Xiaomi Redmi 6 series

kalala

Redmi 6 series on local mi store. Redmi 6, 6A and Mi A2 lite.

hmm, so no redmi 6 pro... i wonder why..

anyway, after so much troubles and pain.. i finally managed to flash my redmi 6 pro to the EU rom.. and loving it so far..

the notification problems on the china rom is kinda fixed and other features are also great

one qns here: on the previous China ROM, my carrier (Circles Life) is showing "4G" but the EU Rom is showing "LTE"..

what's the difference between 4G and LTE?

amazingone

anyway, after so much troubles and pain.. i finally managed to flash my redmi 6 pro to the EU rom.. and loving it so far..

the notification problems on the china rom is kinda fixed and other features are also great

one qns here: on the previous China ROM, my carrier (Circles Life) is showing "4G" but the EU Rom is showing "LTE"..

Redmi 6 Pro is here in Singapore, in the name of Mi A2 Lite with Android One.

4G and LTE means the same thing actually.

K202020K

If using China models, one must do two things to enable push notifications .... enable app auto start to activate background running of apps .... and also disable the battery saver. Then there will be no delays on the said apps.

kalala

If using China models, one must do two things to enable push notifications .... enable app auto start to activate background running of apps .... and also disable the battery saver. Then there will be no delays on the said apps.

did everything, tried everything, even the 5 steps as googled... nothing worked... china rom is lousy for SG use...

the problematic app is like Skype.. i uninstalled many times and reinstall also, tried to use Skype Lite.. the notification works for like 10 seconds after i open and close the app but after that no longer working.. notification only shows when i manually open the app again..

so far EU rom working fine for all the notifications..

K202020K

In Android OS, after you have activated developer options .... inside got one menu option to manage the number of apps running in the background.

From what I've heard, China devices does not allow apps to run in the background.

xiaozhi86

i try to flash to global rom from china rom. after flashing and reboot, i get this message this miui version can't be installed on this device. is my redmi 6a brick and only solution is wait for people to pin point where is the test point to unbrick the phone?

vaio2000

Hi, seeking help on my redmi 6 pro. Can u advise me how to flash to EU Rom, Which rom Version? if it's xiaomi.eu_mu?lti_HM6Pro_8.7.19_v10-8.1? I had unlocked the phone, however when i chose to flash EU Rom, Its stated not allowed to upgrade to unofficial rom package.. Btw, i also face Grab booking location issue in China Rom Example i am at office whereby its still show that im at home. Do EU Rom resolved this issue? Appreciated your help on this.. Thank you

kalala

Hi, seeking help on my redmi 6 pro. Can u advise me how to flash to EU Rom, Which rom Version? if it's xiaomi.eu_mu?lti_HM6Pro_8.7.19_v10-8.1? I had unlocked the phone, however when i chose to flash EU Rom, Its stated not allowed to upgrade to unofficial rom package.. Btw, i also face Grab booking location issue in China Rom Example i am at office whereby its still show that im at home. Do EU Rom resolved this issue? Appreciated your help on this.. Thank you

hey happy to share my experience.. i was struggling to flash to the EU rom too..

for me after i unlocked the EU rom is at 8.8.3 version, currently it is at 8.8.9.. shouldn't you be downloading the latest version instead of 8.7.19?

i googled for the sakura twrp as it is not available in the link provided in the xiaomi.eu rom page.. under google the first link (https://androidfilehost.com/?fid=5862345805528054436) i downloaded and launched the program.. it gave option to boot into the twrp mode...

followed the instructions at the xiaomi.eu page, placed the zip file at the internal memory and selected the file.. it should work..

kalala

anyway, i didnt use grab app but i downloaded grab as i wanted to use grab pay for the LIHO promotion.. the location seems to be working in the EU rom... but i never tried booking

kalala

did everything, tried everything, even the 5 steps as googled... nothing worked... china rom is lousy for SG use...

the problematic app is like Skype.. i uninstalled many times and reinstall also, tried to use Skype Lite.. the notification works for like 10 seconds after i open and close the app but after that no longer working.. notification only shows when i manually open the app again..

so far EU rom working fine for all the notifications..

some updates on this... after a few days somehow my QOO10 notifications stop showing... i know this as i am using iphone as my main phone and i expect both to receive the notifications...

den i tried to enable the auto start and disable battery saver, reboot the phone and currently it is showing.. still monitoring this behavior so far... it will be a pain if every single app have to turn on auto start in order to show notifications.. other apps are still fine so far and some are without auto start..

K202020K

Those w/o auto-start will be able to auto-start .... and there's no option to turn off auto-start for them.

kalala

Those w/o auto-start will be able to auto-start .... and there's no option to turn off auto-start for them.

haha how do u know that? means the phone quite jialat right... got option like no option like that

K202020K

Some apps you installed don't give you the option to prevent them from auto-starting lah .... means they can auto-start at any time they like.

For the above, what I mean is those w/o the option to disable auto-start are apps which are always able to auto-start, and there is no way you can stop them from auto-starting.

kalala

Some apps you installed don't give you the option to prevent them from auto-starting lah .... means they can auto-start at any time they like.

For the above, what I mean is those w/o the option to disable auto-start are apps which are always able to auto-start, and there is no way you can stop them from auto-starting.

yea, actually as an end user i dun really care ba.. the end result is i want my notifications hahaha

i like xiaomi and miui in general but just the notification is abit problematic..

PeasantBeing

So far I've never encountered any apps that can bypass miui auto start except for system apps and Google apps. Which apps are you referring to?

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 5 using GAGT

PeasantBeing

yea, actually as an end user i dun really care ba.. the end result is i want my notifications hahaha

i like xiaomi and miui in general but just the notification is abit problematic..
Maybe the ROM version is the problem?
I've been using various xiaomi phones since 3 years ago (all bought with local service centre warranty so all authentic Global ROM), no issue with notifications at all.

K202020K

So far I've never encountered any apps that can bypass miui auto start except for system apps and Google apps. Which apps are you referring to?

I'm just saying in general .... not specifically referring to Mi models lah. I don't use xm .... but I observed that for the devices I used before, some apps (I'm not certain on the details) are not able to be displayed in the device's native auto-start manager app .... so, it's not possible to disable the auto-start feature of these apps.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.