Xiaomi Box Android TV Box

rECKleSSfElla

Thanks for the advice.
Did not know the black one was google supported. Does it come with Android TV OS (google support) if buy direct from Taobao?

Btw, i always thought the white one 小米盒子3 was the latest considering its more expensive RMB399 compared to the black 小米盒子3s RMB299!!! I assume the OS is similar to the mini box 小米盒子mini版 RMB179 which i've been using. The Mini is perfect for kodi .. cept i have never successfully gotten it to run Google.

To me .

International version = stock android tv 6.0. Released for non-china markets(mainly USA)

Mibox 3s/c with patchwall A.I = miui tv skinned based on android 5.0/6.0. Released only for china domestic market.

White one costs more becuz it has the best hardware. For e.g. the mibox 3s/c, even though is the newest available model, comes with s905x soc which is a lousier and cheaper version of s905 soc but provides support for hdr and better 4k decoding.

Again, feels like i have said this for the 10000th time, if you want default english interface and stock android tv 6.0 system, get the international version but local seller prices are really marked-up(about $150 on qoo10).

galliano

International version = stock android tv 6.0. Released for non-china markets(mainly USA)

Mibox 3s/c with patchwall A.I = miui tv skinned based on android 5.0/6.0. Released only for china domestic market.

White one costs more becuz it has the best hardware. For e.g. the mibox 3s/c, even though is the newest available model, comes with s905x soc which is a lousier and cheaper version of s905 soc but provides support for hdr and better 4k decoding.

Again, feels like i have said this for the 10000th time, if you want default english interface and stock android tv 6.0 system, get the international version but local seller prices are really marked-up(about $150 on qoo10).

Thanks mate.
I know how to convert to English (e.g., using launchers). Had some experience with Mini box before.

So if I'm looking for ease of use of Google in a new Xiaomi box .. my only option is the International version? Does the standard 3S come with Google already w/o having to install Play.apk and such.

So i assume this guy selling the 5th gen is out of question.
http://list.qoo10.sg/item/READY-STOCK-XIAOMI-TV-BOX-3S-6TH-GEN-ANDROID-INTERNET-TV-BOX/453200552

rECKleSSfElla

Thanks mate.
I know how to convert to English (e.g., using launchers). Had some experience with Mini box before.

So if I'm looking for ease of use of Google in a new Xiaomi box .. my only option is the International version? Does the standard 3S come with Google already w/o having to install Play.apk and such.

So i assume this guy selling the 5th gen is out of question.
http://list.qoo10.sg/item/READY-STOCK-XIAOMI-TV-BOX-3S-6TH-GEN-ANDROID-INTERNET-TV-BOX/453200552

The so called 5th gen is an older version of mibox 3 based on s905. The mibox 3s/c is a "refreshed" version based on s905x. As long its released for china domestic market, you will have to assume it doesnt come with google services/framework/apps installed. Why not just get any generic tv box in the market if you die die need google out of the box. There's really minimal advantage in getting a mibox compared to other china tv boxes.

galliano

. Why not just get any generic tv box in the market if you die die need google out of the box. There's really minimal advantage in getting a mibox compared to other china tv boxes.

True. Agree w u. Just that this talk on white vs black sparked some curousity.

Using my trusted Apple TV for the last few months with Kodi sideload of course. Thinking of playing w new Android box.

Knight_Rider

The so called 5th gen is an older version of mibox 3 based on s905. The mibox 3s/c is a "refreshed" version based on s905x. As long its released for china domestic market, you will have to assume it doesnt come with google services/framework/apps installed. Why not just get any generic tv box in the market if you die die need google out of the box. There's really minimal advantage in getting a mibox compared to other china tv boxes.

Because the new Xiaomi is one of the few that is equip with HDR and runs Android TV and is cheap. Any generic TV box is mobile version and the view on TV sucks. Very good example LETV. Have you seen how compressed the screen is?

Knight_Rider

True. Agree w u. Just that this talk on white vs black sparked some curousity.

Using my trusted Apple TV for the last few months with Kodi sideload of course. Thinking of playing w new Android box.

I am keen because of HDR plus Android TV. Lost a few hair installing google service in the old xiaomi box. Not impossible but your hacking skill must be above average.

rECKleSSfElla

Because the new Xiaomi is one of the few that is equip with HDR and runs Android TV and is cheap. Any generic TV box is mobile version and the view on TV sucks. Very good example LETV. Have you seen how compressed the screen is?

Yawns........not everybody gives a shiat about google services/apps and there are alternatives to go about installing it, albeit its troublesome. Also things like android tv os and hdr isnt that big of a deal or appealing to most noob users who dont even know what they mean or dont have the relevant chain of hardware to fully utiliz it. And the price for the global version is not even cheap. The lowest you can find online is about USD$80 which after conversion equals ~$$115, thats similar to minix prices. End of the day, just buy according to your budget and requirements. Both a $50 and $115 tv box serves mostly the same purpose, but it doesnt necessarily mean the $115 box is the better one.

imacbie

fan should be good because make the hardware not so hot.
fan inside can be problematic.
better to get a dedicated small desktop fan and point it at the hardware when operating if u find the box getting warm to the touch

Knight_Rider

Wow I didn't know you represent everybody that like to buy android box that cannot play YouTube. Bravo.

Yawns........not everybody gives a shiat about google services/apps and there are alternatives to go about installing it, albeit its troublesome. Also things like android tv os and hdr isnt that big of a deal or appealing to most noob users who dont even know what they mean or dont have the relevant chain of hardware to fully utiliz it. And the price for the global version is not even cheap. The lowest you can find online is about USD$80 which after conversion equals ~$$115, thats similar to minix prices. End of the day, just buy according to your budget and requirements. Both a $50 and $115 tv box serves mostly the same purpose, but it doesnt necessarily mean the $115 box is the better one.

Knight_Rider

We talking about China vs international Xiaomi box you talk minix for what?

rECKleSSfElla

Wow I didn't know you represent everybody that like to buy android box that cannot play YouTube. Bravo.

We talking about China vs international Xiaomi box you talk minix for what?

Please speak for yourself. Just becuz you think hdr and google service means something to you doesnt mean it appeals to everyone else. Also, advance users will have the knowledge and the means to circumvent not having google services and apps and youtube on their tv boxes. For noob users, they can simply get any $50 tv box which has google and youtube installed by default. Dont need a $120 box to do the job of a $50 box.

Also, just stfu and gtfo if you cant come up with a valid argument and retort. I bring minix into the picture becuz they are one of the more pricey tv box brands in the market and dont know who is the one who seem to think $120 is "cheap" when its similar to minix pricing. Pls dont reply to my comments anymore if you cant even read and comprehend the context i am talking about.

Knight_Rider

Wow resorting to vulgarities to win an argument. Very beng I very scared. Ok you win lor.

Please speak for yourself. Just becuz you think hdr and google service means something to you doesnt mean it appeals to everyone else. Also, advance users will have the knowledge and the means to circumvent not having google services and apps and youtube on their tv boxes. For noob users, they can simply get any $50 tv box which has google and youtube installed by default. Dont need a $120 box to do the job of a $50 box.

Also, just stfu and gtfo if you cant come up with a valid argument and retort. I bring minix into the picture becuz they are one of the more pricey tv box brands in the market and dont know who is the one who seem to think $120 is "cheap" when its similar to minix pricing. Pls dont reply to my comments anymore if you cant even read and comprehend the context i am talking about.

Knight_Rider

So you dun even know letv and the rest of the apps are in mobile format and there you go asking people to STFU. I think you should GTFO too.

rECKleSSfElla

Not gonna dignify the nincompoop with another direct response. Dont know why people like him wanna stay in the kitchen even though they cant stand the heat. Start playing victim card when they run out of logical arguments. Dont know who is the one who keeps bringing him and only his own needs to the picture.
"ME ME ME! I want hdr. I want android tv os. I want google services. I dont want chinese interface." But yet said person dont even own the box itself. Boh box ai gong wei. I leave it up to the others to decide who's talking sense here and who's arguing just for the sake of arguing. To said person, keep living in your own world. PEACE OUT YO~

delceer

I find that you a bit rude in the forum. Cheers.

gregory_choo

Found that you are a little rude too. so you two can make good friend :s13:

uUclMqL.png

;;;
;;;
by the way, what is insulation proof for lan cable? something new, I want to learn. :o
;
;
;

rECKleSSfElla

And your point being? Why you wanna jio jio when it doesnt concern you?

Found that you are a little rude too. so you two can make good friend :s13:

by the way, what is insulation proof for lan cable? something new, I want to learn. :o
;
;
;

Mai lai lah. You and your admins in your fb grp are pretty harsh and rude to those tv box noobs who join your group. Maybe we can all be friends.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.