NIS America)
Driveclub (SIE)
[Import] God Eater Off Shot Cross-Play Pack & Anime Vol. 1-7 (Bandai Namco)
inFAMOUS: Second Son (SIE)
[Import] The Idolmaster: Platinum Stars (Bandai Namco)
Killzone: Shadow Fall (SIE)
The King of Fighters XIV (Atlus)
Knack (SIE)
Kromaia Omega (Rising Star Games)
The Last Guardian (SIE)
Nights of Azure (Koei Tecmo)
Omega Quintet (Idea Factory International)
The Order: 1886 (SIE)
Ratchet & Clank (SIE)
Star Ocean: Integrity and Faithlessness (Square Enix)
Tearaway Unfolded (SIE)
Touhou Genso Rondo: Bullet Ballet (NIS America)
Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection (SIE)
Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End (SIE)
Until Dawn (SIE)
Wild Guns Reloaded (Natsume)
The Witch and the Hundred Knight: Revival Edition (NIS America)

PierceLee

not sure this list of console exclusive is accurate or not.
Check this list of ps4 games, it's color coded, easy to see which ones are exclusive:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_PlayStation_4_games

There are currently 1287 games on this list. Below is an exclusivity breakdown as of December 4, 2016:
Exclusive = 113
Console exclusive = 380
Timed = 35
Multiplatform = 681

And here's corresponding list of Xbone games:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Xbox_One_games

There are currently 992 games on this list. Below is an exclusivity breakdown as of December 21, 2016:
Exclusive = 33
Console exclusive = 121
Multiplatform = 823

(Multiplatform means "Available on multiple consoles", not counting PC)

qwertified

Before this turned out into a console war, I just want to know, has TS decided which console he will buy?

Yeah, page 3 lol. He's getting xb1, its the cheaper option as i suggested, furthermore he intends to play previous versions of fifa which may include PS3/XB360 versions i suppose.. ? That is like 4-5 versions earlier, not a fifa fan don't really see the point of that lol.

There's no point arguing so much about xb1 and ps4 goods and bads if they don't even appeal to the potential buyer, what xb1 online service better, controller better la, ps4 bigger game library, better graphics la. The fella didn't even ask for these things. He's only concerned about the console price to play the game he wants to play. And being a PC gamer as well (he mentioned dota 2), i'm sure he knows to some extent what kind of games are available out there.

PierceLee

Yeah, page 3 lol. He's getting xb1, its the cheaper option as i suggested, furthermore he intends to play previous versions of fifa which may include PS3 versions i suppose.. ? That is like 4-5 versions earlier, not a fifa fan don't really see the point of that lol.

There's no point arguing so much about xb1 and ps4 goods and bads if they don't even appeal to the potential buyer, what xb1 online service better, controller better la, ps4 bigger game library, better graphics la. The fella didn't even ask for these things. He's only concerned about the console price to play the game he wants to play. And being a PC gamer as well (he mentioned dota 2), i'm sure he knows to some extent what kind of games are available out there.
Even though it is one person asking the question, on a forum like this it is never about that one person. Have to consider there are a hundred lurkers reading it (this thread now has 1400+ views). If someone spreads misinformation here, then maybe ten people will get the wrong idea, and then they go tell twenty people... power to the internet. And these people may not have the same criteria as the person asking, so what is right for one person may be wrong for those who would get misled. While we may try very hard not to be drawn into the multiple xbot troll baits, one would eventually decide enough is enough, have to say something to stop the misinformation.

Swordsman

Check this list of ps4 games, it's color coded, easy to see which ones are exclusive:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_PlayStation_4_games

There are currently 1287 games on this list. Below is an exclusivity breakdown as of December 4, 2016:
Exclusive = 113
Console exclusive = 380
Timed = 35
Multiplatform = 681

And here's corresponding list of Xbone games:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Xbox_One_games

There are currently 992 games on this list. Below is an exclusivity breakdown as of December 21, 2016:
Exclusive = 33
Console exclusive = 121
Multiplatform = 823

(Multiplatform means "Available on multiple consoles", not counting PC)

when i mean exclusive.. i mean it released on that specific console only, so those remastered **** don't count as it have released on an earlier console before.

qwertified

when i mean exclusive.. i mean it released on that specific console only, so those remastered **** don't count as it have released on an earlier console before.

That one you filter yourself la lol. Technically the remasters are also exclusives ma, not everybody owns previous consoles or played those previous versions. Like yakuza kiwami is exclusive to me even tho the original was from ps2 and i didn't play it back then.

Swordsman

ok fair enough. you got a good point too. games like God of war 3 remastered and valkyrie profile remastered and last of us remastered are ps4 exclusive too.

That one you filter yourself la lol. Technically the remasters are also exclusives ma, not everybody owns previous consoles or played those previous versions. Like yakuza kiwami is exclusive to me even tho the original was from ps2 and i didn't play it back then.

I buy PS4 for my cousin, go his house play he also buy some games.

Actually why I prefer X box it seem x box have more games like GTA style. Correct me if I wrong.

also on FIFA 17 x box seem platform seem more popular perhaps due to EA sport.

to me is like x box is for Americans

PS 4 is for Asian

but is unviversal as I do know Americans also love PS4 that why some folks own two , one xbox , one ps 4 can't decide or they want to play both

for most of us only just one either x box or PS 4 .

actually I also decided which one should I go for.

I check XBOX live gold one year is 84+ roughly off is 85 bucks

PS 4 I don't know how much also never ask my cousin.

let say for me case , I like GTV style of games.....
x box will be better off for me?

I don't fancy what Final Fantasy , Yakuza ( a bit like GTA ) Etc Japanese title.

I more onto Ang mo Games like GTA. so my best bet for future is x box one??

PierceLee

What is 'GTA style' game? Can you give some examples, especially those that are on xbox, or tell us what you like about GTA? Hard to recommend without knowing more (cos you don't seem to like Yakuza, which you say is a bit like GTA). I can safely say that most of the big open world games (perhaps some similarity to GTA) are multi-platform. I can't think of any Xbox exclusive, unless you count open world racing game like Forza Horizon as something GTA style.

For online games like FIFA (and GTA), I don't know if there is any verified/published numbers (instead of someone just making up sweeping statements) showing which platform is more popular, but honestly it doesn't matter. Big games like FIFA, you will always be able find random ppl to play with, you will be able to play with friends/cousin. Who cares if one platform has 80k players each day and the other side has 100k. You are not going to regret it becos wah lau I cannot play with all that 20k ppl, I already played with each and every one of the 80k liao, now I run out of ppl to play with.

Xbox for americans, ps4 for asian? I don't know what gave you that impression but it's totally false. PS4 outsells xbone worldwide.

PS4's subscription (called Playstation Plus) is SGD 43.90 per year, if you subscribe to SG/Asia.

What is 'GTA style' game? Can you give some examples, especially those that are on xbox, or tell us what you like about GTA? Hard to recommend without knowing more (cos you don't seem to like Yakuza, which you say is a bit like GTA). I can safely say that most of the big open world games (perhaps some similarity to GTA) are multi-platform. I can't think of any Xbox exclusive, unless you count open world racing game like Forza Horizon as something GTA style.

For online games like FIFA (and GTA), I don't know if there is any verified/published numbers (instead of someone just making up sweeping statements) showing which platform is more popular, but honestly it doesn't matter. Big games like FIFA, you will always be able find random ppl to play with, you will be able to play with friends/cousin. Who cares if one platform has 80k players each day and the other side has 100k. You are not going to regret it becos wah lau I cannot play with all that 20k ppl, I already played with each and every one of the 80k liao, now I run out of ppl to play with.

Xbox for americans, ps4 for asian? I don't know what gave you that impression but it's totally false. PS4 outsells xbone worldwide.

PS4's subscription (called Playstation Plus) is SGD 43.90 per year, if you subscribe to SG/Asia.

so it means subscribe to SG/Asia only can play with Asia people?

well I see x box games seem more towards my likes ...

problem is don't know wise to buy now...I got some work to settle first before got much free time to play

last time I miss x box one got GTV bundle now don't have if really want need to order from amazon.

also GTV 6 rumours coming in 2018 which is just one year from now....I for see x box or perhaps ps 4 will come out GTV bundles ....maybe even with GTV V etc

well that is only I suspect...

also need to scout a tv . Because I see my living room led tv already few years no doubt still working ..I was thinking to upgrade to 49 inch build in digital turner for my living room than move this present old 42 inch to my bedroom. Problem this presently living room tv I need to connect DTV 2 turner decoder box , left one spare HDMII port but stated ARC , I have ask around a lot claim no problem if you plug console to that HDMI ( ARC ) port to play

lo seem like buying stuffs also need to think :s34: so what's your recommendation??

I don't fancy about 4k stuffs to be frank but problem I don't present x box one or PS4 slim will last how long. Recently you can see both console selling even cheaper perhaps due to Christmas period

and x box one S and PS 4 pro also price attractive , can tell they want to push people go upgrade to x box one s or PS 4 pro for that 4k stuffs ( no doubt a lot gamers claim just a gimmick to suck people money )

so what do you think?

I actually want to play GTV and Fifa on my computer but too slow for it ..or else I will not consider console stuff. I use to own Atari , Nintendo , SEGA and PS 2 ...than play CS , Dota etc on pc but slowly don't game much due to work etc

:s22::( headache Sia lol...

PierceLee

If you subscribe SG PS+, doesn't mean you can only play with SG/Asia ppl. Having a subscription (in any region) just gives you access to online gaming. There are many factors determining whether you can play with ppl outside Asia and it's different by each game. Most of those games that you go in, start a match, the game goes do its matchmaking, find random players to put into the same match to play. The game developers want to give players a good experience, so the matchmaking will try to put ppl in same country together or those with similar ping count together. (You don't want to get into a match with some guy having very slow internet connection and you see him teleporting everywhere, spoils your game experience. You also don't want to get into a match with all Japanese or Koreans with super super fast internet and you get pwn.) So leave it to the developer to matchmake you, doesn't really matter you play with Asians or angmohs, rt? Some games do let you select the server then you can choose region. Some games like GTA don't have a lobby where you start match, you just go into your own game, you are put into an 'instance' of the open world, other random players will also be in the same world. You can't choose what country players are in your world but again it doesn't matter.

What matters is, any time of the day, when you want to play, the game can connect you with other players to play together. (Hopefully the developer does a good job with matchmaking to give everyone an optimal experience.) What matter is, if you have friends/relatives playing the same game, you can play together (and most such big online games have the function for friends to team together, or go one-on-one with each other). Maybe you know an American when playing COD and you guys want to play Battlefield together... you can. So generally, don't worry about country/region, unless there are reports (especially in this forum) that certain game has certain issues.

Important thing though, games are typically do not matchmake across platforms. So for ppl with multiple platforms, usually when they buy a game, the deciding factor is really if most of my friends are buying ps4 ver of the game, i also buy ps4. By the same principle, if playing online is very important to you, if you want to play with your cousin and he has ps4, or you want to play with classmates/colleagues and they are on ps4, then get ps4, and vice versa. Following the crowd is not always wise or logical (ask those who bought a Wii to gather dust) but if being with the crowd is important to you then so be it.

When you say xbox games seem to appeal more to you, make sure you are looking at xbox EXCLUSIVE games, cos most big games are available on both. (There are sites that do side-by-side comparison of multi-platform games, more often than not, the ps4 version performs better.) Check the 2 lists I linked above, see whether those games are exclusive. Or another easier way, go to Amazon here: https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=lp_646...269011&ie=UTF8&qid=1482709199&rnid=6469269011 (xbox one game catalog)

Browse through the games, if you see something you are interested in, click on it to open the product page, then on the platform button to see what platforms it is available on (depends which Amazon page format you randomly get, some will list all the platforms, dont have to click a drop-down button). This will give you a feel of what games the xbox offers, and whether there are specific exclusive games that interest you. Do the same with PS4 game to see what they have there:
https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=lp_642...814011&ie=UTF8&qid=1482711001&rnid=6427814011 (ps4 game catalog). See which side appeals to you more.

If you subscribe SG PS+, doesn't mean you can only play with SG/Asia ppl. Having a subscription (in any region) just gives you access to online gaming. There are many factors determining whether you can play with ppl outside Asia and it's different by each game. Most of those games that you go in, start a match, the game goes do its matchmaking, find random players to put into the same match to play. The game developers want to give players a good experience, so the matchmaking will try to put ppl in same country together or those with similar ping count together. (You don't want to get into a match with some guy having very slow internet connection and you see him teleporting everywhere, spoils your game experience. You also don't want to get into a match with all Japanese or Koreans with super super fast internet and you get pwn.) So leave it to the developer to matchmake you, doesn't really matter you play with Asians or angmohs, rt? Some games do let you select the server then you can choose region. Some games like GTA don't have a lobby where you start match, you just go into your own game, you are put into an 'instance' of the open world, other random players will also be in the same world. You can't choose what country players are in your world but again it doesn't matter.

What matters is, any time of the day, when you want to play, the game can connect you with other players to play together. (Hopefully the developer does a good job with matchmaking to give everyone an optimal experience.) What matter is, if you have friends/relatives playing the same game, you can play together (and most such big online games have the function for friends to team together, or go one-on-one with each other). Maybe you know an American when playing COD and you guys want to play Battlefield together... you can. So generally, don't worry about country/region, unless there are reports (especially in this forum) that certain game has certain issues.

Important thing though, games are typically do not matchmake across platforms. So for ppl with multiple platforms, usually when they buy a game, the deciding factor is really if most of my friends are buying ps4 ver of the game, i also buy ps4. By the same principle, if playing online is very important to you, if you want to play with your cousin and he has ps4, or you want to play with classmates/colleagues and they are on ps4, then get ps4, and vice versa. Following the crowd is not always wise or logical (ask those who bought a Wii to gather dust) but if being with the crowd is important to you then so be it.

When you say xbox games seem to appeal more to you, make sure you are looking at xbox EXCLUSIVE games, cos most big games are available on both. (There are sites that do side-by-side comparison of multi-platform games, more often than not, the ps4 version performs better.) Check the 2 lists I linked above, see whether those games are exclusive. Or another easier way, go to Amazon here: https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=lp_646...269011&ie=UTF8&qid=1482709199&rnid=6469269011 (xbox one game catalog)

Browse through the games, if you see something you are interested in, click on it to open the product page, then on the platform button to see what platforms it is available on (depends which Amazon page format you randomly get, some will list all the platforms, dont have to click a drop-down button). This will give you a feel of what games the xbox offers, and whether there are specific exclusive games that interest you. Do the same with PS4 game to see what they have there:
https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=lp_642...814011&ie=UTF8&qid=1482711001&rnid=6427814011 (ps4 game catalog). See which side appeals to you more.

thanks for your info bro.

console wise is easy to settle

actually is on LED tv. My present living room LED tv is still working fine. I not the latest whereby got digital turner build in. Presently one HDMI port is for DVT2 digital decorder box.

same apply for my bedroom LCD tv is a small like 17inch Samsung LCD tv which relative give. Only got one HDMI port which I connect to another Digital box to recevived local HD channels but CH U can't received perhaps is it an old LCD tv unlike my living room 42 inch is able to.

I was thinking to buy a new LED tv with digital turner to replace my living room tv and swap

the present LED tv at living room I will use to play console games in my bedroom but my parents say kinda hmmmm I know what they mean here. Is kinda waste money since living room LED tv still working fine.

I don't mind cannot watch local tv in my bedroom , just that worry is this old LCD tv perhaps can't work for either x box or PS 4 . I haven't try yet as my cousin might be bring his PS4 come my house play.

I know some gamers will claim small tv play games not nice , you can't view a lot of stuffs .
But in practical usage wise since my TV is there why don't unities it

as mention just worry the old LCD tv even thought got HDMI port but don't know xbox or PS4 can work with it. Image wise I doubt got much difference right? I don't aim 4k here just for a gameplay

Over graphics still be look quite reasonable etc on an old LCD TV?

Providence

LOL. Here we are talking about consoles, you trying to derail into battery issue :s13: I did mentioned battery but not asking for help from you also :s13: You trying hard to show your hatred :s13: I love you noob :s13: You have PSN ID or GT? Wanna share? :D Based on your credibility, you just running a clone account to troll people :s13:

Cool down, bro! :)

Actually, a console is just a console regardless of the brand/model. Xbox and PS have their own advantages and disadvantages in my opinion. No console can be 100% better than its competitor. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.