Xiaomi Redmi Note 2

ArcticCheetah

Just to entice you further.

I know I hate the feeling of hand me downs so I don't like to subject others to the same. :o
I don't like to change stuff and contribute to e-waste. :(
The worse part is Redmi with MIUI 7 developer rom is quite speedy...so if it ain't broken don't fix it.

clay9477

Don't know want to buy this or not
Pros:
Good specs for price
Wireless AC
Cons:
No warranty
No global rom but can install GApps
4G but my data is only 3G
Redmi still fine so this feels like a waste of money.

Oi! :eek: Stop misleading people lah you all. :s13: Got global rom. In fact there are a few global roms with embedded gapps inside already. I was using Redmi previously but made the jump for the extra rom space and ram. The note specs will be able to last me another 2 years. For $200+ phone to last 2 years of tech pretty reasonable these days given the technology pace.

ArcticCheetah

Oi! :eek: Stop misleading people lah you all. :s13: Got global rom. In fact there are a few global roms with embedded gapps inside already. I was using Redmi previously but made the jump for the extra rom space and ram. The note specs will be able to last me another 2 years. For $200+ phone to last 2 years of tech pretty reasonable these days given the technology pace.
My RedMi is not 2 years yet

kazuki666

I think he meant official release de global rom lah. And its quite a bad in the a$$ to download or ota update firmware...

Anyway guys, do you have problems playing game on your Redmi Note 2? I was playing my chinese naruto game. It runs smoothly swee. But when I exit the game, the whole OS will lag like hell. I think the problem is the RAM, because it will exit the game and bring me back to the main screen very very very slowly. On my main screen I have the clean master app and it shows that i have 160mb left from the 2gb.

Any solution for this? I read that MIUI runs on ard 1gb, so this likely the main reason why the whole OS kinda lag le.

So far the only "solution" i have is to force reset it, but i scare its not healthy for the phone lor...

aogiliu

I think he meant official release de global rom lah. And its quite a bad in the a$$ to download or ota update firmware...

Anyway guys, do you have problems playing game on your Redmi Note 2? I was playing my chinese naruto game. It runs smoothly swee. But when I exit the game, the whole OS will lag like hell. I think the problem is the RAM, because it will exit the game and bring me back to the main screen very very very slowly. On my main screen I have the clean master app and it shows that i have 160mb left from the 2gb.

Any solution for this? I read that MIUI runs on ard 1gb, so this likely the main reason why the whole OS kinda lag le.

So far the only "solution" i have is to force reset it, but i scare its not healthy for the phone lor...
How's your battery life? They said it only can last about 4 hours for normal use.

kazuki666

Lots of problems I read from Chinese Xiaomi forum. Overheating, screen, damned short battery life, wifi connection...... Sigh!

How's your battery life? They said it only can last about 4 hours for normal use.

warm yes, but definitely not hot like my old Sony Xperia Z.

Battery life so far so good for me. Just now I tried to tether for my tablet to play game on bus journey ard 20mins, it barely drew 3%. But I notice the mobile data tends to drop when I off screen.

I am on v5.8.20, unable to get stable connection to update yet. I suspect newer OS may solve the heating and battery life.

BUT, still no solution for my RAM sucking problem... :'(

clay9477

Lots of problems I read from Chinese Xiaomi forum. Overheating, screen, damned short battery life, wifi connection...... Sigh!

Wifi connection resolvable, software issue not hardware. The above that you mention is due to people using the stable MIUI 6. To overcome the above problems, you need to jump to MIUI7 which is still in beta.

clay9477

Battery life so far so good for me. Just now I tried to tether for my tablet to play game on bus journey ard 20mins, it barely drew 3%. But I notice the mobile data tends to drop when I off screen.

I am on v5.8.20, unable to get stable connection to update yet. I suspect newer OS may solve the heating and battery life.

Have you tried going into security and check permissons? Over there you can disable auto startup apps(Usually the apps just run in background but you don't use so frequently). Most people new to MIUI do not know about this feature.

aogiliu

Wifi connection resolvable, software issue not hardware. The above that you mention is due to people using the stable MIUI 6. To overcome the above problems, you need to jump to MIUI7 which is still in beta.
So may I know for normal usage, how long the battery last? And where did you buy from? Thx

clay9477

So may I know for normal usage, how long the battery last? And where did you buy from? Thx

Currently the model is not released in sg yet. I have yet to receive mine but following closely on miui forums. Battery life is good. Those that you can find in sg now are export sets meaning no local warranty. Suggest you wait for the official release. Follow Xiaomi Singapore for updates on the release.

mehmeh91

:eek:your batt last so long ?
i am using the 5.9.24 build , it last me about 3-4 hrs of SOT only . Donno is it the software problem or not . The only thing i dont like about the phone is that it took damn long to fully charge de phone.

aim4lowestGadget

even if Adix or Mobile Bee is willing to help you, must send back to China for repairs... the to and forth courier fees + admin fees for a sub $200 phone is not worth it. If really spoilt, then writing it off and move on is easier.

Suggest you wait for the SG set to get released. Shouldn't be that long a wait now. 1+ month ago, i was tempted to get a non SG set too but decided against it.

For adix if the first 3 days is defective. Its one to one swap. Then if after 3 days is send to China for repair but screen crack no point send back.

If send back adix will pass u another Android phone to u so u won't be handicap. Just return once he paas the phone Back to. Of course u can run away with the LG G2 if u like it :p

undead102

For adix if the first 3 days is defective. Its one to one swap. Then if after 3 days is send to China for repair but screen crack no point send back.

If send back adix will pass u another Android phone to u so u won't be handicap. Just return once he paas the phone Back to. Of course u can run away with the LG G2 if u like it :p

So adix will not charge you extra shipping fee if he help you send the phone for repair to china? That is only for the 1 year china warranty after the first 3 days that you purchase the phone from him? Didnt know that seems like a good deal to buy export set from him then. No need wait for local set liao.

kazuki666

So adix will not charge you extra shipping fee if he help you send the phone for repair to china? That is only for the 1 year china warranty after the first 3 days that you purchase the phone from him? Didnt know that seems like a good deal to buy export set from him then. No need wait for local set liao.

My set is from Adix, and I can vow for his service. Damn nice guy. A little busy because good biz, but thats also because he is good thats why many ppl buy from him lor. :)

:eek:your batt last so long ?
i am using the 5.9.24 build , it last me about 3-4 hrs of SOT only . Donno is it the software problem or not . The only thing i dont like about the phone is that it took damn long to fully charge de phone.

wah, how u get 5.9.24 de??? My 5.8.20 is from Adix de, then after that its very hard to update OTA leh. Someone uploaded 5.9.11 in the miui forum, but i have yet to have time flash it onto my phone.
Btw, flashing new os updates won't erase data de right???

SpeedWeed

how long before it the singapore version reach our shores...

my Redmi Note 4G is dying :s22::s22:

mehmeh91

My set is from Adix, and I can vow for his service. Damn nice guy. A little busy because good biz, but thats also because he is good thats why many ppl buy from him lor. :)

wah, how u get 5.9.24 de??? My 5.8.20 is from Adix de, then after that its very hard to update OTA leh. Someone uploaded 5.9.11 in the miui forum, but i have yet to have time flash it onto my phone.
Btw, flashing new os updates won't erase data de right???

I flash the 5.8.20 to my redmi note 2 and did OTA update on my phone. No trouble with OTA update . Prolly server problem but u can try again. Yah , wont erase data .How's ur experience with the camera ? It's just basic even though it's 13mega pixals :s22::s22::s22:How long does it take to charge ur redmi note 2 ?with the charger comes with it in the box ?

clay9477

m.intl.taobao.com/detail/detail.html?id=521711402656&spm=2014.12193480.0.0

1000+ more Redmi Note 2 Prime released for sale on Official Xiaomi Tmall.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.