[Official] Home Automation Thread

ksapple

Hi, anyone here tried installing aeotec nano switch to their storage heater?

Or anyother zwave relay? Do you use a proxy for it? a 10 amp z wave switch can use it for 1500W de storage heater ma?

youcantstopme

Hi, I will be collecting my keys for my new house soon and planning to go for home automation to keep up with smart living trend. The Interior designer I may be engaging suggested KNX Home Automation by Schneider Electric. Anyone currently using this system? I was told that this solution is more for commercial building but they are entering the residential market now and price is competitive. Does anyone knows if I should go for this or should I ask for more option?

i recommend u just do research and do it yourself.

point being, eventually u have to do it yourself, cant possibly ask the contractor to come down everything u wanna add something to your ecosystem. might as well start early and save some money.

youcantstopme

Or anyother zwave relay? Do you use a proxy for it? a 10 amp z wave switch can use it for 1500W de storage heater ma?

this is a question i asked and still have no answer. haha.

bullfrog

I am using belkin wemo light switch to control my storage heater. But i use a contactor due the higher watts required.

I saw on amazon someone did something similar but theirs cost alot more than what i did

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00O3UBOMG/ref=cm_sw_r_other_apa_NrPcAbBSX9NCB

Tuakong

Seems lik a USA brand 'broadlink', looks cool.

But think doesnt support all types of templates too wit Alexa yet. Hope Broadlink and Bond can work on dat.

Bro
Broadlink is Tiong brand

lazy666

Sorry guys I bought Alexa 1st gen last time, downloaded the app from US AppStore cos sg AppStore don't have.

It's been a couple of years now I'm just wondering if Alexa has any updates on it's app? I can't really switch to US AppStore now to check...

shacboi

Bro
Broadlink is Tiong brand

yes, i know, i was referring to the BOND brand that bullfrog shared, that one i think is USA brand. haha, but currently BOND can only support the ceiling fan remote sia, i think broadlink is better. Hope broadlink fixes the other template sync up with Alexa soon. :s12:

shacboi

Sorry guys I bought Alexa 1st gen last time, downloaded the app from US AppStore cos sg AppStore don't have.

It's been a couple of years now I'm just wondering if Alexa has any updates on it's app? I can't really switch to US AppStore now to check...

yes, in end-OCT just had a new update, i think u can just download apk if u using Android, if iPhone i'm not too sure.

---Alexa app (Android)---
apkmonk.com/app/com.amazon.dee.app/

SOS9112001

Hi, I will be collecting my keys for my new house soon and planning to go for home automation to keep up with smart living trend. The Interior designer I may be engaging suggested KNX Home Automation by Schneider Electric. Anyone currently using this system? I was told that this solution is more for commercial building but they are entering the residential market now and price is competitive. Does anyone knows if I should go for this or should I ask for more option?

Can reveal the quote details from SE?

shacboi

Planning. Planning to get harmony, echo dot2.
How to pair the lights and the aircon in all the different rooms?

I dun have Harmony, but i tink it is using IR and Wifi to control compartible certain big brands devices e.g like Philips Hue bulbs.

lookin at it, lets say u using philips hue bulbs, part 1 u should be able to control it via harmony, once this is achieved then come the part 2 of asking echo dot(alexa) to control ur harmony.

as for aircon, tink aircon remote is IR therefore u probably may 'control' only the aircon which the harmony is residing at (e.g living room), shld be sumthing lik that.

if u r using broadlink rm pro, then i can share with u more in details as im more familiar with that. :s12:

Hellotherethere

Can share on broadlink rm pro? I am open. Thinking whether to buy Google mini or Echo dot as well. Which is better?

I dun have Harmony, but i tink it is using IR and Wifi to control compartible certain big brands devices e.g like Philips Hue bulbs.

lookin at it, lets say u using philips hue bulbs, part 1 u should be able to control it via harmony, once this is achieved then come the part 2 of asking echo dot(alexa) to control ur harmony.

as for aircon, tink aircon remote is IR therefore u probably may 'control' only the aircon which the harmony is residing at (e.g living room), shld be sumthing lik that.

if u r using broadlink rm pro, then i can share with u more in details as im more familiar with that. :s12:

shacboi

Can share on broadlink rm pro? I am open. Thinking whether to buy Google mini or Echo dot as well. Which is better?

I only use Echo Dot (Alexa) before, guess i pretty much like it , for comparison with Google Mini mayb u can refer to this article ( digitaltrends.com/home/google-home-mini-vs-amazon-echo-dot/ ).

Broadlink RM pro (relatively cheap) right now can be controlled with 2 apps, e-remote and the newer IHC. Only IHC is directly compartible with Alexa BUT only the 'TV remote' template is recgonised by Alexa as of now, so you need to do some 'tweaks/hacks' to make it work with Alexa. Videos can be found on youtube such as ( youtube.com/watch?v=6qGGW8hcgOA ) Besides this, i think RM pro is quite value for it's price, as it is IR + RF (433/315mhz).

Generally TV remote, cablebox remote, ceiling fan remote, aircon remote can be controlled using the RM pro. (all needs to be configured on the app as 'TV template' as mentioned earlier)

After which, use Alexa to discover the devices and then you can use the voice command to control.

for me, i oso bought some brandless RF sockets which uses 433mhz remote, therefore im able to use rm pro to control the sockets too. The sockets i used on wall switch controlling lik bedlamps, floor lamps, etc.

currently things i control using Alexa are, 2 rooms ceiling fans (speed & light), bedside lamps, floor lamp, TV remote, cablebox remote. Thinkin of adding Alexa to my bedroom so can do the pairing of group play music, stream from international channels from TuneIn. And also mayb in future change my wall light switch to broadlink TC2 switches so can use rm pro control too.

Hmmm.. Not sure what else u want to know on rm pro. Hope this helps! :s22:

blackestvoid

I only use Echo Dot (Alexa) before, guess i pretty much like it , for comparison with Google Mini mayb u can refer to this article ( digitaltrends.com/home/google-home-mini-vs-amazon-echo-dot/ ).

Broadlink RM pro (relatively cheap) right now can be controlled with 2 apps, e-remote and the newer IHC. Only IHC is directly compartible with Alexa BUT only the 'TV remote' template is recgonised by Alexa as of now, so you need to do some 'tweaks/hacks' to make it work with Alexa. Videos can be found on youtube such as ( youtube.com/watch?v=6qGGW8hcgOA ) Besides this, i think RM pro is quite value for it's price, as it is IR + RF (433/315mhz).

Generally TV remote, cablebox remote, ceiling fan remote, aircon remote can be controlled using the RM pro. (all needs to be configured on the app as 'TV template' as mentioned earlier)

After which, use Alexa to discover the devices and then you can use the voice command to control.

for me, i oso bought some brandless RF sockets which uses 433mhz remote, therefore im able to use rm pro to control the sockets too. The sockets i used on wall switch controlling lik bedlamps, floor lamps, etc.

currently things i control using Alexa are, 2 rooms ceiling fans (speed & light), bedside lamps, floor lamp, TV remote, cablebox remote. Thinkin of adding Alexa to my bedroom so can do the pairing of group play music, stream from international channels from TuneIn. And also mayb in future change my wall light switch to broadlink TC2 switches so can use rm pro control too.

can share or gpgt your brandless RF sockets?
interested to get as well if the rf can be decoded

shacboi

can share or gpgt your brandless RF sockets?
interested to get as well if the rf can be decoded

I bought the RF sockets from this seller in shopee, ( shopee.sg/product/6246308/31643103/ )
bout $28.40 but i think no longer available sia.

I think these 2 will work too since in description got mention 433.92mhz
( shopee.sg/3pcs-Wireless-UK-Plug-in-Mains-Socket-Remote-Control-Energy-Saving-Switch-EXWD-i.25958852.648870171 )
( shopee.sg/4-Pack-Wireless-Remote-Control-AC-Electrical-Power-Outlet-Switch-Socket-UK-Plug-i.7303211.442631533 )

Hellotherethere

Sounds good! I am thinking of having a Harmony for my living room (tv, aircon, etc) and rm pro for my bedroom (just aircon) and pair the harmony and rm pro to my Echo dot. Does this work?

shacboi

Sounds good! I am thinking of having a Harmony for my living room (tv, aircon, etc) and rm pro for my bedroom (just aircon) and pair the harmony and rm pro to my Echo dot. Does this work?

Hmm.m.. from my understanding, i don't think there is any issue with ur planned setup, as long the relevant devices (harmony & RM pro) are linked to their respective controlled devices.

u just need to enable the Echo Dot skills for broadlink &harmony and shld be able to give voice command as per planned. :s13:

Hellotherethere

Cool. Will try the setup and see how. Any recommendation to buy the devices cheaper?

Hmm.m.. from my understanding, i don't think there is any issue with ur planned setup, as long the relevant devices (harmony & RM pro) are linked to their respective controlled devices.

u just need to enable the Echo Dot skills for broadlink &harmony and shld be able to give voice command as per planned. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.