Recommend a Good and Cheap Air-Con Service Company

No offence, but the only thread you post was on this aircon recommding thread. You created account on Aug 2014, and your first post was about recommending (or Self Promote) aircon service by this Mr Ng

14-08-2014

And a list of all your post putting number here and there about Mr Ng.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/search.php?searchid=31570259

I understand if someone is good and you try to help them refer more business. But being active in this forum (And In particular this one thread) for the purpose of recommending particular 1 guy for over 2 years don't seem right.

Either you're getting commission, it's your relative/family business or you're MR NG.

if you're either one of them.. the best way is to come clean and then ask your customer who are senior member here to post their review.

I am not here to frame but i don't want see innocent EDMW getting their money ripped off on 'recommended' Service.

Based on this thread i decided to try this Mr. Ng to fix my casement aircon and what a nightmare! Initially he assessed and concluded that it's a simply a case of coolant top up but told me he had to bring back to his workshop. He quoted me $150 initially i was a bit shocked cos the prices mentioned here hovered around $50+ for actual/split unit but he assured me he would "do a good job" and we settled on $130. A few days passed he came over and reinstalled the unit and just to confirm i ran it one night and after 6 hrs the unit broke down! When he came down he noticed my spoilt multi split unit and told me if i want he can get me a refurbished single split for $9xx and that this was "market price" I was now suspicious because my initial research before getting the casement was single splits and brand new unit can come cheaper than this! So the 2nd time he came he only top up coolant again and sure enuff this time after 3 hrs the unit broke down! My last conversation he told me it was suspected compressor leak and i told him the 1st time he took back to workshop i was under impression that proper assessment of the fault was done and that end of the day i have parted with $130 and had not one but two breakdowns and the problem was not resolved! He said he could fish for a used unit and mentioned something like "transplanting" compressor or the like and to give him "a few days" That was 3 weeks ago :s22:

In conclusion for me

#1 No/not enough due diligence shown - took back unit problem not correctly identified

#2 Not as cheap/professional service as suggested by some in this thread IMO

#3 Little/no follow up

terumo

To whistle blower,

Casement aircon usually most aircon guys will not top up gas, when gas is low = most likely there is a leak and they will recommend you to replace to a new unit.

moonspawn

hi, thanks for the advice.
i am currently using manual via unit, it only enables on/off, but not temperature adjustment and the default is always very low/cold (not sure but maybe 16degree...lol), thus need to get the sensor fixed to adjust the temperature.

hi, i am facing the same problem. how did you get it fixed? can share?

shineshy

"while just spray chemical on the cooling coil surface $40 to $60 ( 20 % clean )
need 10 to 15 min for 1 unit.", empire.

Bro, i feel this statement a little not correct.

My aircon guy did chemical wash can achieve 70-80% clean for $60 (depends on no. of units can be cheaper). I believe he spent 30-40 mins per unit as need to rinse the chemical with water.

if you mean 10-15min can finished job, i believe are those chemical spray cans, spray once and job done. Those chemical spray cans used can corrode aircon fancoil. Over the years, fancoil blades will be weak and break off one by one.

I use only specialised aircon chemicals, only must rinsed off with water and only from recommended aircon company.

hope this can help someone :s12:

Chemical wash at $60 ? sure bo..so cheap ? norm at least 120-160..
he gd ?

To whistle blower,

Casement aircon usually most aircon guys will not top up gas, when gas is low = most likely there is a leak and they will recommend you to replace to a new unit.

Hmm thks that's interesting! I am willing to pay a bit more for a "good job" but this whole episode makes me dissapointed cos i like building and maintaining working relationship with home maintenance peeps be it carpenters, electricians, etc :(

STEVENSAW

Have a new set of air-con install by BEST TECH on 17/12/16. They provide very good service and good pricing.5 thick system 4 LG only cost 3,799.

souleclipse

No offence, but the only thread you post was on this aircon recommding thread. You created account on Aug 2014, and your first post was about recommending (or Self Promote) aircon service by this Mr Ng

14-08-2014

And a list of all your post putting number here and there about Mr Ng.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/search.php?searchid=31570259

I understand if someone is good and you try to help them refer more business. But being active in this forum (And In particular this one thread) for the purpose of recommending particular 1 guy for over 2 years don't seem right.

Either you're getting commission, it's your relative/family business or you're MR NG.

if you're either one of them.. the best way is to come clean and then ask your customer who are senior member here to post their review.

I am not here to frame but i don't want see innocent EDMW getting their money ripped off on 'recommended' Service.

So This MR NG or username : threequarter keep quiet? Wasn't active.. so come in take a look. No reply no nothing. Good luck for those finding MR NG..

"Caveat emptor"

Till now i don't dare engage anybody.. my aircon 2 years old already..lol.. never wash never clean :p Still cold.. now no problem don't later engage already got problem.

nobrain1

Till now i don't dare engage anybody.. my aircon 2 years old already..lol.. never wash never clean :p Still cold.. now no problem don't later engage already got problem.

Lol bro, a/c dun service will spoil faster. do some simple diy maintenance lah.

1. you open up your aircon, you shine torch light inside the fins see got dirt built up or not. if have and still cold go and buy those a/c spray from super market and spray. leave it to set then on your a/c, will help to flush the dirt away.

2. If u have access to a steam cleaner, go and google youtube. steam cleaner can also help to clean a/c.

at least some maintenance will pro-long yr a/c life.

yaksowmi

Lol bro, a/c dun service will spoil faster. do some simple diy maintenance lah.

1. you open up your aircon, you shine torch light inside the fins see got dirt built up or not. if have and still cold go and buy those a/c spray from super market and spray. leave it to set then on your a/c, will help to flush the dirt away.

2. If u have access to a steam cleaner, go and google youtube. steam cleaner can also help to clean a/c.

at least some maintenance will pro-long yr a/c life.

Bro, those spray weaken your aircon coil fins and will cause them to break. Only use specialist aircon chemicals and must rinse with water.

One friend request from me the aircon company i use, i give you SgOzoneAircon.com .or any aircon services company recommended here are good :s13:

arctician

anyone know if the quotation below is reasonable? i got $50 quote to service 2 interior aircon units, just normal cleaning and svcg as one of e units dripping water, no gas topup or chemical overhaul

then they said 2 external compressor located outside apartment very dirty (1 big and 1 small) and quoted $80 per compressor for cleaning, so total $210 just to service compressor and aircon

i know $50 for 2 interior unit is market rate, but how about svcg @$80 per compressor? appreciate advice

~sabaisabai~

bro, $50 for two units is reasonable price leh... market price...

if they really charge u lower than that, then u may have fear if they will do a good job bo;)=:p

anyone know if the quotation below is reasonable? i got $50 quote to service 2 interior aircon units, just normal cleaning and svcg as one of e units dripping water, no gas topup or chemical overhaul

then they said 2 external compressor located outside apartment very dirty (1 big and 1 small) and quoted $80 per compressor for cleaning, so total $210 just to service compressor and aircon

i know $50 for 2 interior unit is market rate, but how about svcg @$80 per compressor? appreciate advice

arctician

bro, $50 for two units is reasonable price leh... market price...

if they really charge u lower than that, then u may have fear if they will do a good job bo;)=:p

yes dude but how about $80 to clean compressor outside e unit? i know $50 for 2 aircon units is fair but compressor seems ex

testerjp

Is it possible to have a system 1 air con just for a single room or buy a portafilter ac is better?

I've a relative with this problem.

The air con piping is 20 years already.
Air con is 10 years old.
Always not cold.
Has 4 air con but only 2 active.

Got one air con guy got say before is probably gas leak but never really check.
After his top up, always not cold soon after.
Dont' know is gas leak or they release gas.

The piping is hidden in cupboard, so how?
Will the air con installation guy dig out and lay new network or lay over? Will the seller of the air con do the job?

What's the best advice for such case?

gnooliew

yes dude but how about $80 to clean compressor outside e unit? i know $50 for 2 aircon units is fair but compressor seems ex

Cleaning compressor usually included in the general servicing at no additional oonal cost. Unless u mean chemical cleaning then probably sounds ok. Which company u engaged anyway? Good not.

empirestrike

Is it possible to have a system 1 air con just for a single room or buy a portafilter ac is better?

I've a relative with this problem.

The air con piping is 20 years already.
Air con is 10 years old.
Always not cold.
Has 4 air con but only 2 active.

Got one air con guy got say before is probably gas leak but never really check.
After his top up, always not cold soon after.
Dont' know is gas leak or they release gas.

The piping is hidden in cupboard, so how?
Will the air con installation guy dig out and lay new network or lay over? Will the seller of the air con do the job?

What's the best advice for such case?

comfirm leak gas liao..... :D:D:D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.