Xiaomi Mi Max

ngbc

Some brave guys here already did and share the 'tips' if you search thru' this thread:

Did you pull out the entire metal piece from the SIM?

If yes, after removing, you'll still need to heat it up to remove as much glue as possible from the back of the metal portion. I put the SIM on a spoon and used a lighter. You could do a more controlled job, by using a heat gun.

Next, take a razor/pen-knife, put it at an incline, and start scraping off the glue. Takes a good 10-15 minutes, to carefully do so. The end result will be a wafer thin SIM, with a small protrusion at the centre of it.

Next, use a very thin double side tape and align it on the MicroSD (i didn't need to sand my MicroSD card) then put a small drop of superglue and spread it out like kaya on bread, after which, align your SIM onto the SD card.

Do note that there is increased resistance when slotting the SIM tray back for the first time. You'll need to do it slowly and gradually, lest you damage your SIM pins inside the phone.

After a while, I can however still take out the SIM tray with no issue, only slightly more resistance, but it is otherwise smooth (not like it's puling against the SIM pins)

Some photos of the final product FYI.
18LGK8il.jpg

wr0FqCVl.jpg

GDWqh6fl.jpg

Sent from LGE LG-H961N using GAGT

And here's the proof that it works *********
3OxWmtWl.png

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX using GAGT

x752zR.jpg
[/URL]
IJ6xIL.jpg
[/URL]

I finally did it after killing one Sim card.. Luckily first Sim replacement is free.. ******************

I sand down my SD card but i noticed without sanding SD card will work as well.. Good luck guys.. This is a damn good MOD for a damn budget but good phone..

P
E
R
F
E
C
T

ngbc

Can OTA on this 23rd ?
MIUI 8 Global Stable ROM won't be available for MiMax 32GB on 23rd Aug 2016.

http://en.miui.com/thread-330741-1-1.html

MIUI 8 Global Stable ROM Supported Devices
Redmi 1S, Redmi 2, Redmi 2 Prime, Redmi Note 3 Qualcomm, Redmi Note 3 Special Edition, Redmi Note 2, Redmi Note 3G, Redmi Note 4G, Redmi Note Prime, Redmi 3, Redmi 3S/Prime, Mi 2/2S, Mi 3, Mi 4, Mi 4i, Mi 5, Mi Note, Mi Max 32GB

Redmi 1S, Mi 2/2S, Mi 4i, Redmi Note 3G, Redmi Note 4G will get OTA update on August 23rd. Updates for rest of the supported devices will be released progressively in the near future. We will keep you updated about further info, please stay tuned!

kelvinti

The MUIU8 Official rom for Mi Max has to be released before 2nd September before Xiaomi or Challenger in that context, delivers the local set to the local buyers.:)

So, the wait will not be long after 23rd August! :)

Quick quick pre-order now. :)

jameshong

The MUIU8 Official rom for Mi Max has to be released before 2nd September before Xiaomi or Challenger in that context, delivers the local set to the local buyers.:)

So, the wait will not be long after 23rd August! :)

Quick quick pre-order now. :)

Dun know whether go for local or export one :s8:...

I have local redmi and redmi note for years and still running strong..:s12::s12::s12:!

jameshong

Does anyone know what is the $68 worth free gift consist of that pre-order mi max from challenger?

Phen8210

My GOLD Medal arriving today, and pre-order avail for local sets?? lol really xiao mi -.-""

kelvinti

Har? Then must do this for ALL apps meh??

Ya lor!

Go through all the Apps permission once and for all and check those apps that have the "Allows Pop Up Window" selection and enable them! :s22:

By default, they are OFF unless the Apps ask for it during installation and at 1st operation asking you to "Allow" it!

That's MIUI! Super tight security and permission than other brands! Very virgin! i like it that way! :s22: :D

DRAGONGUY

Anybody know what is the "Install via USB" part is for?

ZmEw0l7.jpg

This is for customed batch file for installing apk in one bunch type via desktop. Like for e.g. in en miui forums, there is one user created google apps for china rom to be install via desktop via .bat file in the early days of mi max....

Or any type of apps that require u to install on desktop to phone...

I believe all android have this functions, just that miui bring it out to the security app (normally under developer options)...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.