Roboadvisor: Stashaway vs Syfe

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

dappermen

But to me just like a repackgg of Ari from (Global ARI has )11 different risk levels ranging from 5% downside risk to 25% downside risk. To 3 risk level now....by adding 2k more stocks which could be totally similar eg kweb v msci......is “more” really better? I believe less is More!

In short, just trying to increase mkt share- for syfe!
Gd for those who hve not diy into their own china’s etf or the existing popular robo’s options

If talking abt long term fi planning, it should be on Esg and esg....it not zoom in on particular mkts u wanna to focus on

So looks like syfe core is to address those who dont want ARI but prefer more static allocation

So is it gd? Didnt really read. Where does it rank among all the robo offerings

https://www.syfe.com/magazine/understanding-our-core-portfolio-strategy/

silverbomb

I guess for the ARI backtesting didnt factor the current kind of climate, pandemic, money printing, WSB, robinhood traders all these. These stuffs mostly didn't existed in the past so there's so much ARI can do. I've stopped contributing to Syfe ARI for a while, since the portfolio is still red even when most other robos all recovered from the march dip. Sibei sian...

Posted from PCWX using SM-G965F

tutonic

So looks like syfe core is to address those who dont want ARI but prefer more static allocation

So is it gd? Didnt really read. Where does it rank among all the robo offerings

https://www.syfe.com/magazine/understanding-our-core-portfolio-strategy/

You can look at the composition of the Core portfolios in the app. It's already 'released'.

The composition looks like a gimped version of the Equity100. The Core portfolios too defensive, in my opinion.

Core Growth has 15.42% in 20+ year Treasury Bond (TLT), 5.66% 7-10 Year Treasure Bond (IEF) & 4.01% US Aggregate Bond ETF (AGG) and 0.7% BNDX. Close to 26% bonds in a Core 'Growth' portfolio seems weird.
Core Balanced has 51.17% Bonds..
Core Defensive 72.1% Bonds.

And they also got gold in each portfolio. 5.45% in Growth, 10.8% in Balanced, 9% in Defensive.

So effectively, in Core Growth, 20% allocation is defensive, in Core Balanced, 61% defensive, in Core Defensive, 81% defensive..

They market this towards people who want fixed allocation, and willing to tank short term volatility, but then even the Core Growth got too much bonds. All 3 portfolios too defensive, in my opinion. Maybe they don't want infringe on those who are already investing in Equity100?

I guess for the ARI backtesting didnt factor the current kind of climate, pandemic, money printing, WSB, robinhood traders all these. These stuffs mostly didn't existed in the past so there's so much ARI can do. I've stopped contributing to Syfe ARI for a while, since the portfolio is still red even when most other robos all recovered from the march dip. Sibei sian...

Posted from PCWX using SM-G965F

Better to cut losses and switch to Equity100 if you wanna stick with Syfe, or jump ship to Stashaway. The Equity100 is their only solid US product right now, in my opinion.

cubana

no need robo lah, just buy SPY ETF suah. How many funds can beat its annual total returns?

s0crates

Well syfe has a habit of buying more bonds when bond prices are high... It's habitual - Algo spoil probably lol

On this point, isn't it a huge red flag that a roboadvisor can consistently launch products that doesn't quite make sense, and some performing poorly? Wouldn't it also cast doubt on how their better (for now at least) products would do long term, given its the same investment team managing it?

You can look at the composition of the Core portfolios in the app. It's already 'released'.

The composition looks like a gimped version of the Equity100. The Core portfolios too defensive, in my opinion.

Core Growth has 15.42% in 20+ year Treasury Bond (TLT), 5.66% 7-10 Year Treasure Bond (IEF) & 4.01% US Aggregate Bond ETF (AGG) and 0.7% BNDX. Close to 26% bonds in a Core 'Growth' portfolio seems weird.
Core Balanced has 51.17% Bonds..
Core Defensive 72.1% Bonds.

And they also got gold in each portfolio. 5.45% in Growth, 10.8% in Balanced, 9% in Defensive.

So effectively, in Core Growth, 20% allocation is defensive, in Core Balanced, 61% defensive, in Core Defensive, 81% defensive..

They market this towards people who want fixed allocation, and willing to tank short term volatility, but then even the Core Growth got too much bonds. All 3 portfolios too defensive, in my opinion. Maybe they don't want infringe on those who are already investing in Equity100?

Better to cut losses and switch to Equity100 if you wanna stick with Syfe, or jump ship to Stashaway. The Equity100 is their only solid US product right now, in my opinion.

tutonic

Well syfe has a habit of buying more bonds when bond prices are high... It's habitual - Algo spoil probably lol

On this point, isn't it a huge red flag that a roboadvisor can consistently launch products that doesn't quite make sense, and some performing poorly? Wouldn't it also cast doubt on how their better (for now at least) products would do long term, given its the same investment team managing it?

Yeah, agreed. They should've stopped introducing new products after Equity100, and work on fixing or re-vamping their ARI algo. Like others also mentioned, seems very weird that Syfe ARI portfolios are the only ones still in the red when virtually all the others have recovered.

wuming79

Why is ESG so special now? Can perform like Spy with lower volatility and risk? Can someone sheer some light here?

dappermen

Esg

Esg in stash too....

ESG stands for Environmental, Social, and Governance. Investors are increasingly applying these non-financial factors as part of their analysis process to identify material risks and growth opportunities
But prevent being greenwashed cos not all fund mgrs are really consistent in walking the talk of esg

https://www.fidelity.com.sg/beginne...BElmaHZzlQmo3S603hoaAvTeEALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

shared here -
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/132745443-post28.html
how many of u invested on Esg ?
Mirova Global Sustainable Equity Fund (https://endowus.com/support/900003981366-fund-rationale:-mirova-global-sustainable-equity-fund) &
Schroder ISF Global climate chg- https://www.bloomberg.com/quote/SCGLLAA:LX
https://endowus.com/support/900005061763-fund-rationale:-schroder-isf-global-climate-change-fund

20210222-Tables-CIO-Insights-ESG-rating-by-Sta.width-800.jpg

while StashAway current portfolios score well on ESG metrics, ranging from 3.21 to 3.57 out of 5 ; but no consistency @ all!!

30% of my endowus pf is ESG - v slow growth but i hve faith in L.R. (althoug slow rate now to mid term)
i may nt want it in SA

Stshwy wil introduce 2 new ESG ETFs:

iShares ESG Aware MSCI USA ETF
iShares ESG Aware MSCI Emerging Markets ETF

This means that StashAway’s investment algorithm will now be able to choose from a pool of ETFs that also includes the 2 ESG ETFs above. So, you might not see the ESG ETFs in your portfolio straight away, but they may be included in your next portfolio re-optimisation. These ETFs will complement our existing portfolios, enhancing our sustainability scores while maintaining a strong focus on risk-adjusted returns.

Just in case u need To change your auto-optimisation setting, simply log on to StashAway, go to Account > Settings > Auto Re-optimisation Preferences
https://www.stashaway.sg/r/sustaina...al-Branded-20210219-CIONewsletterFebruary2021

dappermen

Read myth#1 too
attention-to-esg-earns-market-outperformance.jpg

https://www.fidelity.com.sg/beginners/esg-investing/five-major-myths
&
How franklintempleton n fidelity viewed them
https://www.franklintempleton.com.s...n/gio/esg-will-define-the-post-covid-era.html

https://www.franklintempleton.com.s...-in-green-initiatives-and-infrastructure.html

Extensive data has shown that sustainable investing strategies have delivered higher, not lower returns. The most recent data comes from the Covid-19-related global sell-off in February/March 2020, where companies that scored highly on ESG ratings outperformed the broader market.

A Morningstar report studying almost 4,900 European mutual funds from 2009 to 2019 found that 59 per cent of surviving sustainable products outperformed their conventional counterparts. Furthermore, 72 per cent of sustainable funds survived the 10-year period, compared to just 46 per cent of traditional funds. Sustainable offerings also exhibited superior returns throughout the Covid-19 sell-off.
A 2019 Morningstar study, this time analysing ESG-screened market indices, found that 73 per cent outperformed their non-ESG peers since inception.
A 2015 study by global index provider MSCI discovered that ESG strategies outperformed their global benchmarks over an eight-year period.
Of course, past performance does not guarantee future returns.

Gd for holding into long term!

tutonic

Why is ESG so special now? Can perform like Spy with lower volatility and risk? Can someone sheer some light here?

ESG is just the flavour of the month/hot thing right now. Nothing special or new information recently brought to light that'd make it any more or less desirable than it was couple months back..

wuming79

Esg in stash too....

ESG stands for Environmental, Social, and Governance. Investors are increasingly applying these non-financial factors as part of their analysis process to identify material risks and growth opportunities
But prevent being greenwashed cos not all fund mgrs are really consistent in walking the talk of esg

https://www.fidelity.com.sg/beginne...BElmaHZzlQmo3S603hoaAvTeEALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

https://www.stashaway.sg/r/sustaina...al-Branded-20210219-CIONewsletterFebruary2021
may I know how do u make an ESG portfolio in Endowus? I set highest risk but the portfolio is still the same 4 funds (Global Core, US 500, Emerging Large Cap, Pacific Basin Small)

SuperDecker

Don't know what's the purpose of Core in their whole product range. It feels to me like a replacement for ARI (which I think isn't attracting monies). Yet the Core growth equity allocation is only 68%. Don't wanna cannibalize the Equity100, my monies is in here. I certainly hope they can include China and more emerging markets in their Equity 100.

And using last 5/8/15 years backtested data in their marketing collaterals for the various portfolios.

I just feel they are lost in their product offerings. I'm sure ppl will ask ARI vs Core in their webinar launch tomorrow and their product positioning.

Also, their portfolio has so many ETFs allocation. Many of them are single digit allocation with some less than even 1%....

dappermen

yes!
just -
like a repackgg of Ari from (Global ARI has )11 different risk levels ranging from 5% downside risk to 25% downside risk. To 3 risk level now....by adding 2k more stocks which could be totally similar eg kweb v msci......is “more” really better? I believe less is More!

In short, just trying to increase mkt share- for syfe!
Gd for those who hve not diy into their own china’s etf or the existing popular robo’s options

there r many around me nt yet robo hence they cn nw.....

dappermen

Oh, u need to do click DiY options

I just wanna play w endowus so i put in the least for it....(compare to my other robos)
I hve 20% Pacific Basin too! and 25% india(i wanna slightly more exposure to india) too! But my total esg is 30%

I will not want my endowus to look similar to another robo pf bought

may I know how do u make an ESG portfolio in Endowus? I set highest risk but the portfolio is still the same 4 funds (Global Core, US 500, Emerging Large Cap, Pacific Basin Small)

Spore govt is debating on climate chg,
Esg & Esg too, i m sorry not a Fad! SA is here to stay w 2 new Esg toohttps://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...-stashaway-vs-syfe-6092311.html#post132847250
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LwryJ2iKVKU
https://www.facebook.com/StashAwayAPAC/photos/a.1221787144634695/2530759060404157/

kurt111494

Syfe and Stashaway buy their ETFs through Saxo. It's all done through computers. I don't know about Syfe, but for Stashaway, since you can see the price per ETF in USD each time there's a purchase, so you can look up the ETF price for that day. I notice the Stashaway buy orders usually go through at around 11pm-12am SG time, so 10-11am US time.

Sorry forgot to ask, does this mean Syfe will probably buy our own local SREITS at ~11 am SG time?

tutonic

Sorry forgot to ask, does this mean Syfe will probably buy our own local SREITS at ~11 am SG time?

I'm not sure about the REIT one since I don't bother checking (because I'm already weekly depositing anyway).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.