ViewQwest Fiber Broadband Official Thread - Part 4

Kurosakisan

Some of us did submit reports to IDA for review. But there has been no follow up since the only email reply of we will be looking into the issue. I think it's time to send in to CASE too, since I think this has gone beyond fixing of the issues, and for those of us that just want out without any penalty, we can submit our request to CASE, just based on the fact that they have failed to maintain their basic SLA of 99% uptime.

residential got no SLA just for your information.

Unless if its corp then got compensation big time

toshiro_sg

is the noc working today, since Friday, send so many email to NOC non get any attention. So quiet like its not there at all. :vijayadmin:

viewqwest

Featured Sponsor for Internet Bandwidth & Networki
is the noc working today, since Friday, send so many email to NOC non get any attention. So quiet like its not there at all. :vijayadmin:

Yup they're working - can you PM me your NRIC? Will check on the case and get one of our guys to help you asap.

icydragon

has the service been restore? I still cannot connect to internet since yesterday 1030pm. I have restart the modem and router a few times already.

commach

If next saturday i were to take 2 network cables and connect on my zhone router like this:
Port 1 patch to port 4
Port 2 to port 3

Will the internet go down for singapore again?

I'm not a VQ user, but is this the reason why they took down the network?

If this is the "problem", we got a winner.

toshiro_sg

Yup they're working - can you PM me your NRIC? Will check on the case and get one of our guys to help you asap.

Alreafy pm u my ticket two times, u say ur team going to look into it since yesterday. But well, nothing is fix as expected

ahlee83

I'm not a VQ user, but is this the reason why they took down the network?

If this is the "problem", we got a winner.

I also cannot believe it. Network loops sometimes happen by accident, so i'm very surprised why one customer got loop, can bring down so many other customers.

VQ said they will make sure it won't happen again... who wants to test next weekend to see see? :vijayadmin:

Effect of a Network Loop, Cisco Networking All-in-One For Dummies!
http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/effect-of-a-network-loop.html

Hi guys - update:

The issue was caused by a loop caused by one of our customers - this triggered our loop protection to kick in which affected connectivity for some of the exchanges.

hanz170

Network algorithms preventing loops have been in place for decades, if this is indeed true then the problem is attributed to bad design.

ahlee83

Why wait for next week? Might as well test now, after all to some people, one hour of downtime is ok since can use phone

Dun like that leh, because unlike some people, one hour of downtime is not ok for me also :s22:

I also dun wan to be the hero who brings down the internet again. Later kena ham tam.

VQ can i terminate one of my accounts? I signed up for a second account 3 months ago, and ever since then, every month at least one incident leh.

tiger2013

Why wait for next week? Might as well test now, after all to some people, one hour of downtime is ok since can use phone

Better don't test it. Give VQ some time to set it right again. I will be unhappy and angry if someone tries this stunt again and cause another downtime. Also, knowingly causing a downtime could be an illegal act.

I am not OK with using phone data even though I'm still on 12GB grandfather mobile data plan. Yes, I have plenty of mobile data to spare. But, no, I'm not going to use that.

VQ has an SLA to fulfill. That's part of their KPI. If they fail to meet their KPI, then it's their fault.

aCuria

Whats wrong with ViewQwest internet this week... My internet has been spotty since Friday night and they owe me a callback since Saturday... Cant get through to their technical support either.

Untamed

Ok spoke to soon. Looks like m1 speed also ganasai, quoting from m1 thread:

Ethernet speed test:
gJkJKOl.png

WiFi-N (5GHz) speed test:
t96CGDH.png

This is M1 speeds ah not VQ LOL[/QUOTE]

Slow speed is better than no speed

Untamed

I would personally never get a 'consumer' line to do such things as trading from home. Anyone who considers that their living or makes any meaningful money from it ideally would invest in a proper business line.

Consumer services are at the end of the day just that, consumer grade quality.

I am not sure if you know what you are talking about. What is proper business line ? Are you referring to leased line or the same business fiber offering from Viewqwest?

Dedicated leased line is out of the question if you factor in the cost of the local loop and the internet charges. No idiot will pay this amount for trading at home.

With such incident at the exchange equipment, the business fiber will not be spared. Business fiber line probably connect you onto a different network segment with a different QoS and that's about it.

Most of us that day-trade are IT trained and we know what we need to have HA at home. However the problem here is not just about uptime but the reliability and the connectivity of the link.

While we do not insist that ISP have a uptime of 100% but the frequent outages these days from VQ is worrying.

Starhub cable modem may be slower but i haven't seen as much network fluctuation

TechZSG

I am not sure if you know what you are talking about. What is proper business line ? Are you referring to leased line or the same business fiber offering from Viewqwest?

Dedicated leased line is out of the question if you factor in the cost of the local loop and the internet charges. No idiot will pay this amount for trading at home.

With such incident at the exchange equipment, the business fiber will not be spared. Business fiber line probably connect you onto a different network segment with a different QoS and that's about it.

Most of us that day-trade are IT trained and we know what we need to have HA at home. However the problem here is not just about uptime but the reliability and the connectivity of the link.

While we do not insist that ISP have a uptime of 100% but the frequent outages these days from VQ is worrying.

Starhub cable modem may be slower but i haven't seen as much network fluctuation

Again, if you are that dependent on your internet (which I'm sure some are), why don't you have a backup line that you can easily swap to.

Nothing I do is mission critical, hence if my internet goes down, I can use alternatives at my disposal, i.e. my phone (hotspot).

Yes, there are chances that both consumer and business clients are impacted when downtimes occur, but business clients will always get preferential treatment, be contacted first, etc, etc.

And the likelihood that a downtime impacts both sets of clients *should* be few and far between.

Not meaning to argue, but for those who are "IT-trained", having redundancies and backups in place is kind of expected.

newmediageek

Again, if you are that dependent on your internet (which I'm sure some are), why don't you have a backup line that you can easily swap to.

Nothing I do is mission critical, hence if my internet goes down, I can use alternatives at my disposal, i.e. my phone (hotspot).

Yes, there are chances that both consumer and business clients are impacted when downtimes occur, but business clients will always get preferential treatment, be contacted first, etc, etc.

And the likelihood that a downtime impacts both sets of clients *should* be few and far between.

Not meaning to argue, but for those who are "IT-trained", having redundancies and backups in place is kind of expected.

Agreed....having 2 ISPs is not exactly cheap but it ain't that expensive too; for those of you who work from home and having internet is critical, I would strongly recommend having 2 lines...I have 2 lines at home SingTel@69/mth and VQ@65/mth total about 134.9/mth...for normal users is not realistic la..but for ppl working from home like me...i think its a very sound investment...but that being said..VQ must bloody buck up la...outage is getting too frequent already...if this continues i might just sign up for M1 when my contract expires....at least its a cheaper redundancy..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.