kF94 or Surgical mask?

WussRedXLi

i have also bought 3M 9513 masks. This one even more ex.. $2+ a piece during promo.

Interestingly, masks like 3M 9513 and KF94 only advertise protection against "fine dust", "smog" and "air particles" on their packaging. You dont see things like protection against "virus".

This is the most expensive mask that i had in my "collection". 1 box, 10pcs, $30 bought in Feb 2020. Still have 7 pieces now, used 3 pcs then, and also other stuff like 3M 9210, UVEX 3310 etc.
That time i was still using "selfishly", now cannot liao. Or rather, need to wear surgical mask in front of it (tie to the straps or something).

So many unknowns then.

I saw it being used in Italy healthcare in early 2020.

minty2min

@WussRedXLi Would you mind dropping me a PM on how I can send mask over for testing? Sorry, I think my account does not have PM function at the moment....

WussRedXLi

R2 not as good as kf94? 😅😅
Some KF94s are very high in filtration 0.1 microns numbers.

The F527 Hanmaum i just posted today got 99.79% @ 0.1 microns in Armburst testing.

Another one commonly used in this thread, Good Manner, is tested below below....99.63% @ 0.1 microns

Then the popular F731 K-medic supposedly is using and tested BFE 100%, or more accurately is five nines, or BFE 99.999%. BFE is testing at 3.0 microns. The PFE rating (ie 0.1 microns) definitely would be very decent as well.

But of coz in order to get those numbers as fitted and also maintain during normal activities (that means your head is moving left/right/up/down and so the mask pos wld have shifted), need to tape up the nose bridge and cheek areas.
If not, 100% won't get those numbers.......just a dream.

Habrosus

I've gone to try on the F912. Yes, it's more comfortable with the cut-out coz of the absence of the hard part where it folds on the other KF94s. Like I mentioned, I tend to use the mask quite high so that hard folded part can be uncomfortable on the nose bridge.

As for seal for F912 with the cut-out, I just smoothened the wire part down and all the way below my eyes, the mask held on without any gap. I even tried with a pair of mask stoppers for a tighter fit, and noticed that the front part didn't sink when I breathed hard.

There's a high possibility that I'm going to favor (and replace) this over the F731. 😁
I got to try the F912 for real today, for about 7 hours minus quick dinner. :)

I used a pair of mask stoppers to give it a better fit, not too tight not too loose. Must say I'd a rather comfortable experience, smooth, breathable, not touching the lips, etc.

Apart from sinking when I breathed hard with the F731, I find the material less comfortable as well. Like slightly(?) rough paper touching the skin...?

I still have my F919 to use as well, and the Good Manner and F929 for 4-ply/thicker indoor use. I should be ready for a Mask-Up 2022. 👍

Intel888

Actually just use up these H801 and be done with them. Now you have legit KF94s at such low prices . The only +ve about the H801 N95 is that they are headstraps with much stiffer nose wires, ie able to seal properly even without surgical tape.
I prefer KF94.
Troublesome to use H801 due to the headstraps. Yeah the seal is quite ok.

Keeping this box for my folks for an absolute SHTF situation. They know this one is solid stuff.
They love masks that don't seal well (breathe better and breathe in the virus too), but in an absolute SHTF situation I'm going to make them wear the H801 or the 3M reuseable mask with cartridges.

windwaver

Sounds good, I'm looking for a mask that can do lite to moderate outdoor exercises. Seems like can buy from either EZlifeSG (Anhui ruierxin) and JW Collection (Moleshi).

As for indoor, really crowded situations, I'm using F929 which is perfect.

84b7d7e62befb51f831bc0ed938c8742.gif
I have just tried both the EZlifeSG (Anhui ruierxin) and JW Collection (Moleshi) masks.

Like what @WussRedXLi said, the filter in EZlifeSG (Anhui ruierxin) seems thicker and JW Collection (Moleshi) offers better breathability.

The material used in EZlifeSG (Anhui ruierxin) seems to be stiffer than JW Collection (Moleshi) and both brands seem to be of similar size.

I think they are good for daily non critical usage.

ataurus

Tried a few pieces of Good Manner (5 in pack). It is fine for average and large faces (more the latter). It's too big for smaller adult faces.

Think09

The F972 is the KOY KF94 lah. I posted that before coz i wanted to buy last time, it's a decent mask, seen the reviews before. That time i remember the other seller was selling 14.90 normal price (not time sale). So after coupon, supposedly is $11.90 shipped.

So i believe Mezzang shd be similar (from its normal priced listing), or maybe $1 lower.
Saw on the website Q&A.

https://www.qoo10.sg/item/KOREAN-MA...MASK-SURGERY-MASK/683226694?banner_no=1305330

Ender

Just collected mine. Temasek latest free mask is N95 grade. Resuable. But I think the filtration efficacy with reduce with each wash. So if it's not dirty try not to wash.

IMG_20220110_190306.thumb.jpg.ff3b98fd14a3f9a316ffd001534faeef.jpg

WussRedXLi

Thanks WussRedXLi, how do I interpret the results thou 😅

Yo.......it's quite simple, actually you could see a trend between them as well.

The ambient value (before filtration) is 6k particles / 100cc. The KF-AD would have after filtration values (LHS of the meter) showing anything from hundreds to even over 1 thousand. This means the 3 masks, Mono V4, V3 and another V3) cannot really filter much aerosols.
Compared to the 2 x KF94s, can confirm them to be legit KF94s, very close to zero or even zero. This difference is very discernable, there is no mistaking between them in this case.

But of course, the KF-ADs would be more breathable than the KF94s, and then it also boils down to what you are after. The KF-ADs most probably would still be usable for light jogging/brisk walking, for eg.

leo2003

Thanks leo2003.
Ender : with embossment
leo2003 and tempo : no embossment.
No sure what to deduce from this?
Hi Tempo, I opened up another pack the logo is there. Do you find the mask has a smell?

Tempo13

Hi Tempo, I opened up another pack the logo is there. Do you find the mask has a smell?
Hi leo2003
Following your cue, I opened up a total of 5 packs; 3 without and 2 with logo. There is a very faint smell if I place the mask next to my nose but It doesn't bother me. I do get somewhat similar smell from other masks as well. Thanks.

I did send 1 without logo to bro WussRedXLi for testing. See how it goes.

uniqlo

anyone felt this ?

yesterday and today haze smell very strong; still dun understand why govt haze website still put as normal when people own nose more sensitive and feedback can smell the haze

at least wussredxli particle counter can show low and high readings on more polluted days. haze website haze or no haze smell all put normal; I personally prefer raw particle counter counts, at least it gives a real "feel" of the haze intensity

if more prolong haze like this must wear kf94 masks at home wor

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.