Yunnan trip

kenne79

just back 8nights from yunnan. 4jun to 12 jun. damn hot. Damn sunny. 2 night dali, 2 night in lijiang, 2 night near baisha, 2 nights kunming. Did not go shangrila.
all stay are near the ancient town. All services are good.

the rail go manual gate. lijiang to kunming was 4 hours. When we up is all full. We took class 1. No place for luggage so just leave near the corridor. Is quite safe la. They all in out using ic. No one will do stupid things la. Jus keep a lookout when train stop. Train food is crap. Tabao something before getting on.

we stay near the baisha town. Can see the moutain from room but sadly both morning are cloudy. So cant see the rizhaojinshan. did not go up the peak. Only up the 2 meadows. No need anything oxygen canisters or whatever bottle herb. Catch the lijiang impression. Leave before end. So-so.

They very good at sales talk. Driver bring us to his family tea shop. And brought 1k tea. Knn. Pui. I think most drivers will have some tricks to bring u to those shops la.

we did not plan anything. Nor read up much. Just watch some video and xhs. Which is bad. Cos evry where we just anyhow walk.

We also take photoshoot. Wife no happy cos their makeup no nice. Very not natural. But photographer was good. So better do some homework before gg.

no driver in kunming. didi all the way. Since we are 5. So took the 6 seaters. Shiok. Got massage chair. kunming must stay near nanping street.

koolkool

Hi. Hijack this thread to ask a question on booking air tix to Yunnan (Kunming).

When I used skyscanner to find flights in Dec, I can't find any direct flights from SIN to KMG but if I purposely just check say in Oct, I can see direct flights. Is it correct for me to say that the direct flights to China are not released until a few months before the actual departure? But if I search with more popular destinations, there are direct flights to China in Dec. Sorry for this question as I have not travelled to China for more than 20 years (and that was for a business trip).

matrix05

Flights to KunMing, just check & compare Sia, scoot and China Eastern own website.
Agree, Lijiang Impression is time waster, can skip.

beanstalk6

Hi. Hijack this thread to ask a question on booking air tix to Yunnan (Kunming).

When I used skyscanner to find flights in Dec, I can't find any direct flights from SIN to KMG but if I purposely just check say in Oct, I can see direct flights. Is it correct for me to say that the direct flights to China are not released until a few months before the actual departure? But if I search with more popular destinations, there are direct flights to China in Dec. Sorry for this question as I have not travelled to China for more than 20 years (and that was for a business trip).
It is possible that flights for the last quarter of this year including December have not been announced yet. One can see from a search in Google Flights. Input a date in August and you can see many choices with the "nonstop" selection. As you move the dates to December, the calendar month view shows less choices from end October onwards. It appears that it is Scoot that has not provided a schedule for Kunming yet. You can verify with the Scoot website.

koolkool

Hi,beanstalk6 and matrix05, thanks for your replies. I tried Scoot and China eastern website also don't have direct flights. Prefer to do direct but seemed like there is no airline that is open for direct flight in Dec. I think I will take the chance to wait for a month or so but I guess will need to pay more now that the dates are close to departure. Dec is the most expensive time to travel but for my family, that is the only time we can get away from work and studies.

BTW, most of you guys just go free and easy in China, right? Is public transport easy to manage in Yunnan?

dilphinus

BTW, most of you guys just go free and easy in China, right? Is public transport easy to manage in Yunnan?
Yunnan is huge.

Public transport in Shangri-La and Kunming differs.

As an example, there is metro in Kunming and none in Shangri-La. No metro in Dali and Lijiang either.

If you are comfortable with taking buses, then public transport is always easy anywhere.

jywy2005

Hi,beanstalk6 and matrix05, thanks for your replies. I tried Scoot and China eastern website also don't have direct flights. Prefer to do direct but seemed like there is no airline that is open for direct flight in Dec. I think I will take the chance to wait for a month or so but I guess will need to pay more now that the dates are close to departure. Dec is the most expensive time to travel but for my family, that is the only time we can get away from work and studies.

If you are traveling solo with light backpack, can take local intercity buses in Yunnan.

Bear in mind that the local buses also end their services early, like around 8 pm.

Else take DIDi, it’s very affordable and everywhere.

matrix05

If you are traveling solo with light backpack, can take local intercity buses in Yunnan.

Bear in mind that the local buses also end their services early, like around 8 pm.

Else take DIDi, it’s very affordable and everywhere.
Good point. Travel solo, just DIY adventure everything. Travel duo - quad, get a driver. Travel with old ppl, join local tour/ get a tour guide with driver. The tour guide can protect weak old ppl (cut queue, emergency extraction, assist yr group) in an unfamiliar place.

linker10

Back from Yunnan trip in Jun 2025. Skipped Kunming. Fly into Lijiang with Transit with 24hr layover in Shenzhen via Shenzhen Airlines $310.
Wanted a layover in Shenzhen for Michelin grade Dim Sum from both Tao Tao Ju and Dian Dou De restaurants.

Visited Lugu Lake 2D1N 4hr from Lijiang ( awesome scenary). Shangrila 2D1N which includes Tiger Leaping Gorge. 1D tour covering Yulong Mountain, Boon Moon Lake, Impression show. 5 day 4night Tour package bought from Ctrip at around 2000RMB. Free and easy 2 to 3 nights in Lijiang, 2 nights in Dali via Didi and High Speed Rail.

Transport in Lugu Lake, Shangri-la going to be challenging via Didi. No issue at Dali and Lijiang via Didi and high speed rail.

Skip Kunming because city area so nothing much to see.

Dali souvenirs much cheaper than Lijiang.
Secenary wise Lugu Lake is the best.
Lijiang and Dali are like Asia's version of Switerland with mountains and lakes.
Lovely place.
Shangrila and Yulong Mountain has high altitude which may give some people issues. So do not go direct to Shangrila or Yulong Mountain > 3500m on the first day. Ascend up from 2000m up and day by day. Oxygen tank will help for high altitude. But half a can up Yulong Mountain more than enough for me.

jywy2005

How’s the road condition from Lijiang to Lugu lake? I went pre-Covid and it was a bumpy and terrible ride, unpaved mountainous road.

linker10

I went on a small group mini bus with 8 tourists. Quite smooth ride. But food wise largely vegetables less meat and fish.

elvintay07

Strange why the flights to Yunnan is like small planes 320 and 321. lol! Will get choppy

sbl2560

How’s the road condition from Lijiang to Lugu lake? I went pre-Covid and it was a bumpy and terrible ride, unpaved mountainous road.
Was on the Coach with 23 pax. The road is alright, except winding mountainous, but scenic. The toilet rest stops have no doors.

viethai

Was on the Coach with 23 pax. The road is alright, except winding mountainous, but scenic. The toilet rest stops have no doors.
And with low height partition ?
Can see and talk to next door type ?

jywy2005

And with low height partition ?
Can see and talk to next door type ?
I actually visited a local toilet at the market place without doors. They have low partitions like those in the prisons. Can you the person in front of you. You just squat down quickly. No flushing facility.

In China, all toilet papers cannot be flushed down toilet bowl. So can be really disgusting.

beanstalk6

In China, all toilet papers cannot be flushed down toilet bowl. So can be really disgusting.
I won't generalise in all cases.
Hotels and shopping centres in the Tier 1 cities usually have flush toilets that can accept toilet paper.
When you encounter a wastepaper basket filled with used toilet paper beside the toilet bowl, take the cue from there. Otherwise, a single flush can clog the whole system and bring attention to you. Don't assume that toilet paper can be flushed away because a flush is present- you may get a nasty surprise. If your load is huge, flush halfway before you unload the rest.

sbl2560

Was on a 9 days 8 nights package booked via FB for Yunnan.

Day 1, HSR arrived at Kunming from Guiyang. Picked up and check in Kunming hotel. Free and easy.

Day 2, Pickup to Kunming Railway station for HSR to Lijiang. It is a 4 hrs journey. Pickup by guide. Lunch, followed by Shuhe ancient city. Jade Dragon snow mountain at level 3240m, for blue moon valley. Only 2 of us. Stay Lijiang

Day 3, Lijiang to Dali railway station. Pickup Taiwanese x 4 pax. Total 6 of us from day 3 to 6. Santorini, replica of Greece, nice place for photos. Lunch and boat ride on Erhai lake to island. Stay Dali.

Day 4, Dali ancient city. Erhai Panxi S bend. Rent bicycles to ride. Dinner was self paid, Stay Lijiang.

Day 5, Enroute to ShangriLa.
Tiger leaping gorge. Potatso National park. Tibetan dinner, Stay ShangriLa.

Day 6, Tibetan temple, Horse riding, Yak museum. Stay Lijiang.

Day 7, Joined another group with 23 pax to Lugu Lake. Journey was 180km, with winding mountainous roads. Lugu Lake was nice and overnight.

Day 8, Return journey from Lugu Lake to Lijiang railway station for HSR to Kunming.

Day 9, Flight return to SG.
Note, elevation for Kunming, Dali and Lijiang are alright. As for above 3000 metres, my body reacted, with headache. Didn't use any oxygen nor medicine.

luckygal

No need diamox since you are acclimatising from Dali to Lijiang. I once flew in direct to Lijiang and got a headache. Just eat aspirin and sleep.

July to Sep is the rainy season. Drizzling every day…
Is there a difference between eating aspirin and Panadol? Does aspirin take effect faster?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.