'Award-winning' production company responds to backlash over asking caterer to sponsor free food

BlackWing1977

168 packs the chef can ownself cook. software sorry, 1 developer cannot. :s13:

Giving away copies of software or games nowadays is very different from last time liao... nowadays dun need any physical media.. just a link or a code will do... so it is just part of their marketing strategy... just look at EPICGames every week give away 1 to 3 games for free... :s22:

pwongkk

microsoft give "free" windows to everyone.

winzip founder give "free" winzip to everyone.

got bankrupt? :s13:

How much MS earns from corporate licensing?
Now MS going subscription mode. You have to keep paying.

wadsad

Giving away copies of software or games nowadays is very different from last time liao... nowadays dun need any physical media.. just a link or a code will do... so it is just part of their marketing strategy... just look at EPICGames every week give away 1 to 3 games for free... :s22:

winzip how many years ago. :s13: nvm say liao, can understand, will understand. cannot then bo bian. :s13:

BlackWing1977

I mean as a episode focus on their company leh... not just credits... I think nowadays credits alone on some obscure TV program doesn't do much...

I think you sponsor or pay some YouTubers you probably get better results... :s22:

royfang

Am I the only one who thinks this person should replace his cracked screen protector? :s13:

wadsad

How much MS earns from corporate licensing?
Now MS going subscription mode. You have to keep paying.

in that context, which is why i went to the extend to say everyone. i think fair enough comparison to the chef sponsoring only 1 coy. :s13:

the OS still "free" :s13:

Poomer

If I own a F&B, sure. You gonna fund me in opening an F&B?

Larger companies have an advertising budget. This falls under that account. Budget use finish? No money? Not interested? Then politely reject say no opportunities for now.

This counts as a potential business partner. You don’t burn bridges like that. No wonder people say Singaporeans are not good bosses.

So you mean you got vision and funds to pay $2k for unsolicited sponsorship but no funds to open an f&b. that cant be right man.

slashershot

wadsad

they are not free for corporate use though.

Sent from Motorola Dynatac 8000X using GAGT

give chance can when see my analogy. :s13:

microsoft sponsor the entire world minus corp. this chef only sponsoring 1 coy. :s13:

demongod

Want free food at least make sure they do some real advertising for then la. Knn word it until potentially feature, maybe will feature. Say until like this means confirm not gonna feature

Sent from Samsung SM-N960F using GAGT

crossair

Want free food at least make sure they do some real advertising for then la. Knn word it until potentially feature, maybe will feature. Say until like this means confirm not gonna feature

Sent from Samsung SM-N960F using GAGT

This.

Everyone here up in arms about begging but missed the point entirely. This is actually the perfect opportunity for a meaningful negotiation arising from a poorly worded solicitation for sponsorship, instead the boss chose to burn bridge.

wadsad

1. if ur show pulling 1.6mil u cant afford 2.1k seems like a problem

2. this probably a one off reality tv show. can even hit 500k!?

also, exposure can eat one? small coy eat small coy then say how come we no locally grown mncs. :s22:
at least offer to buy on discount la, u got bulk and got exposure can nego good rates what. both happy.

can save money who dont want. 2.1k can pay off calefare leh. :s13:

even arsenal also retrench their mascot liao. how much their mascot earning nia. :s13:

behind the scenes really got alot of all these deals la. mediacorpse or other big coys also no diff. :s13: some even pay them to be allowed to sponsor them. :s13:

pwongkk

I do agree, why dun u be a man, take $2k and sponsor them.

dun jjww but when asked for 2k, 101 excuses all come out

The production company so low on budget that they have to ask for sponsorship. On what grounds?

Can't they contract the caterer to supply the meals for the duration and pay for it? As you say, 2k only. A production house can't afford?

I believe these are for profit activities, which passed off the caterer.

If this is donating to the underprivileged for them to have a proper meals, I'm sure many would have done so.

BlackWing1977

Ultimately I think the chef find that it is not a good deal also... so he roast them lor...

My company also sometime help with all these TV production... but they never demand until like that lar... and if the demand is higher like need to sponsor few thousand dollars worth of products.. they products they used it in almost every episode of their program leh... so there are product placement... :s22:

slashershot

can save money who dont want. 2.1k can pay off calefare leh. :s13:

even arsenal also retrench their mascot liao. how much their mascot earning nia. :s13:

behind the scenes really got alot of all these deals la. mediacorpse or other big coys also no diff. :s13: some even pay them to be allowed to sponsor them. :s13:

This one I agree got alot of deals. just like hollywood alot of sexual scandals.
Just because it is a norm before does not mean it's correct and this what being progressive means, changing what is wrong.

BlackWing1977

The production company so low on budget that they have to ask for sponsorship. On what grounds?

Can't they contract the caterer to supply the meals for the duration and pay for it? As you say, 2k only. A production house can't afford?

I believe these are for profit activities, which passed off the caterer.

If this is donating to the underprivileged for them to have a proper meals, I'm sure many would have done so.

You are absolutely correct on this.. if the production company is doing a special episode on some orphanage or old age home... ask for sponsorship for the old folks or kids.. and at the same time for the crew.. I am sure they wun kena roast.. so in short... knn gian png lar.. :s13:

Poomer

This.

Everyone here up in arms about begging but missed the point entirely. This is actually the perfect opportunity for a meaningful negotiation arising from a poorly worded solicitation for sponsorship, instead the boss chose to burn bridge.

isnt this why we call it begging? nothing to offer but want free?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.