Xiaomi MiTV2 help

Devilsire

I tried until I gave up liao. Ever since from 1.1.82 (Stable) onwards, it is like that liao. If you add YouTube Add-On in Video on Kodi and watch YouTube from Kodi, the video is smooth. But on Kodi, I can't search by Chinese and Chinese words doesn't appear on Kodi.

Somebody posted a way to do it ... but the procedure seems to "chim" liao.

can search using pinyin / display chinese words. Cant remember exactly the steps, its a simple switch of the Fonts display (unicode or something, try google it)

Uno_Hu

well, you will know tomorrow. :)

After 2 days of meddling around this MiTV3 I've confirmed that the AV jack can't output any sound to the AVR.
Well the other things I've found out about the options for connecting the sound bar to the AVR :
The HDMI #1 is featured with ARC all you need to do is to connect it to the output of your AVR (if your AVR has the HDMI ARC feature) - Problem solved.

But if your AVR hasn't got the HDMI ARC feature, then you need to get a BT Audio Receiver and connect its ouput to the AVR. ( just like mrsun18 the expert mentioned in the earlier posts)
Another option would be getting an adaptor for extracting the audio in to the AVR.

Personally I prefer the 1st option as it is forward compatible to be used in your car perhaps and doesn't waste another HDMI cable.

i1magic

After 2 days of meddling around this MiTV3 I've confirmed that the AV jack can't output any sound to the AVR.
Well the other things I've found out about the options for connecting the sound bar to the AVR :
The HDMI #1 is featured with ARC all you need to do is to connect it to the output of your AVR (if your AVR has the HDMI ARC feature) - Problem solved.

But if your AVR hasn't got the HDMI ARC feature, then you need to get a BT Audio Receiver and connect its ouput to the AVR. ( just like mrsun18 the expert mentioned in the earlier posts)
Another option would be getting an adaptor for extracting the audio in to the AVR.

Personally I prefer the 1st option as it is forward compatible to be used in your car perhaps and doesn't waste another HDMI cable.

So basically, for people who wants to use Mi TV 3 with other sound system will be troublesome lah, right?

By the way, how many power point needed for the Mi TV 3?

i1magic

anyone bought from this guy?

http://list.qoo10.sg/item/READY-STOCK-XIAOMI-TV-3-60-INCH/438449526

is it good? selling more ex.. not sure got warranty or not..

You can see from the Q&A that they'll deliver the TV to you, power up, tested ok and that's it liao. If not ok, I believe they'll replace you with another one. Please confirm this with the seller.

If you get it yourself via other channel, item reaches you and you power it up and got problem, that's it liao. Not sure how to do recovery from there.

Uno_Hu

So basically, for people who wants to use Mi TV 3 with other sound system will be troublesome lah, right?

By the way, how many power point needed for the Mi TV 3?

It is very well if your AVR is newer with HDMI ARC :) You will only need 1 power socket to plug in to the TV panel. The sound bar is powered by the Mi-Port from the panel.

Something strange about the Shafa Market app was installed from my thum drive but when I removed it, the app also gone. And it re-appear again after I plug the thumb drive back again.
Another thing about network hard disk that I plug into my router, why I couldn't see it in the TV setting?

i1magic

It is very well if your AVR is newer with HDMI ARC :) You will only need 1 power socket to plug in to the TV panel. The sound bar is powered by the Mi-Port from the panel.

Something strange about the Shafa Market app was installed from my thum drive but when I removed it, the app also gone. And it re-appear again after I plug the thumb drive back again.
Another thing about network hard disk that I plug into my router, why I couldn't see it in the TV setting?

Not sure about the Shafa Market part.

But for the harddisk plug into router part. What router are you using? I am using a Xiaomi Mi Router 2 with 1TB harddisk. I need to create folders from my Smartphone Mi Router app, select and share it out.

Then I can see the folder from Mi TV 2.

Uno_Hu

Not sure about the Shafa Market part.

But for the harddisk plug into router part. What router are you using? I am using a Xiaomi Mi Router 2 with 1TB harddisk. I need to create folders from my Smartphone Mi Router app, select and share it out.

Then I can see the folder from Mi TV 2.

Wa you're Xiaomi fan. Anyway I managed to find the hard disk on the TV. Thank you bro.

i1magic

Wa you're Xiaomi fan. Anyway I managed to find the hard disk on the TV. Thank you bro.

Ok lah. I am a fan of value for $$ stuffs.

The Xiaomi Mi Router 2 1TB is not bad. Comes with built-in 1TB harddisk, good specs, good speed, good design and good price too. Currently, the only thing which it doesn't have is support for IPV6.

Which of course is not a big issue now.

Uno_Hu

Ok lah. I am a fan of value for $$ stuffs.

The Xiaomi Mi Router 2 1TB is not bad. Comes with built-in 1TB harddisk, good specs, good speed, good design and good price too. Currently, the only thing which it doesn't have is support for IPV6.

Which of course is not a big issue now.

Yeah me too. So far so good except I found that the sound bar is bent with a little curve (smile) shape. I think it was due to transportation. BTW is the Asus AC3200 better than Xiaomi Mi Router 2 in terms of specs ?

i1magic

Yeah me too. So far so good except I found that the sound bar is bent with a little curve (smile) shape. I think it was due to transportation. BTW is the Asus AC3200 better than Xiaomi Mi Router 2 in terms of specs ?

Wah ... sound bar bent? But at least still working.

I don't know about Asus AC3200 but how much does it cost? If you want to get any router, check on Carousell, there may be people selling pretty new set.

Asus router is good. Regular firmware updates, supports IPV6 also. Actually, for 2.4Ghz, the range is good up to AC66 model. From AC68 and above, from those review I read, the 2.4Ghz range is not as good.

mazzel

@magic:

did you try to install any keyboard with chinese support? after installation it should appear in the kodi settings and you can choose it. then you can search in chinese :)

as you also have a mi-router (big fan, just like me :D):
Do you see your movies with covers in the video-player app? since one or two updates ago, I can't manage to find movies in the video-player app.
I can find my hard drive connected to my mi-router, though. I can browse the hard drive and play all the movies, no problem. But the movies won't show up in the video player anymore.

I also noticed, that newer firmwares have a app installed called "Mi Wifi", just like the phone App. When I open the App, a QR Code is shown. When I scan this App out of the Mi-Router App (Plugins --> press three dots in upper corner --> QR code scanner), then a plugin is installed to the Mi-Router App called "Mi TV助手". When I open it, I can turn the plug in on and off, but nothing happens on TV. There are three steps described in the Plug-inhow to set it up, but my chinese is too poor to understand :(

Maybe you can test it if you can make your files visible in galery style with this plug in?! Would be awesome :)

i1magic

@magic:

did you try to install any keyboard with chinese support? after installation it should appear in the kodi settings and you can choose it. then you can search in chinese :)

as you also have a mi-router (big fan, just like me :D):
Do you see your movies with covers in the video-player app? since one or two updates ago, I can't manage to find movies in the video-player app.
I can find my hard drive connected to my mi-router, though. I can browse the hard drive and play all the movies, no problem. But the movies won't show up in the video player anymore.

I also noticed, that newer firmwares have a app installed called "Mi Wifi", just like the phone App. When I open the App, a QR Code is shown. When I scan this App out of the Mi-Router App (Plugins --> press three dots in upper corner --> QR code scanner), then a plugin is installed to the Mi-Router App called "Mi TV助手". When I open it, I can turn the plug in on and off, but nothing happens on TV. There are three steps described in the Plug-inhow to set it up, but my chinese is too poor to understand :(

Maybe you can test it if you can make your files visible in galery style with this plug in?! Would be awesome :)

I don't know which keyboard can I install and how?

Which firmware are you on now? I am on 1.1.92 (Stable). I just tried the "Video Player App", ALL the videos on PCs show up with the covers.

You should already has a MiWifi Router app on your phone right? Why do you need to scan the one on the Mi TV 2?

mazzel

I don't know which keyboard can I install and how?

Which firmware are you on now? I am on 1.1.92 (Stable). I just tried the "Video Player App", ALL the videos on PCs show up with the covers.

You should already has a MiWifi Router app on your phone right? Why do you need to scan the one on the Mi TV 2?

You can check in the normal settings of the TV which keyboards you have installed. Mine shows "Mi Input" and "Baidu Input". Alternatively you can check in Apps like XH Launcher in the Android Settings what Keyboards you have installed.
In Kodi it should show at least 2 Chinese Inputs: "BaiduPY" and "BasePY".
On the Version of Kodi I'm testing right now, unfortunately no Chinese Characters are shown when I use the CHinese input :/

About the router:
Which App Version for the phone and router do you use?
I'm on 2.3.17.506 for the Phone (internal beta) and 2.9.40 (Beta) for the router.
TV is 1.1.97 (stable for 49" MiTV2). Maybe the beta firmware for phone an router causes problems?
I scanned ht code on the TV to test if it will make it work again to see the Movies in the Video Player App...
Because it workes like a charm when I got the TV and Router new. After some updates (either TV and or Router) it stopped working -.-

Uno_Hu

May I ask expert mrsun18 here if the very mini port on the sound bar mean to connect to the sub-woofer physically. Is there any risk to join it to a co-axial cable that input to my sub amp?

i1magic

You can check in the normal settings of the TV which keyboards you have installed. Mine shows "Mi Input" and "Baidu Input". Alternatively you can check in Apps like XH Launcher in the Android Settings what Keyboards you have installed.
In Kodi it should show at least 2 Chinese Inputs: "BaiduPY" and "BasePY".
On the Version of Kodi I'm testing right now, unfortunately no Chinese Characters are shown when I use the CHinese input :/

About the router:
Which App Version for the phone and router do you use?
I'm on 2.3.17.506 for the Phone (internal beta) and 2.9.40 (Beta) for the router.
TV is 1.1.97 (stable for 49" MiTV2). Maybe the beta firmware for phone an router causes problems?
I scanned ht code on the TV to test if it will make it work again to see the Movies in the Video Player App...
Because it workes like a charm when I got the TV and Router new. After some updates (either TV and or Router) it stopped working -.-

I am using Mi Input for the TV. I tried the Baidu Input before but it caused some problem. When I need to type in something, the keyboard doesn't appear. I have to switch to Mi Input, then the keyboard appears.

My MiWifi Router version is 2.2.11. Router firmware version is 2.10.14.

joshua182

How to watch all those China shows ah.. Recently shipped in a Xiaomi tv3.. But can't seem to do much w it at all... Is it need vpn

launm88

How to watch all those China shows ah.. Recently shipped in a Xiaomi tv3.. But can't seem to do much w it at all... Is it need vpn

Just think of your mi tv3 as a big tv box. There are limitations.
Join this Facebook group "New TV Box SG" and there are a lot of apps there.
Happy reading...
cheers

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.