Too free after retrenchment

coolmyth

TS, all I wanna say ish 加油. Dun give up. Keep applying. Miracles can happen. :s7:

Acetone

No lah... after 50 hard to find jobs... just chill, live simple and do grab lor.

Don’t be like the SIA pilot. Have 19k expenses every month.... it is the harsh reality of SG

After 50 no need to eat meh...... discriminatory ageism...

slashershot

With your engineering background, you should looking at OT than IT.

OT focus more on automation, robotic, PLCs, sensors etc etc..

It will be more and more in demand.

what kind of job roles are this ah. asking for a friend. :o

whatmeworry

I can feel TS freedom.
Retrenchment benefits smelly smelly few thousands $$$, but no where to go for holidays.

bluecutie

Not discriminate.. is just that it I got retrench.. I don't think I even have mood to enjoy cai png bah.. will be keep looking for job and eat bread first...

current economy a lot ppl jobless

dont take it too hard on urself la

CountingDays

Recently, I met someone who is also retrenched. Like you, she studied engineering and was working in O&G industry :( below 30
Damn, how is she doing right now?

With your engineering background, you should looking at OT than IT.

OT focus more on automation, robotic, PLCs, sensors etc etc..

It will be more and more in demand.
Yeah, I have thought of it. I have always though automation and robotics is the way to go in the future. But when I research on the robotics, the pay is pretty low. :s11:
I have been hearing people pitching that automation will replace many jobs(eg accountancy/bank ops/ admin etc) in the future for so many years. But so far everything is still pretty much the same. Those financial jobs are still has better prospect than automation/robotics engineering in Singapore. SG as a financial hub is just not built for engineers to do well...

Chitchatguy

current economy a lot ppl jobless

dont take it too hard on urself la

I just curious.. is it really alot of ppl jobless? Or really it appear in edmwers only?

I saw alot of queue in restaurant and shops..

Alot jobless but they are rich?

jericho75

I just curious.. is it really alot of ppl jobless? Or really it appear in edmwers only?

Orchard crowd reduced about 50-60% liao

By year end lagi worst

middleclass

Recession only happens in edmw
:(

Sent from middle class using GAGT

Laguna123

Damn, how is she doing right now?

Yeah, I have thought of it. I have always though automation and robotics is the way to go in the future. But when I research on the robotics, the pay is pretty low. :s11:
I have been hearing people pitching that automation will replace many jobs(eg accountancy/bank ops/ admin etc) in the future for so many years. But so far everything is still pretty much the same. Those financial jobs are still has better prospect than automation/robotics engineering in Singapore. The sg as a financial hub is just not built for engineers to do well...

It’s the same for bank lah. Their bank end operation also moving overseas with cheaper workers.
Bank looking for ppl that do compliances and sales most of the time.

CountingDays

When it hits bottom, the only way is up.

Sent from middle class using GAGT
Or it can just stay at the bottom for a few years. Problem is the pay will all go to the higher rank guys since the pay freeze for all..

Ts last drawn is how much?
Retrenchment package how much?
Grad engineer pay. I got caught with pay freeze. Package few months.

It could be the rare occasion that they are eating in the restaurant. I still bring girls to restaurant even when I'm unemployed now. Three to four times per month isn't gonna hurt my finance.:s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.