ViewQwest Fiber Broadband Official Thread - Part 4

commach

I also cannot believe it. Network loops sometimes happen by accident, so i'm very surprised why one customer got loop, can bring down so many other customers.

VQ said they will make sure it won't happen again... who wants to test next weekend to see see? :vijayadmin:

Effect of a Network Loop, Cisco Networking All-in-One For Dummies!
http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/effect-of-a-network-loop.html

???? Local network loop can bring down the ISP via OSPF version 3 (assuming VQ is using) for IPv6 protocol?

Give that user a tiger, he/she nailed it. :D

I always do this with idle/off network switches or routers to prevent dust/dirt from getting into the RJ45 ports. :s13:

Ark Law

Better don't test it. Give VQ some time to set it right again. I will be unhappy and angry if someone tries this stunt again and cause another downtime. Also, knowingly causing a downtime could be an illegal act.

I am not OK with using phone data even though I'm still on 12GB grandfather mobile data plan. Yes, I have plenty of mobile data to spare. But, no, I'm not going to use that.

VQ has an SLA to fulfill. That's part of their KPI. If they fail to meet their KPI, then it's their fault.

It doesn't even have to been intentional. It could've just been an innocent family member accidentally unplugged the cable then plug in back wrongly and enough for our ISP to chibabom.

Some people apparently don't feel pinch when internet goes down. I'm never using my $30 6.5GB/mon phone data to stream my 500-800KB/s race or football match should our ISP ever fail.

I don't think they even care about that for us consumers anymore. This must be the only ISP that is uncontactable during downtime/outage, it's so ridiculous that it's hilarious.

VQ is slowly becoming the Asus of the ISP market

tiger2013

It doesn't even have to been intentional. It could've just been an innocent family member accidentally unplugged the cable then plug in back wrongly and enough for our ISP to chibabom.

Some people apparently don't feel pinch when internet goes down. I'm never using my $30 6.5GB/mon phone data to stream my 500-800KB/s race or football match should our ISP ever fail.

I don't think they even care about that for us consumers anymore. This must be the only ISP that is uncontactable during downtime/outage, it's so ridiculous that it's hilarious.

VQ is slowly becoming the Asus of the ISP market

Got so kua zhang? Unplug and plug back in VQ network will go down? Then their network is sibei chui.

Untamed

Agreed....having 2 ISPs is not exactly cheap but it ain't that expensive too; for those of you who work from home and having internet is critical, I would strongly recommend having 2 lines...I have 2 lines at home SingTel@69/mth and VQ@65/mth total about 134.9/mth...for normal users is not realistic la..but for ppl working from home like me...i think its a very sound investment...but that being said..VQ must bloody buck up la...outage is getting too frequent already...if this continues i might just sign up for M1 when my contract expires....at least its a cheaper redundancy..

I don't think he understand or knows what he is talking about. I have 2 back up in fact. Another fiber from MR and another cable modem from Starhub.

There is always a delay in network failover when outage happens and often the swing over to the other connection is not immediate.

Application that is network sensitive will suffer as the session may be terminated and there may be a need to re connect.

For those trading forex will understand the sensitivity. Imagine the link went down in the midst of the announcement of the Non Farm payroll:s8:

A bad service and unreliable network is a bad network. Just because this is a consumer product , we have to suck it up and accept. Just because one is not dependent on his connectivity , everyone else must be the same

viewqwest

Featured Sponsor for Internet Bandwidth & Networki
Whats wrong with ViewQwest internet this week... My internet has been spotty since Friday night and they owe me a callback since Saturday... Cant get through to their technical support either.

Can you PM me your NRIC/VQ Account number? Shouldn't be the case, will help take a look.

I also cannot believe it. Network loops sometimes happen by accident, so i'm very surprised why one customer got loop, can bring down so many other customers.

VQ said they will make sure it won't happen again... who wants to test next weekend to see see? :vijayadmin:

Effect of a Network Loop, Cisco Networking All-in-One For Dummies!
http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/effect-of-a-network-loop.html

Was not a residential customer - would not be possible for a res customer to do this. We're working with them to help ensure it doesn't happen again, but the main thing is the configuration for the protection.

jackycar

Are we getting any compensation for the downtime?

This is the main pt here.

Even when m1 mobile down a few hours they compensate one full day of usage. Remember?

Past outage VQ was down a FEW DAYS. this time it's so close to last time.

The Minimum should be to compensate the same number of days of the outage for next mths bill.

Come on VQ. It's margins vs customer churn (much more damaging) + potential IDA action here

xeRiCo

I doubt anything will be done here.
Like someone said, they have no obligation to do that since we are using consumer lines.
I would rather they reduce the monthly fee in the long run(never gonna happen). :s13:

jackycar

I doubt anything will be done here.
Like someone said, they have no obligation to do that since we are using consumer lines.
I would rather they reduce the monthly fee in the long run(never gonna happen). :s13:

then if they don't do anything, i'm sure people will write to IDA asking for early termination without penalty lor. if VQ prefers that, then sadly, it's a bigger loss for them.

Last time with SH, I had over 20 disconnections in a day from my cable modem, after swapping hardware a few times I got so pissed, i wrote into IDA, i had almost 2 years to go on the contract but i terminated and got my early termination charges waived.

xeRiCo

Vq going down the drain, if super Internet offer similar price, think many will jump

Actually it doesn't really matter in the long run. From what observed so far, everyone will flock to the underdogs saying how good they are. When the ISP starts to get greedy, they bite off more then they can chew and this problem will keep coming back.

If there's an ISP that really keep their customers to the minimum in order to provide real PREMIUM quality services, I will be more then gladly to pay them the premium fee(consumer level) they demand. I thought VQ was one of them but sadly it's not.

I will just get the cheapest fibre plan next since I don't need blazing fast internet to set my house on fire. :D

xRenol

Actually it doesn't really matter in the long run. From what observed so far, everyone will flock to the underdogs saying how good they are. When the ISP starts to get greedy, they bite off more then they can chew and this problem will keep coming back.

If there's an ISP that really keep their customers to the minimum in order to provide real PREMIUM quality services, I will be more then gladly to pay them the premium fee(consumer level) they demand. I thought VQ was one of them but sadly it's not.

I will just get the cheapest fibre plan next since I don't need blazing fast internet to set my house on fire. :D

Someone mentioned about premium ISPs - Singtel Magix and Pacific Internet back then.

jackycar

secureshell

then if they don't do anything, i'm sure people will write to IDA asking for early termination without penalty lor. if VQ prefers that, then sadly, it's a bigger loss for them.

Last time with SH, I had over 20 disconnections in a day from my cable modem, after swapping hardware a few times I got so pissed, i wrote into IDA, i had almost 2 years to go on the contract but i terminated and got my early termination charges waived.

I am more interested to know what is VQ going to do prevent this or improve their network reliability. I think their performance is great but these strange breakdowns are a concern. This to me is more important than 1 or 2 days compensation for the outage.

Also confused as to why their helpdesk number got busy tone. Is it too many people calling?

That being said at least there were updates as to what was going on. Never going to get that kind of updates from the rest.

TechZSG

I am more interested to know what is VQ going to do prevent this or improve their network reliability. I think their performance is great but these strange breakdowns are a concern. This to me is more important than 1 or 2 days compensation for the outage.

Also confused as to why their helpdesk number got busy tone. Is it too many people calling?

That being said at least there were updates as to what was going on. Never going to get that kind of updates from the rest.

Their helpdesk line is VoIP based, so no internet means no calls go through...a very silly system with apparently no fallback.

jackycar

Their helpdesk line is VoIP based, so no internet means no calls go through...a very silly system with apparently no fallback.

It's so simple to have a fallback actually, just provision a singtel hunting line, but maybe they can't port their helpline number over?

ahlee83

VOIP actually very good system and resilient, if designed properly.

A voip system can be configured to be supported by primary and secondary internet links, and if both links are down, automatic failover to PSTN (the traditional telephone system).

I'm sure VQ's VOIP system is configured like that because ViewQwest - Internet Made better.

Not i say one. The big big sticker on the BMW XD3 bi-turbo say one.

BxsdLHk.jpg

j

What a joke. That's just your point of view. I'm asking other evidence of me posting such comments. (I admit I did said some good things about them in the past, but that's a thing of the past)

You guys really make me laugh early this morning. Change ISP won't face anymore downtimes? Oh please.

VQ is going the route of SMRT what. SMRT train break down still profit. Fine, but still many billions per quarter. SMRT focus on retail instead of core train services.

VQ focus also on retail by setting up e-Store to sell things only maybe 3% of their customer base need.

VQ also focus on expanding their TV services and TV Box services that really most of us don't even use.

VQ also focus on buying gimmicks like that F1 car replica and hiring pretty models to make people want to join.

Then also make sure to add extra premium to the pricing wise so that their customers will have the extra premium feels so that when long time subscribers like us from the Raptor 100 days complain that service is going down, you have people under cognitive bias who will come out and defend them for free.

Example quotes they will use:
"I pay high premium price for premium feels, and the downtime didn't affect me much."
"You mean other ISP won't have downtime also meh?"
"One downtime only lah. The other previous 5 didn't affect me, so still counts as one"

Competition so keen these days, if VQ don't invest in their TV Box nonsense, and tag on their VPN services advertised for "Free" and that will "auto cancel once free period over" but the recurring bill just keeps coming till you call in to "verify", how do you think they can make money?

Emphasis in bold.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.