Is JB Petrol Really Cheaper??

xhlee87

I know with an exchange rate of 1:3 it's about 2.5 times cheaper than petrol in Singapore.

But if you factor in CC discount (Esso's 21%), the toll you have to pay in ($12?) and the smile points you get to accumulate (that can be used to change for vouchers), how much are you actually saving?

Anyone did the math?

Assuming 35 litre @ $2.38 (msia) = $83 + $20 + $3 = $106/3 = $35 + $1 = $36
Tuas peak = $36 + $8 = $44
Tuas off peak = $36 + $3 = $39
Tuas peak & off peak = 36 + $5.60 = $41.60
Assuming 35 litre @ $2.21 (Spore) = $77 @ 83% = $76 - $3 = $73 - $1.4 (35litre x $0.04) = $72

83% instant discount, $3 for additional $7 for net $180 spent and $1.40 for $30 for 750 smile points.

sanchin

Now go in just for petrol not worth lah, go in like day trip spending on food grocery etc

As for phv drivers no one will go in just for fuel also, the time spend go in and return. drive phv earns more than saving..

trento

How much value u get from going to jb depends on a person character. If u are those type who like to nua at home, even $100 saving they will not feel worth it.
If u are those who like to go out on weekend to visit cafe, do shopping or love food, even $10 saving they will feel worth it.
Can argue till cows come home also no answer.

The bigger saving are baby pampers, milk power and woman cosmetic.
Normal car wash with interior vacuum is about 10myr.
If u know the timing to go on weekend, time spend at custom can be 30 mins for in and out excluding traveling from home to custom and vice versa.

ya savings are there for sure. not an issue with how much cos it's up to individual. even movie at most 10-12rm, sg i already lost count lol.

but if only talk petrol, then the bigger savings will go to large fuel tanks like conti car. a 60 litre full tank in sg can be $120-150. this is wat u roughly pay in jb, in rm. assuming u enter around half tank cos usually they won't catch at this level. after tolls and penalties u still save quite a bit. The Woodlands custom will pay abit less for tolls.

really_noob

ya savings are there for sure. not an issue with how much cos it's up to individual. even movie at most 10-12rm, sg i already lost count lol.

but if only talk petrol, then the bigger savings will go to large fuel tanks like conti car. a 60 litre full tank in sg can be $120-150. this is wat u roughly pay in jb, in rm. assuming u enter around half tank cos usually they won't catch at this level. after tolls and penalties u still save quite a bit. The Woodlands custom will pay abit less for tolls.

I never see them check petrol level for a very long time. I think they might resume checking soon to enforce the diesel car rule. Nowadays our government like to show that they are doing work and the law isn't there for fun.

The mind of the consumer is very interesting. People who don't have a lot of time (work, family, slack at home) will rather pay the $20 or $30 more to fill up in SG than spending the time and effort going into JB just to fill petrol.

But there's another group who gets satisfaction by saving every cent and actually spending the time to travel just to get cheap petrol. It's very psychological and in economics terms, the value that this person gets back is more than the $20 or $30 saved.

HondaJG

The mind of the consumer is very interesting. People who don't have a lot of time (work, family, slack at home) will rather pay the $20 or $30 more to fill up in SG than spending the time and effort going into JB just to fill petrol.

these group of pple are mainly with family (including kids) or frequent business travelers :D

But there's another group who gets satisfaction by saving every cent and actually spending the time to travel just to get cheap petrol. It's very psychological and in economics terms, the value that this person gets back is more than the $20 or $30 saved.

these group of pple are mainly frequent weekend groceries shoppers or not married pple loh :s13::s13:

does saving $20 or $30 also included time spend to travel and also VEP/Toll/etc?

trento

I never see them check petrol level for a very long time. I think they might resume checking soon to enforce the diesel car rule. Nowadays our government like to show that they are doing work and the law isn't there for fun.

They still check but rare. Ppl go in for shopping n makan too. Cos sg only how big n go until sian

koolaid

Yes sg petrol cheaper and better n more powderful. Y'all pls don't go jb ok?

Knn

myviowner

As long as think is beneficial to them, welcome... continue to head north.
While those think their time is previous and not worth the time spend in the north, continue this routine as well...

Aaron_soh80

I know with an exchange rate of 1:3 it's about 2.5 times cheaper than petrol in Singapore.

But if you factor in CC discount (Esso's 21%), the toll you have to pay in ($12?) and the smile points you get to accumulate (that can be used to change for vouchers), how much are you actually saving?

Anyone did the math?

only pump full tank earn...

Aaron_soh80

wow! simi petrol? 1 liter can save $1? :s13::s13:

i pump full tank 97 (40L) in JB about RM 100 +toll fee RM22.9 + 1SGD = RM125.9
I pump full tank at spc -95 (40L) with oub card 21% is about SGD 72

that about $30 different lo..

HondaJG

i pump full tank 97 (40L) in JB about RM 100 +toll fee RM22.9 + 1SGD = RM125.9
I pump full tank at spc -95 (40L) with oub card 21% is about SGD 72
that about $30 different lo..

RM125.9? is petrol cost to travel and also time spend included?

& when you are in JB? are you sure you will go for ron97? or v-power leh? :s13::s13:

xtwis7

If you’re staying in Pasir Ris maybe not so justified. Closer to Woodlands go in at non peak hours will have the most substantial savings. 1-2 hours settle?

RM125.9? is petrol cost to travel and also time spend included?

& when you are in JB? are you sure you will go for ron97? or v-power leh? :s13::s13:

Ec7171

If you’re staying in Pasir Ris maybe not so justified. Closer to Woodlands go in at non peak hours will have the most substantial savings. 1-2 hours settle?

Should also include the time spent and additional fuel for going in, out, jams etc,

Time spent is 45mins? And it should be those odd hours timing.
45mins-1hr save $30? You all decide if it is substantial.

trento

Should also include the time spent and additional fuel for going in, out, jams etc,

Time spent is 45mins? And it should be those odd hours timing.
45mins-1hr save $30? You all decide if it is substantial.

$30 per week. $120 per month. The math is there. Shiok or not up to u.

gctmls

In essence you exchange time for money.. And whether worth it or not depends on how much you value your time.. Worth it or not is very subjective and there isn't going to be standard answer to your qns

xhlee87

This question is, is JB pertrol really cheaper which the answer it yes.
On paper, it is as their 1 litre is equivalent to 1 litre in SG ignoring exchange rate.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.