Mattress - which brand / types? Part 2

lookingahead

I saw mylatex mattress at the furniture mall (Toh Guan) at Wynn furnishing today. Queen size 2in latex with pocketed spring (fully Malaysia made). Promo price 1399. Seems like the legit mylatex. Anyone bought from Wynn before? Btw, mylatex mattress seems to be a lot cheaper if buy from Malaysia.

http://thefurnituremall.com.sg/new/showroom/furniture/wynn-furnishing-01-38/

Also went to check out getha mattress. The Silk Dynasty (latex with coconut husk) quite nice. Priced at 2.2k++ after disc. Delivery 1 month.

Getha definitely feels nicer but on the soft side.

testerjp

They got state their specs.
l96JLIw.jpg

1cm latex as well don't put. :o

testerjp

I saw mylatex mattress at the furniture mall (Toh Guan) at Wynn furnishing today. Queen size 2in latex with pocketed spring (fully Malaysia made). Promo price 1399. Seems like the legit mylatex. Anyone bought from Wynn before? Btw, mylatex mattress seems to be a lot cheaper if buy from Malaysia.

Also went to check out getha mattress. The Silk Dynasty (latex with coconut husk) quite nice. Priced at 2.2k++ after disc. Delivery 1 month.

You got the model or not?
I always use easyhouse's price as guide.

3 inch pure latex plus pocket spring $899
https://easyhouse.com.sg/shop/bedroom/carson-pocketed-spring-with-top-latex-padded-mattress-12/
Don't know how good or suitable, i'm using TilamKing's but it cost SGD1799 for also 3in latex + pocket spring~! I bought that before I knew about Mylatex. :(

I almost forgot, I bought Mylatex's formula for my relative before.
It's damn firm until my relative kpkb says it created backaches.
The specs say "compressed" latex, don't know what it means or how much chemicals added but it's really stiff.

One thing I don't like about Mylatex is they don't answer emails, or state all their models on their website. :o

lookingahead

https://easyhouse.com.sg/shop/bedroom/carson-pocketed-spring-with-top-latex-padded-mattress-12/
Don't know how good or suitable, i'm using TilamKing's but it cost SGD1799 for also 3in latex + pocket spring~! I bought that before I knew about Mylatex. :(

The specs say "compressed" latex, don't know what it means or how much chemicals added but it's really stiff.

One thing I don't like about Mylatex is they don't answer emails, or state all their models on their website. :o

The sales lady wasn't very friendly. I was told not allow to take photos and the model in their showroom only available to them. Not sure how true. The model should be mylatex jubilee. I tried almost all the mylatex mattress in the showroom. They were all too firm except this jubilee one, probably has already seasoned. Will continue to look ard before deciding.

testerjp

BTW I got chopped into buying the super single Formula Mylatex at $999, i bought it on impulse from a shop at IMM.

When I saw easy house's price at $699, I was damn sad. :(

One thing good about pure latex without the spring is they are flippable, and can use both sides if i'm not wrong. This can mean that you can use it much longer before replacement required.
Sometimes I wonder why some brands will put it so proudly that their mattress are "non-flip", it's not an advantage at all. :o

lampano

Voc from packaging should not be that much. Air for 12 hours with a fan facing it should be enough ba. It is the voc that are released passively from those synthetic foam that we need to worry.
I using Getha full latex pillow...got rubber smell....harmful not ?
I kinda like the smell :o

testerjp

I using Getha full latex pillow...got rubber smell....harmful not ?
I kinda like the smell :o
Don't know leh, maybe it's the smell of nature to help you sleep better? :o
I ordered their bolsters, coming at night.

Anyway, you see if their products are certified lor.

testerjp

My getha latex bolsters arrived. Happy with it. $78 per pc. $10 delivery fee. :o

UO

I actually just bought the $899 queen easyhouse mylatex with 3 inch latex spring mattress someone recommended last week. Not a fussy person regarding beds and it turned out very nicely.

What I am fussy about is my pillow though. I have went thru a few Akemi outlast spaceman contour memory foam pillow for years. Recently I made a "mistake" of airing it under shelter for 3-4 hrs instead of usual 1hr. Soon after I started having stiff necks and am guessing the memory foam got "harden". Pretty dam pissed cos this $99 pillow is only 3 months old.

Anyone who has used contoured memory foam pillow knows how they sink in compared to latex pillow? Saw testerjp link to Getha, maybe whack from there. Considering IUIGA one too.

https://www.iuiga.com/Home/Pillows/Classic-Comfort-Pillow-282-802.html
Mainly back and side sleeper.

AKEMI-OUTLAST-MEMORY-PILLOW-soft-copy1.jpg

testerjp

I only bought the bolster, tbh I think it's abit too big but look like everyone is selling around that size. If there's talalay bolster, that will be the best.

Actually I was looking at taobao, latex is cheap. They seem to source most of their latex from Thailand which is the biggest producer in the world.
I got a feeling talalay lalex pillows are better for me.

I think those china sellers even allow customization, they can cut mattesses to singapore sizes, that is if you want full latex. :o

MaoZeDuo

MyLatex actually responded to me and say they unable to advise as the models in sg are different... in fact they gave me a sg contact for further enquiries...

MaoZeDuo

Xiaomi also have latex mattress sourced from thailand

I only bought the bolster, tbh I think it's abit too big but look like everyone is selling around that size. If there's talalay bolster, that will be the best.

Actually I was looking at taobao, latex is cheap. They seem to source most of their latex from Thailand which is the biggest producer in the world.
I got a feeling talalay lalex pillows are better for me.

I think those china sellers even allow customization, they can cut mattesses to singapore sizes, that is if you want full latex. :o

testerjp

Natural or Synthetic latex: The word “latex” can be confusing for consumers, because it has been used to describe both natural and synthetic products interchangeably, without adequate explanation. This product can be 100% natural (natural latex) or 100% man-made (derived from petrochemicals) – or it can be a combination of the two – the so called “natural latex”. Also, remember latex is rubber and rubber is latex.

Natural latex – The raw material for natural latex comes from a renewable resource – it is obtained from the sap of the Hevea Brasiliensis (rubber) tree, and was once widely used for cushioning. Rubber trees are cultivated, mainly in South East Asia, through a new planting and replanting program by large scale plantation and small farmers to ensure a continuous sustainable supply of natural latex. Natural latex is both recyclable and biodegradeable, and is mold, mildew and dust mite resistant. It is not highly flammable and does not require fire retardant chemicals to pass the Cal 117 test. It has little or no off-gassing associated with it. Because natural rubber has high energy production costs (although a smaller footprint than either polyurethane or soy-based foams[2]), and is restricted to a limited supply, it is more costly than petroleum based foam.
Synthetic latex – The terminology is very confusing, because synthetic latex is often referred to simply as “latex” or even “100% natural latex”. It is also known as styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR). The chemical styrene is toxic to the lungs, liver, and brain. Synthetic additives are added to achieve stabilization. Often however, synthetic latex can be made of combinations of polyurethane and natural latex, or a combination of 70% natural latex and 30% SBR. Most stores sell one of these versions under the term “natural latex” – so caveat emptor! Being petroleum based, the source of supply for the production of synthetic latex is certainly non-sustainable and diminishing as well.
Next I would like to talk about those new soy based foams that are all the rage, but I don’t want to bite off too much. It’s a big topic and one that deserves its own post. So that’s going to be next week’s post!
https://oecotextiles.wordpress.com/tag/styrene-butadiene-rubber/

Look like it's hard to tell latex is real or fake.

The chemical that they add is call styrene-butadiene rubber, maybe buyers need to ask the producer which of their series add that. :(

Iremos

May I know the getha silk dynasty mattress you saw is from singapore or Malaysia?

testerjp

Think using price to gauge, is quite unreliable.

My Getha bolsters has this parfum don't know on the cover or rubber. Don't know why they do it or wanna mask what. In anyway, fragrance is a no no. My Serta Latex pillows also has a light fragrance on it.

Mylatex's website claim that their tara range has totally no synthetic rubber and they are priced quite okay. http://myaerofoam.com/en/product/tara/

Of course, don't know how much their words are worth. It could also be due to they are the first tier of production with own rubber plantation to offer amazing prices. Maybe need to go lowyat to check out.

Don't know why, everyone likes to use such small or no photos to show their certs.
Hoz0FUG.png

:o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.