YTD 2026 Networth tracking thread

d9_lives

I can accept, net worth just stop growing for the first 10years or so when I can live on passive income then only start to drop when I draw down the principal. Best is to deplete most of my networth when I depart from this world, just leave behind enough for funeral and some token money for my nieces and nephews
This is the way.

boringLife-

I can accept, net worth just stop growing for the first 10years or so when I can live on passive income then only start to drop when I draw down the principal. Best is to deplete most of my networth when I depart from this world, just leave behind enough for funeral and some token money for my nieces and nephews

Imagine you are 80 year old and only 150k left in your portfolio...

Then comes 81 year old and you only have 120k left...

Scary

starlight318

Imagine you are 80 year old and only 150k left in your portfolio...

Then comes 81 year old and you only have 120k left...

Scary
By 80yo I thk most of my money will be in cpf, because I will deplete my cash/portfolio first and SRS then only start drawing down from CPF. Should still have more than enough. My 80yo rough estimate still more than 500k, also have whole life policy surrender value and HDB lease buy back to cash out more $$

limster

when you get older material possessions become less important. Amazon prime sale and 7-7 sale coming up and I realise that I don't have many things that I want to buy. When i finally retire, I think my expenses will be manageable and I won't need to draw down my capital.

I recently had to spend $100 to buy a new pair of work shoes because my last pair was so old that a large piece of the sole broke off, and the piece was too large to glue back. :cry:

DevilPlate

Don't think Singaporeans are willing to accept a drop in networth even during retirement when it's expected to be so
Why not, i intend to spend those fixed income portions (FD/endowments) away in the next 5-10 years until i start receiving 2X ERS CPFLife payout then i reassess again…..perhaps divest investment property away if i am running out of money hehe

DevilPlate

when you get older material possessions become less important. Amazon prime sale and 7-7 sale coming up and I realise that I don't have many things that I want to buy. When i finally retire, I think my expenses will be manageable and I won't need to draw down my capital.

I recently had to spend $100 to buy a new pair of work shoes because my last pair was so old that a large piece of the sole broke off, and the piece was too large to glue back. :cry:
I starting to live as a minimalist liao….(not those extreme kind)
Decluttering feels shiok.

u so damn thrifty siaaaa
I replaced shoes whenever the under sole feels abit slippery….never wear until got hole (last time sch days yes lah no monies mah)

sohguanh

I starting to live as a minimalist liao….(not those extreme kind)
Decluttering feels shiok.

u so damn thrifty siaaaa
I replaced shoes whenever the under sole feels abit slippery….never wear until got hole (last time sch days yes lah no monies mah)
Well he save on some but do pamper oneself too and that is a big pamper a car in Spore. So whatever he save will indirectly go into feeding the car. In this aspect he is not thrifty but just willing to spend on items that make him happy.

limster

Well he save on some but do pamper oneself too and that is a big pamper a car in Spore. So whatever he save will indirectly go into feeding the car. In this aspect he is not thrifty but just willing to spend on items that make him happy.
yes, 100% correct, I am lucky that after spending on things that spark joy, I still have enough left over.

last time when still got chance to be promoted, I believed had to dress better, spent $200 on work shoes. I don't know whether the shoes contrbuted to my chance of promotion though. Now no more chance of promotion $100 work shoe enough :ROFLMAO: ... cannot go lower than that - if start wearing slippers maybe no more job liao.

starlight318

The savings from reduced expenses due to less material wants will be offset by higher medical expenses when we are old.

sohguanh

The savings from reduced expenses due to less material wants will be offset by higher medical expenses when we are old.
If you read his posts you get some pattern. While acknowledge his flaw he will quickly add in new paragraph to deflect the flaw and emphasize on others but it is ok know his style already

limster

If you read his posts you get some pattern. While acknowledge his flaw he will quickly add in new paragraph to deflect the flaw and emphasize on others but it is ok know his style already
while its impossible to predict the future, I think i have done enough planning to be reasonably confident that I will be able to live off my passive income and not draw down my principal. No plan is perfect, but at least I have some sort of plan.

If I am wrong because something bad happens,
(a) I will no longer be around, in which case its correct to say that I didn't draw down my principal; OR
(b) I am still around but have to draw down my principal for unexpected expenses in which case, maybe I need to downgrade my condo to raise funds etc....

whats your plan? I only know it is something to do with making sure your children don't get any of your money?

sohguanh

whats your plan? I only know it is something to do with making sure your children don't get any of your money?
Besides this other plan is out of topic for this forum. Elixir of immortality aka live forever if you want to probe further. This topic I reserved for another website forum not hwz for obvious reasons.

boringLife-

We got cpf life, wont starve, no need scare.

Wont starve but live without dignity.

Spending $1200 per month and knowing you only got cpf life

Vs

Spending $1200 per month and knowing you have cpf life and 3 million in your portfolio

The feeling is different

Mephist0pheLes

Wont starve but live without dignity.

Spending $1200 per month and knowing you only got cpf life

Vs

Spending $1200 per month and knowing you have cpf life and 3 million in your portfolio

The feeling is different

im not 80 yet so i dunno, but i cant quite imagine why i would be concern whether i have 3 mil in my portfolio at the age of 80.

and if my dignity is defined by how much money i have, then i guess i wasted 80 years.

limster

I have 80 year old relatives who are active, but the reality is that $1200/mth would be quite challenging.

Part of dignity is the freedom to move around and go places, as opposed to being restricted to your home and the vicinity. My elderly relatives don't drive but they use taxi quite a bit to get around (they don't trust Grab), visit friends, go to polyclinic etc. I don't think they will be able to do that solely on $1.2k CPF life payout.

Mephist0pheLes

I have 80 year old relatives who are active, but the reality is that $1200/mth would be quite challenging.

Part of dignity is the freedom to move around and go places, as opposed to being restricted to your home and the vicinity. My elderly relatives don't drive but they use taxi quite a bit to get around (they don't trust Grab), visit friends, go to polyclinic etc. I don't think they will be able to do that solely on $1.2k CPF life payout.

if its a couple then it will be $2400/mth?

starlight318

Not only you will need taxi, need to hire helper (live-in or part time) to help out w housechores etc. My estimated monthly budget for age 80 is at 6k per month. if I need to stay at nursing home, will have to rent out my flat n use the extra money on the nursing home as I doubt 6k will be enough.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.