Xiaomi Redmi Note 3

grapewall

yea i bought 1 + 1. 1 ezbuy prepare shipment since before cny. the other one havent even dispatch to ezbuy warehouse. I use sea shipment. Will update you after i try on my phone bah. (can pm u the link if u want but dont really need sell haha only 1.70 without singapore shipping) might take 1 month. lol (all the delay)

but use the software fix first. i also using

Ya please send me the link. I have actually found someone in China who claimed to be able to repair, but sending back is the headache.

dolphinv

Ya please send me the link. I have actually found someone in China who claimed to be able to repair, but sending back is the headache.

Okay pmed you. dont think its worth sending back to china really. I think local repair can also solder for you if you have the part. (can try)

grapewall

Okay pmed you. dont think its worth sending back to china really. I think local repair can also solder for you if you have the part. (can try)

Thanks. I'll try to solder myself. If i screwed up, I'll send it to china to repair.

ceestudent

Is it difficult to replace the flex cable for power and volume button? From youtube looks quite simple just pry open the case and open some screw, no solder required. Cmiiw.

windwaver

Hey guys, for those Xiaomi Note 3 users with the snapdragon 650.

Does the phone tend to heat up during long gaming? Does it throttle often?

xahmeix

URGENT HELP PLEASE! note3 sudden boot to MIUI 8 on its own and now won't start

Hi all experts!

need your help please.

yesterday 7pm, phone sudden blue screen. then Mi icon came on with 'powered by android'. one min later, it's showing a loading percentage bar. and this cycle repeats itself for 2h.

9pm, a page for MIUI 8 came on, and i did all the settings that it ask for. google account/miui account/background photo etc etc...
it went to boot up with Mi icon and percentage bar. BUT it did not show phone's main screen, it just keep toggling between percentage bar and powered by android page for 3h until battery dies.

now i'm charging it, and it's still the same cycle as above.

i did not click to install miui 8, have no idea why it's loading auto.
my miui, i think only update once, so can't rem if it's miui 6 or 7.

1) it's possible for the phone to install miui 8 by itself?

2) anything i can do to load the phone properly and stop that percentage bar/powered by android thing running uselessly?

3) would going to xiaomi shop helps? this is not a local set.
i would like to retrieve the data in my phone.....

halocast

Hey guys, for those Xiaomi Note 3 users with the snapdragon 650.

Does the phone tend to heat up during long gaming? Does it throttle often?

yes it heats up, it does seem to throttle but I can't confirm that.

halocast

Hi all experts!

need your help please.

yesterday 7pm, phone sudden blue screen. then Mi icon came on with 'powered by android'. one min later, it's showing a loading percentage bar. and this cycle repeats itself for 2h.

9pm, a page for MIUI 8 came on, and i did all the settings that it ask for. google account/miui account/background photo etc etc...
it went to boot up with Mi icon and percentage bar. BUT it did not show phone's main screen, it just keep toggling between percentage bar and powered by android page for 3h until battery dies.

2) anything i can do to load the phone properly and stop that percentage bar/powered by android thing running uselessly?

sounds like a boot loop

maybe this can help?
take a read

http://en.miui.com/thread-607707-1-1.html

dolphinv

Is it difficult to replace the flex cable for power and volume button? From youtube looks quite simple just pry open the case and open some screw, no solder required. Cmiiw.
Can confirm no soldering required. Very easy. No need unscrew anything also. You just need the part. As for me I think I just bricked my device attempting to solder a new headphone jack lol. GG

dolphinv

Hi all experts!

need your help please.

Well I used this to flash my brick device. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=g0xWYvmj4aE

Although after flashing my device still brick. So I think might be hardware fault Liao.

dolphinv

Update. With the help of grapewall, managed to get it to work. So I guess for people with the headphone jack detection problem, if you are proficient with soldering can buy from taobao the part and soldier yourself. Just remember to connect the fingerprint scanner before turning on your phone(miui 9 doesn't boot without it, will boot loop) I very sure on miui 8 after replacing battery I booted without it.

Flying_Chair

Can I check is Redmi Note 3, with MIUI 9, able to read 128gb sd card on exfat format? I am thinking of getting a new sd card but not sure if it'll work.

ceestudent

Update. With the help of grapewall, managed to get it to work. So I guess for people with the headphone jack detection problem, if you are proficient with soldering can buy from taobao the part and soldier yourself. Just remember to connect the fingerprint scanner before turning on your phone(miui 9 doesn't boot without it, will boot loop) I very sure on miui 8 after replacing battery I booted without it.
Thanks to this post my redmi note 3 can be use again.

I tried to replace my flex cable previously but did not reconnect the fingerprint cable, because I wanted to try first before i closed back the case. Then it keep boot looping, even want to fast boot also cannot. I just dump it for few weeks until i see this post and try it just few minutes ago and it works!!

grapewall

Thanks to this post my redmi note 3 can be use again.

I tried to replace my flex cable previously but did not reconnect the fingerprint cable, because I wanted to try first before i closed back the case. Then it keep boot looping, even want to fast boot also cannot. I just dump it for few weeks until i see this post and try it just few minutes ago and it works!!

I made the same mistake too. After i soldered the earphone jack, i wanted to test it before closing back the cover. End up it keep boot looping. I was about to give up when i thought, the finger print scanner may play a part in the boot up process too. So i connected it back and tried again. With some luck, it managed to boot up normally and the earphone icon is gone too!

carboy00

Really can't believe it. Such support for such budget phone.

Not to mention no official explanation why there isn’t a version upgrade. Hardware is clearly not an issue, Mi Max with same SD650 chip is running Nougat officially now. But my guess is this is how the Redmi Note line has always been treated. Redmi Note 3G/4G stuck on KitKat until EOL, Redmi Note 2 still on Lollipop now and Redmi Note 3 now stuck on Marshmallow. :frus:

PC-User

Not to mention no official explanation why there isn’t a version upgrade. Hardware is clearly not an issue, Mi Max with same SD650 chip is running Nougat officially now. But my guess is this is how the Redmi Note line has always been treated. Redmi Note 3G/4G stuck on KitKat until EOL, Redmi Note 2 still on Lollipop now and Redmi Note 3 now stuck on Marshmallow. :frus:
Well I'm happy enough for what I paid. Usability and performance as a phone is most important. Anyway all of us will upgrade one day. Be fair lah, pay economy want to sit in first class meh? :D

Hailgod

it would take significant effort for their software development team to update an outdated phone. With the price of their products, it would be more effective to focus more on getting their new phones better since an upgrade every year or 2 is viable at this pricepoint.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.