Xiaomi Mi Note

Edentan

The price sucks, seriously. There are cheaper SD801 devices now. With much better software.

kokitty

Launching on 28 Jul (next Tue), $569 white only 64GB. Will you buy?

http://www.mi.com/sg/minote/

NO, wouldn't buy. The pricing looks okay for the specs. But the software bugs of MIUI will still plague the phone and worst of all, Xiaomi has proven to be awful when it comes to supporting older models with updates.

Budget phone, my tolerance is very high since backup phone anyway. Anything more than $550 and meant to be daily driver... cannot trust Xiaomi. I would rather wait 2 or 3 more weeks for Samsung Note 4 to have a massive price drop after the announcement of Note 5.

JuXn5566

The price sucks, seriously. There are cheaper SD801 devices now. With much better software.
Why determine how great is the phone based on just processor only. Mi Note is built with great materials and HiFi audio which most phone doesn't have.
NO, wouldn't buy. The pricing looks okay for the specs. But the software bugs of MIUI will still plague the phone and worst of all, Xiaomi has proven to be awful when it comes to supporting older models with updates.

Budget phone, my tolerance is very high since backup phone anyway. Anything more than $550 and meant to be daily driver... cannot trust Xiaomi. I would rather wait 2 or 3 more weeks for Samsung Note 4 to have a massive price drop after the announcement of Note 5.
Shouldn't put your impressive on their budget phones to this phone. The software is not buggy on Mi note. True that note 4 will be a good alternative but only if same cost.

Sent from Xiaomi MI NOTE LTE using GAGT

amazingone

My thoughts: I feel that one should try the phone itself before making conclusions on how is it, since everyone has a different definition of 'smartphone' to them and after a tryout, you actually can have more choices to make a final decision.
It's not like you are limited to only one or few companies to get a smartphone, especially with many new phones coming now and then, eg. OnePlus Two, Galaxy Note 5/S6 edge+, iPhone 6s and many more.

my two cents. :)

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI 1s using GAGT

seasonscrystal

Xiaomi is no longer what it was. It used to be focus on MIUI while the phone is the secondary focus. Even the 1st Mi was focus on making a high end spec phone but at a fraction of the price of big name flagship. Now Xiaomi is just focus on selling products, their flagship prices based on specs they give are no longer as attractive.

From reviews, Mi4i has a lot of issues cos of SD615. TCL meme da 3S also uses SD615 an was plague with similar issues. While Xiaomi choose to continue selling Mi4i (even come out 32GB model) and ignore complains, TCL recall back 28,000 sets and took down the 3S model from their retail.

http://3sservice.tclclouds.com/

Having a Mi Note (64GB $569) now is like having a LG G3 (32GB $510 + 64GB microSD $40) when there's already a G4. I use G3 cos they seems similar to me=:p

outrun100

I got china set few months ago, and finally update the global rom today, get rid of mi store :s13: the phone work really well, battery is great, probably due to old processor.
But one thing to take note if you are buying this phone, the screen lcd sucks, i doubt they using cheap display. I read many reviews that deadpixel appear after few months.
And this happened to my note as well :( one big white spot on the screen :s22:

KWSquare

Xiaomi trying to establish themselves as atas brand liao... Previous gen chipset @ 569 is a bit Bo Hua leh - based on xiaomi pricing standard...

Mi3 is only selling @ 300 plus when it was first launched in our little red dot.

But then the good thing is, there is not much of a price gap when comparing the price they sell in china (2499rmb if I'm not wrong) than in sg.

Sent from LGE LG-D855 using GAGT

emgee

I would consider MiNote if I can install the latest CM in it.. The MIUI is otherwise a nightmare and destroying the good hardware.. Terrible!

JuXn5566

I got china set few months ago, and finally update the global rom today, get rid of mi store :s13: the phone work really well, battery is great, probably due to old processor.
But one thing to take note if you are buying this phone, the screen lcd sucks, i doubt they using cheap display. I read many reviews that deadpixel appear after few months.
How old is your phone exactly? Mine's was 3months old and no prob with the screen so far. Touch wood.

mun

I would consider MiNote if I can install the latest CM in it.. The MIUI is otherwise a nightmare and destroying the good hardware.. Terrible!

xiaomi exactly needs a good hardware to run their miui. if not, even worse. haha... :s13:

mun

If you have gotten a local set, you could have gone to the service centre for your issue :s8:

kokitty

Shouldn't put your impressive on their budget phones to this phone. The software is not buggy on Mi note. True that note 4 will be a good alternative but only if same cost.

The "wonderful" MIUI is buggy, the software logic is flawed... no matter premium or non premium. Remember "software" not hardware.

Street price for brand new set Note 4 now is about $710, historically prices will drop $100 to $130 once new model is released. Hence come 3 weeks from now, you could potentially get Note 4 at $600? Why bother with Mi Note at $569 then? :s13::s13::s13:

mun

Same 3 months lo, looking at it sian half

Maybe you can try to go local xiaomi service centre next week and see if they can help to resolve your screen issue with a cost. No harm trying, rather than leave it and become eye sore :s13:

mun

The "wonderful" MIUI is buggy, the software logic is flawed... no matter premium or non premium. Remember "software" not hardware.

Street price for brand new set Note 4 now is about $710, historically prices will drop $100 to $130 once new model is released. Hence come 3 weeks from now, you could potentially get Note 4 at $600? Why bother with Mi Note at $569 then? :s13::s13::s13:

ya, miui is too bloated. Only wish xiaomi could re-vamp the whole miui and keep it as close to stock as possible (like Samsung recently did for their touchwiz for s6/s6 edge) ;)

mun

nope.

anyway the release of mi note locally is a whole one year late & my interest in it have already died off :s13:

true for me as well. waited until so sian that I got myself S6 early this month. If only they have launched last month, I would definitely get one to try.

JuXn5566

How is MIUI buggy and flawed? It's just a skin that other manufacturer put on their phones as well. None of the reviews of the Mi note complaint about the software. To me it's still better than many other skins except HTC.
www.androidauthority.com/xiaomi-mi-note-review-594273/
This review actually said the software is intuitive.
nope.

anyway the release of mi note locally is a whole one year late & my interest in it have already died off :s13:
Fyi, it first goes on sale in January this year.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.