Only 32,000 take home less than WP's proposed $1,300 minimum wage

Darwinson

Pay cleaners $4,000 a month. Some PMETs will quit their jobs for these stress-free jobs. They will make sure the tables are polished until can see their faces. Serve the customers with a smile and even converse in multiple linguistics.

I mean. Lots of pmets has already quit for driving grab

The barrier for entry to grab/Uber is low for sinkies. That’s why it’s enticing for them to join that trade than to work hard and slog at their PMET role. Worst still someone else is in control of your time while grab is OTOT

muddywaters

You all want to increase this increase that , don't later kpkb why prices of things increase hor...

Just have to keep in mind ultimately some one will have to pay for it , and it won't be the bosses.

If you are fine with it, then sure, by all means, go for min wage.
:s12:

Konnichiwa

With this type of salary, sign me up to be a cleaner now.

Push for the government to implement.
Be compassionate. Don’t be selfish.
PAP have been selfish... u know what I mean :s13:
Ask for $15,000... after negotiation will be around $10,000
Thank me later bro

Apex01

Your tax paying for my JSS? LMAO

If you follow my posts, you will know I don't need these.

I'm pretty sure I pay more tax than you. It starts with 5 figure in personal income tax. I also pay corporate tax from the companies I own.

You don't have to believe me. Take is as csb, I'm fine with it. Lol

muddywaters sounds like typical liar who claims he earns so much money.
But extremely against letting lowest wage workers earn more. This is an example of exploiting poor workers.

muddywaters

But extremely against letting lowest wage workers earn more. This is a case of exploiting poor workers.
Just take what I said as csb lor....

Don't have to believe me lah. I'm fine with it. Lol

Konnichiwa

But extremely against letting lowest wage workers earn more. This is an example of exploiting poor workers.

Aiyah ... he already push for $10k
He is ten times better than WP MP...
Support him for next GE... he confirm better... and me too I push for $15k leh...
$1300 people also cannot escape property cycle...

MrFish

The market forces doesnt work like that leh.

By your logic all jobs will become $1300 jobs.

Those jobs paying more than 1.3k are supported by market forces....

Very likely, salary paying $1500-$1800 will be adjusted to $1300

boredom2012

You all want to increase this increase that , don't later kpkb why prices of things increase hor...

Just have to keep in mind ultimately some one will have to pay for it , and it won't be the bosses.

If you are fine with it, then sure, by all means, go for min wage.
:s12:
Levy also increase price too. Only those not benefit government coffers do not implement. Only implement those benefit government coffers. That is progressive wages model for you.

muddywaters

U know about those *********compassionate********* people lah
U know I know lor

Ya. Want to be compassionate yet later when costs are passed on , kpkb why things now cost more.

Not say cannot have minimum wage but if people are happy that they eventually will be the ones bearing the costs, then ok lor, let's do minimum wage to help out. Why not ... :s13: :s13:

Apex01

Errrr.... The bosses will just pass on the costs to consumers. They will not bear the increase in wages.

So frankly bosses don't really care you want minimum wage or not. They will simply pass it on, maybe even slap on more margins, using the excuse that "oh now there's minimum wage so our costs increased hence price increases"...

Bosses are happy to have nonsense policies like minimum wage or increase in this fees and that fees, because now got legit excuses to increases prices AND margins :D

You talk like stupid person.

Ur logic is 32000 low wage workers get a little higher pay, let's say $100 to $200 pay increase PER MONTH.

And then 5.7 million humans in Singapore will pay more for cai png, chicken rice and McDonald's?

cutekawaii

Jobs which are below $1,300 will be adjusted to $1,300.

The market forces doesnt work like that leh.

By your logic all jobs will become $1300 jobs.

Those jobs paying more than 1.3k are supported by market forces....

pureice

I understand that WP is also for PWM. They are just fighting for the existing 32k who were left out.

Perhaps it would be good if govt can explain why there are 32k still earning below $1300, what industries they work in, why PWM has yet to cover the sectors these 32k work in.

Yes! Precisly! The issue is not implementing a blanket wage to lift the poor. Is to identify stagnant sectors needing barriers of entry to prevent wage depression, cause these are usually manual and low skill jobs. And also increase skills set via certification so earlier employed expericed batch of workers - sinkies in general can justify a wage increase thru their experience.

The real help is : controlling inflation, ensuring real wage increase either thru productivity, quality education for their children. Let the poor accumulate capital and savings.

Target the help at really those unable to help themselves. There are many factors causing the poor or low income / lifestyle choices, unlucky, disability, disfunctional families etc. MW Does not solve these problems, instead creating extra costs and even if unskilled workers wan to accept a lower pay/part time to earn some cash, they cannot be justified for the pay.

wwenze

Grab is good. Gahment always encouraging entrepreneurship. And indeed it pays more than being an employee. Means what.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.