Xiaomi Mi Max - Part 2

kelvinti

Mi Max 2......My hope is just that the camera for low light can be improved just that little bit lah! :s22:

zenify.me

Mi Max already so good for day to day use, I really wonder how they will make it even better. I don't expect 4k screen resolution on mobile phone, neither DSLR camera features, those things will overkill :D
Probably going to keep my mi Max, big screen big battery, has official nougat MIUI and custom ROM support. Successor probably not a major upgrade. If it comes with a USB C I would be tempted but knowing the current trend of redmi i think it will stick with micro usb.

pokipoki08

Camera users rejoice!!! Mi Max 2 features 12MP Sony IMX378 sensor with larger aperture

latest Mi Max 2 rumors:

Qualcomm Snapdragon 626 chip
12MP Sony IMX378 sensor but with a larger aperture in order to get better camera effect
5000mAh battery
Mi Max 2 price may be adjusted slightly but will still fall between 1499 Yuan (SGD 305) and 1699 Yuan (SGD 346)
4GB & 6GB models

personal note:
- NO dual camera, coz I saw the phone case at Chinese manufacturer website
- gonna wait for 3GB version, hoping price will be SGD 250-290

Is it an upgrade or downgrade in terms of

performance?
battery?
value?

What do u think?

Which is the recommended Xiaomi models for each category?

Value?
Battery?
Performance?
Camera

I'm curious about Antutu benchmarks between older SD652 vs SD626

cscs3

Mi Max already so good for day to day use, I really wonder how they will make it even better. I don't expect 4k screen resolution on mobile phone, neither DSLR camera features, those things will overkill :D

Add NFC, dual SIM with additional SD slot?

DRAGONGUY

latest Mi Max 2 rumors:

Qualcomm Snapdragon 626 chip
12MP Sony IMX378 sensor but with a larger aperture in order to get better camera effect
5000mAh battery
Mi Max 2 price may be adjusted slightly but will still fall between 1499 Yuan (SGD 305) and 1699 Yuan (SGD 346)
4GB & 6GB models

personal note:
- NO dual camera, coz I saw the phone case at Chinese manufacturer website
- gonna wait for 3GB version, hoping price will be SGD 250-290

Is it an upgrade or downgrade in terms of

performance?
battery?
value?

What do u think?

Which is the recommended Xiaomi models for each category?

Value?
Battery?
Performance?
Camera

I'm curious about Antutu benchmarks between older SD652 vs SD626

Oh my, I was hoping they throw in sd660 instead.....

Though the rumored specs, at least they touch up on the camera buy using branded ones instead of china oems type.

Consider half ****ed up upgrade ba, processor higher, newer sd but lower graphics and might have nfc i guess. (**** = vulgarity)

pokipoki08

Though the rumored specs, at least they touch up on the camera buy using branded ones instead of china oems type.

Consider half ****ed up upgrade ba, processor higher, newer sd but lower graphics and might have nfc i guess. (**** = vulgarity)

Yes, it's really lame, but the most blame should be put on Qualcomm instead. They have no chips for OEMs to launch on time.

Mi Max 2 should really use Snapdragon 660, that'll do justice to the model.

Either Mediatek buck up in quality & cpu features, or rely on Xiaomi in house Pinecone processor, which I hope will improve in future.

amazingone

SD660 is rumored to debut on the OPPO R11 first.

Sent from an Xperia using GAGT

Oinkize

Yes, it's really lame, but the most blame should be put on Qualcomm instead. They have no chips for OEMs to launch on time.

Mi Max 2 should really use Snapdragon 660, that'll do justice to the model.

Either Mediatek buck up in quality & cpu features, or rely on Xiaomi in house Pinecone processor, which I hope will improve in future.

I beg to differ.

It's the manufacturer duty to discuss with the processor maker and see if the product can meet the available date.

If they still want to launch a new product without the processor being available, then it's the manufacturer's decision.

No one is at fault.

pokipoki08

I beg to differ.

It's the manufacturer duty to discuss with the processor maker and see if the product can meet the available date.

If they still want to launch a new product without the processor being available, then it's the manufacturer's decision.

No one is at fault.

Month of May is in line with Mi Max release, but there's no chips from Qualcomm. Switching to another chip model affects sales, price & product positioning. Xiaomi don't have the muscle, unlike Samsung who can hog the processors for themselves.

Launching a new product release without much offering from previous version is pointless, only to lose money & customers (old or potential). But sadly, that is the trend this year to date. Check out other OEMs, not much value in new launches, just a mild rehash.

Oinkize

Month of May is in line with Mi Max release, but there's no chips from Qualcomm. Switching to another chip model affects sales, price & product positioning. Xiaomi don't have the muscle, unlike Samsung who can hog the processors for themselves.

Launching a new product release without much offering from previous version is pointless, only to lose money & customers (old or potential). But sadly, that is the trend this year to date. Check out other OEMs, not much value in new launches, just a mild rehash.

Like i say, all this are manufacturer's decision. If they choose to release a product, they should know what is available to them. If they still want to follow their own timeline then that's their choice.

Same goes for the os version. Most manufacturers will still release phones with an older version even though google has announced a new version.

They choose to release it with an older version than to wait and release it with the most current version.

It's up to the consumers to decide to buy or not.

ZrE0_Cha0s

this is my opinion, just wait and see :D

rumors true or not, just wait for xiaomi ownself announces it, that way weather as they have say to improve or not many ppl can do a comparison on their own.

well yes normally when its comes to 2nd gen or their "upgrade" verison should be some what better/improved (slightly or huge upgrades...its all depends on the maker)

kelvinti

Hmmm...Why is that Mi Max 2 uses SD625, a lower SD chip than the current's SD650/652 ahh?:s11:

Correct info or not? It does not make sense leh...:s8:

pokipoki08

Well, I was disappointed too, but maybe we could hope SD660 will be used for the 6gb model?

Anyway, here are the rumor news #1 -- #2 (GFXBench: very obvious SD626 bcoz of Adreno 506)

Mi Max 2 phone case #1 -- #2 -- #3 (top : ir blaster is further away from 2nd mic, headphone jack -- bottom: usb-type-C cut out, back: no dual-camera)

amazingone

Hmmm...Why is that Mi Max 2 uses SD625, a lower SD chip than the current's SD650/652 ahh?:s11:

Correct info or not? It does not make sense leh...:s8:
Well, you can look to it as a more efficient processor.

Maybe it could be Xiaomi sacrificing performance for better efficiency, in terms of battery life etc. or it could be Xiaomi spending $$$ somewhere else, be it improving the camera hardware or maybe the inclusion of NFC.

kelvinti

Well, you can look to it as a more efficient processor.

Maybe it could be Xiaomi sacrificing performance for better efficiency, in terms of battery life etc. or it could be Xiaomi spending $$$ somewhere else, be it improving the camera hardware or maybe the inclusion of NFC.

If the main objective is to put a much better camera, then Okay! Chopped!

i1magic

Folks on official Global rom 8.2.1.0 / 8.2.3.0.

Is the My Transport app can be downloaded via Playstore already? :s11:

I ask because I'm not running the official Global rom.. I can't test it at the moment.

On Global Beta, can install "My Transport" app from Playstore liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.