Xiaomi Mi Max

kiwitan

Hi
I just got xiaomi max 64gb China ROM. How to change to. Global ROM?

I read currently this is not possible as the 64GB is not out yet?

tulipsgal

The restriction is on Lazada's side actually, all along, special codes like the SCB ones are typically single-use per account, you'll see this in all the T&Cs. The ones that didn't have that restriction were the dbs/posb friday and citi weekend 10/12% promos.
not true leh. I have used the code twice with abt 2 weeks interval, both time accepted.

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX using GAGT

luei74

So updating of any firmware i will need to do a backup as everything will be reset right?
As far as current Mi Max 32GB ROM is concern, YES. I'd yet to see Mi Recovery in Beta MIUI 6.8.18 coz of the locked boot-loader.

Hopefully when the final MIUI 8 is released they will un-lock the boot-loader. Then u can install via Updater app. Or through Mi Recovery.

I'm using the latest TWRP but still intermittently went into soft-bricked, got to use Mi Flash Beta to reflash the 6.8.18 (still not as stable as the Redmi Note 2, coming from Note 2)

Nakedtoes

As far as current Mi Max 32GB ROM is concern, YES. I'd yet to see Mi Recovery in Beta MIUI 6.8.18 coz of the locked boot-loader.

Hopefully when the final MIUI 8 is released they will un-lock the boot-loader. Then u can install via Updater app. Or through Mi Recovery.

I'm using the latest TWRP but still intermittently went into soft-bricked, got to use Mi Flash Beta to reflash the 6.8.18 (still not as stable as the Redmi Note 2, coming from Note 2)

i and few bro successfully using the updater app to flash recovery rom for miui 8 beta..

walkofwinners

So updating of any firmware i will need to do a backup as everything will be reset right?

actually no. if you are updating from an official rom via their updater app, by right your data won't be reset unless you kana some glitch.

when i flashed miui 8 beta over the custom rom which came with my phone when i first bought it, i reset the phone. after which, whenever i flashed or update the weekly updates via the updater app, my data was never deleted.

winorlose

https://www.hachi.tech/searching/index?q=mi+max

Mu8G8P0.png

Cant seem to pre-order as no results shown?

They taken down the products?

chiqing

actually no. if you are updating from an official rom via their updater app, by right your data won't be reset unless you kana some glitch.

when i flashed miui 8 beta over the custom rom which came with my phone when i first bought it, i reset the phone. after which, whenever i flashed or update the weekly updates via the updater app, my data was never deleted.

I have checked on the Updater app but there is no indication on the latest version available. Usually need to wait awhile?

skrw105

walkofwinners

I have checked on the Updater app but there is no indication on the latest version available. Usually need to wait awhile?

you gotta check a few things.

1) are you on an official miui rom or a custom reseller loaded rom?

2) if you are on a custom reseller rom then you gotta use miflash to manually flash the official rom cause you will not be able to receive ota

3) if you wanna flash miui 8, i would suggest you just wait a while for the official stable which should be out today or tmr

amazingone

sevensomerset

you gotta check a few things.

1) are you on an official miui rom or a custom reseller loaded rom?

2) if you are on a custom reseller rom then you gotta use miflash to manually flash the official rom cause you will not be able to receive ota

3) if you wanna flash miui 8, i would suggest you just wait a while for the official stable which should be out today or tmr

"… Redmi 1S, Mi 2/2S, Mi 4i, Redmi Note 3G, Redmi Note 4G will get OTA update on August 23rd. Updates for rest of the supported devices will be released progressively in the near future. We will keep you updated about further info, please stay tuned! …"

Seems liks MIUI8 not coming to mi max that soon, imo.

sevensomerset

Update as of 10.30pm:- Hachi.tech updated HardwareZone that due to overwhelming response, the inital batch for Xiaomi Mi Max pre-order has fully sold out. As such, pre-order has stopped until further notice.

Original news article as first published at 3.15pm is as follows:-

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech-news-xiaomi-mi-max-available-pre-orders-through-hachitech-s349

Why xiaomi dun release thriugh their official website?
Btw, vs export set, after promo code, price difference ~$100 sia… rather get export set…

icefox2004

"… Redmi 1S, Mi 2/2S, Mi 4i, Redmi Note 3G, Redmi Note 4G will get OTA update on August 23rd. Updates for rest of the supported devices will be released progressively in the near future. We will keep you updated about further info, please stay tuned! …"

Just curious. We those on miui 8 beta rom get OTA too?

icefox2004

Just curious. Will those on miui 8 beta rom get OTA too?

Hidy Ho

Real gold not afraid of fire. Satisfied customer is Mi Max's best advertisement ����

I was a OnePlus guy (1,2 and 3) before getting 128gb Mi Max (wanted a larger screen + battery life).

This battery is no joke ... I just charge it once a day where as OnePlus 3, I charge it twice a day (and bring powerbank whenever I'm out for a day). So far, performance is acceptable. I got it with China ROM with Google Play already installed and it works fine (after initial issue where I had to delete data and cache of Google and reboot).

Even if I paid "extra" for 128gb model, it's still good price.

I travel to USA for personal/work so will keep my OnePlus 2 or 3 (as a backup) as I'm not sure if Mi Max will work well with USA 4G. Right now, I have Thai and SG 4g sim cards and they both work fine in respective location.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.