kF94 or Surgical mask?

Ender

BT Korea KF94 (no embossed wordings), Humax 3D, EZLifeSG Anhui ruierxin shopee source, MrIng KN95​

Ambient 4k. Raised from 2k to 4k with some tissue paper smoke

Glad to know the no logo BT white still performs well, relatively to the others. BTW is the Humax 3D a KF94 certified mask?

jn2k16

BT Korea KF94 (no embossed wordings), Humax 3D, EZLifeSG Anhui ruierxin shopee source, MrIng KN95​

Ambient 4k. Raised from 2k to 4k with some tissue paper smoke

For some reason the EzlifeSG Anhui Ruierxin CMI this time. It’s the same batch as those tested before by @WussRedXLi , meaning the quality varies a lot even within the same batch.

Hais just when I thought we found a reliable and cheap source. I don’t think the Qoo10 and Shopee masks are any different because it’s the same seller.

WussRedXLi

Glad to know the no logo BT white still performs well, relatively to the others. BTW is the Humax 3D a KF94 certified mask?

The Humax 3D mask packging has no KF94 claim, no KF-AD wordings as well. But some of the seller listings might claim otherwise

https://shopee.sg/-Made-In-Korea-Kp...9?sp_atk=0bc6927d-ed8a-4e91-8a62-e4e8e83b4023
https://shopee.sg/(MADE-IN-KOREA)-K...9?sp_atk=c4083b36-5240-41ea-bd40-dd255fe4c39e

Yes the no logo BT white still performs well.

Below is the pic i took of the black "premium" BT Korea (F929 Mezzang) KF94 vs your BT Korea white with embossed wordings at the side.

Moqr06O.jpg

WussRedXLi

For some reason the EzlifeSG Anhui Ruierxin CMI this time. It’s the same batch as those tested before by @WussRedXLi , meaning the quality varies a lot even within the same batch.

Hais just when I thought we found a reliable and cheap source. I don’t think the Qoo10 and Shopee masks are any different because it’s the same seller.

Yeah it is wierd, i will maybe test it out the second time tomorrow vs my EZLifeSG (qoo10) ones, also anhui ruierxin.

BTW, can you confirm with the small leaflet in your package that is indeed Anhui ruierxin?

Coz i compared your mask vs mine, the earloops width is different.
Yours is thinner in width

jxHESgS.jpg

jn2k16

Yeah it is wierd, i will maybe test it out the second time tomorrow vs my EZLifeSG (qoo10) ones, also anhui ruierxin.

BTW, can you confirm with the small leaflet in your package that is indeed Anhui ruierxin?

Coz i compared your mask vs mine, the earloops width is different.
Yours is thinner in width

jxHESgS.jpg
Confirmed is Anhui Ruierxin. Batch 20211112.
https://ibb.co/x2cX348

Habrosus

anyone felt this ?

yesterday and today haze smell very strong; still dun understand why govt haze website still put as normal when people own nose more sensitive and feedback can smell the haze

at least wussredxli particle counter can show low and high readings on more polluted days. haze website haze or no haze smell all put normal; I personally prefer raw particle counter counts, at least it gives a real "feel" of the haze intensity

if more prolong haze like this must wear kf94 masks at home wor
I've been smelling something burning since the past couple of days. Is it haze? I've been thinking it's someone chain-smoking until it smelled like rubber being burnt today. :(

I don't mind using my thinnest KF94 that's normally for my hiking/climbing trips, but I'm not sure if that'll help me from the smell...

Squaredot

I've been smelling something burning since the past couple of days. Is it haze? I've been thinking it's someone chain-smoking until it smelled like rubber being burnt today. :(

I don't mind using my thinnest KF94 that's normally for my hiking/climbing trips, but I'm not sure if that'll help me from the smell...
@uniqlo
My area no burning/haze smell. What part u all staying?

Wearing mask don't filter smell, still can smell cigarette.

WussRedXLi

Confirmed is Anhui Ruierxin. Batch 20211112.
https://ibb.co/x2cX348
Wah...peng san then.

Coz the Mixshop anhui ruierxin stuff that i have all are that wider earloop strap type.
And they measure great.

But i also remember that Mixshop also one time i measured it to measure the same lousy performance, that is why i asked people not to buy the white colour. I posted it before. I think it might be due to this same "issue" as well.

WussRedXLi

The smell standard during the dry phase of NE monsoon..........esp for N, NE and E dwellers.

That is why i always mentioned to you guys i am waiting for March. That time will hit several tens of thousand particles / 100cc, easy.

BTW, then for haze all of us fellas owning meters would use ug/m3, it's easier to use that than saying several tens of thousands of particles or something like that. Anyway, all these are not very accurate figures, but just a reference point for us owning meters and for our discussion in the haze thread.
Various reasons for this inaccuracy, and one big factor is the RH% which they standardise to 35% RH (humidity causes the particulates to swell up a bit. And another is that NEA is using an array of stations even for say a particular region (N, S, E, W, C).

WussRedXLi

@uniqlo
My area no burning/haze smell. What part u all staying?

Wearing mask don't filter smell, still can smell cigarette.
Yes, there are organic vapors in smoke sources be it cigarette, paper offerings, incense, cooking exhaust fumes from say a kopitiam etc.
I have worn half mask respirators (3M 7503 and BLS 4000 with HEPA and P3 cartridges respectively during 2020 ** period, for particulate matter filtration)), properly fitted and straps tensions, both positive and negative pressure tested ie absolutely zero leaks, and yet when i walk past a temple with no real visible smoke, i still could smell the incense.

But note that is not incense smoke, cigarette smoke etc. Can try next time, with 3M micropore etc.
Just lift up the bottom flap and inhale.
That is the particulate matter portion of the smoke. The filtered portion of a high performance mask (KF94 or what) has very very little amounts of smoke.

shager

uniqlo

govt agencies always put these type of news so as to make it a non-event

got people in singapore reported the burning smell past 2 days, but govt agencies said found nothing; must be some martians come singapore smoke in backyard wor

one day it's going to be really serious and concerned if govt agencies will find the real root cause of any threat; fail to identify the source of the burning means incompetence and need to reevaluate their teams

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...t-due-industrial-incident-hotspot-nea-2431176

Burning smell in eastern Singapore over past 2 days reported, cause not due to industrial incidents or hotspots: NEA​

SINGAPORE: The "burning smells" reported in the eastern part of Singapore over the past two days is not linked to any local industrial incidents or hotspots in the region, said the National Environment Agency (NEA) on Wednesday (Jan 12) night.
In response to CNA's queries, NEA said that it received feedback on the "burning smells" on Tuesday and Wednesday.
CNA readers also said they experienced it in places such as East Coast, Bedok, Loyang and Tampines on those two days.
"NEA's checks did not find any local industrial incident that could have caused the smell," NEA said.
"The Singapore Civil Defence Force also confirmed that they did not respond to any incidents involving open burning in the eastern part of Singapore."
It added that there were no hotspots detected in the nearby region.
As for air quality, "the 1-hour PM2.5 concentration readings have remained within the normal band (Band I) and 24-hour PSI levels within the ‘Good’ to ‘Moderate’ range", the agency said.
NEA has not received further feedback on the burning smell since Wednesday afternoon, but added that it would continue to monitor the situation.

Source: CNA/vc(gr)

WussRedXLi

Bro can I check what circumstances would you use for these masks? Like outdoors but not indoors? It is better than other surgical masks?

A lot of factors.....actually even if sheng shiong AC indoors still pretty decent, since even then i dont reckon the ventilation is that super bad. I am suspecting if the worst is workplaces, in time to come as we further move away from WFH, since that is really extended exposure.

Again, not that we shd be super fearful of omicron, we can view it as influenza/dengue kinda severity depending on your health? Still, very mafan if tio.
I mean, you'd not purposely go to a dengue red zone and then dont wear insect repellent and not put up mozzie nets if you are living in a dengue cluster with > 100 cases right?
I just had one colleague just like that in 2020, very gung ho fella no scared mai kia. Ended up hospitalised just short of ICU (platelet level) nia. After that completely changed man change of tone. :LOL:
And nope, of coz he didnt die or even enter ICU. So-called "mild" case i guess.

WussRedXLi

govt agencies always put these type of news so as to make it a non-event

got people in singapore reported the burning smell past 2 days, but govt agencies said found nothing; must be some martians come singapore smoke in backyard wor

one day it's going to be really serious and concerned if govt agencies will find the real root cause of any threat; fail to identify the source of the burning means incompetence and need to reevaluate their teams

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...t-due-industrial-incident-hotspot-nea-2431176

U go google.....since mid 2000s every single year same, more or less. Also discussed a fair bit in the consolidated super el nino and haze thread.

Same areas. Sometimes would have Yishun too (depends on the wind)
"CNA readers also said they experienced it in places such as East Coast, Bedok, Loyang and Tampines on those two days."

WussRedXLi

@WussRedXLi ,

Chanced upon these masks. Saw some German Youtuber based in Korea wearing the checkered one.
Have you tested any of these before?
They look great, and good to brighten up our day and those seeing them.
But, of course, only if they can function in our current situation.

https://www.lazada.sg/products/newe...colorindividual-i1820517041-s9987041304.html?

These are the same MIC KF94 stuff, just different in prints. Need to test, but those in the link are very expensive.
Some are pretty ok, a few come in as so-so, some are plain nasty.

stupidog

anyone can recommend a N95 mask to block garbage or shiiit smells ?

Not for covid protection wan. just to block smells.

Thanks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.