YTD 2026 Networth tracking thread

soneat

For me, house pay finish. No car. Left 2 kids 15,16 going on to Poly,Uni so they still take pocket monies and need monies to let them study local Uni. If they go overseas I cannot imagine the monies needed. Elderly left mother which need periodic medical appointment and helper to look after as me and spouse working full-time.

Financial your typical FD, SSB, T-bill (recently), FSM, dollarDex, poems for mutual fund. Endowus,Syfe,Webull (recent platform). The amount I calculate is ok for me to use I can retire now no need work fulltime. But the kids and mother unknown spending needed is what hold me back. You know the unknown sum of monies can be very big one. Medical if kena long term is financial and emotional draining. Kids if insist go overseas Uni the monies etc etc.

That is why you see my post I always mention kids and elderly. These two big items need to settle else it will affect how early you want to retire and stop working. I cannot imagine those families with 3,4,5,6 kids how they take it sia.
For my case,
1. Kids. They have always been high achievers. If they want to go overseas to further their education, they have to fight for their own scholarships. For local universities, I have made provisions for a law and medicine degree.
2. Parents. Yes chornic health issues, so they r receiving subsidised medical care. Not ideal but it can still be tolerated.

Life events and mishaps are inevitable. Just got to manage along the way. Life goes on. : D

HappyReitInvestor

Define well to do? My NW is about 3m, my wife about the same maybe slightly less but I dun consider myself well to do, not in SG at least. SG is a pretty expensive place to retire in if you want to have a upper-middle (above avg is "well to do" to me) class lifestyle, just look at how much cars cost now, COE alone is over 100k.

I'm not thinking of retiring because a) I dun hate my job b) my company allows my to WFH 3 days a week and c) I'm absolutely terrified of inflation. I was already worried about inflation way before prices skyrocketed recently, the recent spike in prices only confirmed my fears.

So no not thinking of retiring unless I get fired.
The main thing here is you don't hate your job so that's great, there are people who really don't like to work. Working is just a way to earn a living, so as long as there is a passive income that can sustain their lifestyle, they will quit.

I would say you are well to do according to the statistics below. I assume both your net worth are liquid networth of around 6m and I assume you live in some million dollar house, so that would have put you in the 5m to 10m usd bracket which only has 18639 people in sg. You are 1 of them. Of coz I do not know the amount of liabilities you have and also I don't know the full extent of your wealth.

https://smartwealth.sg/average-net-worth-singapore-statistics/
You mentioned above average is well to do to you and you don't consider your self well to do, this actually put majority of us as below average. haha.

As long as you enjoy working, then definitely don't retire!

d5dude

The main thing here is you don't hate your job so that's great, there are people who really don't like to work. Working is just a way to earn a living, so as long as there is a passive income that can sustain their lifestyle, they will quit.

I would say you are well to do according to the statistics below. I assume both your net worth are liquid networth of around 6m and I assume you live in some million dollar house, so that would have put you in the 5m to 10m usd bracket which only has 18639 people in sg. You are 1 of them. Of coz I do not know the amount of liabilities you have and also I don't know the full extent of your wealth.

https://smartwealth.sg/average-net-worth-singapore-statistics/
You mentioned above average is well to do to you and you don't consider your self well to do, this actually put majority of us as below average. haha.

As long as you enjoy working, then definitely don't retire!

No I wrote networth (total assets - total liabilities), not liquid networth, and its ~3m SGD for myself, and 2-3m SGD for my wife, so I have no idea how you can put me in the 5m - 10m USD bracket when I'm nowhere near that level.

The estimates cited in the linked article are for Singapore resident adults (not households), they do not include children of the truly rich (UHNW) or foreigners who are here on EPs but are not SPRs or SCs, many of them are high level execs who are easily millionaires, my boss is one such fine example. Its also not clear how wealth is defined in the CS report, is it total net wealth or net investable networth? The latter does not include primary residence, it makes a huge difference in SG.

Roughly 20% of SG's population live in private properties, another ~10% of the population live in HDB flats that are worth close to, or more than 1m. This alone tells me that there must be more than 270k USD millionaires in SG. So no, I dun think that puts me in the well to do category, barely making it to the USD millionaire club doesnt mean much in SG these days. I foresee that I will have to switch to public transport when the COE on my car runs out, can't see myself paying 100+k for COE, just can't afford it anymore.

HappyReitInvestor

No I wrote networth (total assets - total liabilities), not liquid networth, and its ~3m SGD for myself, and 2-3m SGD for my wife, so I have no idea how you can put me in the 5m - 10m USD bracket when I'm nowhere near that level.

The estimates cited in the linked article are for Singapore resident adults (not households), they do not include children of the truly rich (UHNW) or foreigners who are here on EPs but are not SPRs or SCs, many of them are high level execs who are easily millionaires, my boss is one such fine example. Its also not clear how wealth is defined in the CS report, is it total net wealth or net investable networth? The latter does not include primary residence, it makes a huge difference in SG.

Roughly 20% of SG's population live in private properties, another ~10% of the population live in HDB flats that are worth close to, or more than 1m. This alone tells me that there must be more than 270k USD millionaires in SG. So no, I dun think that puts me in the well to do category, barely making it to the USD millionaire club doesnt mean much in SG these days. I foresee that I will have to switch to public transport when the COE on my car runs out, can't see myself paying 100+k for COE, just can't afford it anymore.
Thanks for clarifying. Yeap, i assumed you meant liquid since the first post was about liquid networth. My bad. In anycase, i read that the report is based on "Net worth or wealth is defined by adding financial assets plus non-financial assets (mostly housing and land) less debts." , so it's the same as how you calculate for yours.

Frankly speaking, i had the same thoughts as you with regards to the number of USD millionaires based on the number of privates residences here, but i guessed not all have been fully paid up with substantial amount of loan pending, thus not all private property dwellers are classified as millionaires.

d5dude

Thanks for clarifying. Yeap, i assumed you meant liquid since the first post was about liquid networth. My bad. In anycase, i read that the report is based on "Net worth or wealth is defined by adding financial assets plus non-financial assets (mostly housing and land) less debts." , so it's the same as how you calculate for yours.

Frankly speaking, i had the same thoughts as you with regards to the number of USD millionaires based on the number of privates residences here, but i guessed not all have been fully paid up with substantial amount of loan pending, thus not all private property dwellers are classified as millionaires.

Fully paid up or not is irrelevant when home equity has gone up so much in the last 2 decades, in fact leverage and extremely low interest rates over the last 2 decades is exactly what enabled many homeowners to build wealth. Pinnacle @ Duxton was launched at 400k average, now they go for over 1m. Assuming 10% downpayment ( possible 15 years ago), 40k would have grown to 640k today even if most of the loan remains unpaid today. Now apply this same logic to private properties that cost 600k to 1m 15-20 years ago, some of them have literally tripled in value making many people instant millionaires.

limster

Fully paid up or not is irrelevant when home equity has gone up so much in the last 2 decades, in fact leverage and extremely low interest rates over the last 2 decades is exactly what enabled many homeowners to build wealth. Pinnacle @ Duxton was launched at 400k average, now they go for over 1m. Assuming 10% downpayment ( possible 15 years ago), 40k would have grown to 640k today even if most of the loan remains unpaid today. Now apply this same logic to private properties that cost 600k to 1m 15-20 years ago, some of them have literally tripled in value making many people instant millionaires.

So the lesson from this is that property sure huat!

🤑

churnmaster

For my case,
1. Kids. They have always been high achievers. If they want to go overseas to further their education, they have to fight for their own scholarships. For local universities, I have made provisions for a law and medicine degree.
I'm in the same camp ... No spoon feeding the kids. I'm there as a fallback but they have to learn to compete and move ahead in life.

sohguanh

I'm in the same camp ... No spoon feeding the kids. I'm there as a fallback but they have to learn to compete and move ahead in life.
For local Uni courses I think it is allowed to use parents CPF to pay. Why I know is becuz I take from my dad CPF to pay. But once I graduate they (CPF) start chasing me to pay back to my dad CPF. They are super quick by right should give some months for us to look for job first logical? That was way back in 1998. Now is 2022 dunno if the scheme still exist i.e use CPF monies to fund children local Uni studies. If it still exist then ok since my CPF got monies. But of cuz their daily expenditure aka pocket monies cannot use CPF lor.

In addition I bought from TokioMarine Asia College Plus policy mature guaranteed 50K + yearly bonus. Depend how obedient they are I will think to take from this monies for their daily expenses. Some kids damn kwailan can talk back say we give birth to them we have a mandatory obligation to feed them until they can earn monies. If they don't go to work how? Feed them non-stop? Then they threaten parents go borrow from banks,ahlong etc etc !

HappyReitInvestor

For me, house pay finish. No car. Left 2 kids 15,16 going on to Poly,Uni so they still take pocket monies and need monies to let them study local Uni. If they go overseas I cannot imagine the monies needed. Elderly left mother which need periodic medical appointment and helper to look after as me and spouse working full-time.

Financial your typical FD, SSB, T-bill (recently), FSM, dollarDex, poems for mutual fund. Endowus,Syfe,Webull (recent platform). The amount I calculate is ok for me to use I can retire now no need work fulltime. But the kids and mother unknown spending needed is what hold me back. You know the unknown sum of monies can be very big one. Medical if kena long term is financial and emotional draining. Kids if insist go overseas Uni the monies etc etc.

That is why you see my post I always mention kids and elderly. These two big items need to settle else it will affect how early you want to retire and stop working. I cannot imagine those families with 3,4,5,6 kids how they take it sia.
For kids, i am in the opinion that i have given them more than what my parents have given me, so this may sound a little heartless, but i will not slog just so that they can have fun. If they are good enough, they will most likely get a scholarship, if they are not good enough, then just stay in Singapore for a degree/diploma. I am not going to spend 200k just so they can have fun during universities if they are not cut out for studies.

That's the thing, if there are families with 3 kids, who are happily living their lives on 4-5k dollars per month, are we doing something wrong or are we overthinking about things. Or is it just a matter of needs vs wants.

I do agree that for medical is a big unknown especially for the elderly. Do you have insurance for the kids and elderly though?

sohguanh

For kids, i am in the opinion that i have given them more than what my parents have given me, so this may sound a little heartless, but i will not slog just so that they can have fun. If they are good enough, they will most likely get a scholarship, if they are not good enough, then just stay in Singapore for a degree/diploma. I am not going to spend 200k just so they can have fun during universities if they are not cut out for studies.

That's the thing, if there are families with 3 kids, who are happily living their lives on 4-5k dollars per month, are we doing something wrong or are we overthinking about things. Or is it just a matter of needs vs wants.

I do agree that for medical is a big unknown especially for the elderly. Do you have insurance for the kids and elderly though?
That is correct the moment is overseas Uni your head big becuz the monies definitely is alot more than local Uni. But some kids say like the experience to study overseas and after graduate can get job there and work and later get PR or even become citizen. E.g Australia was a hot destination during my times

Families 3 kids must see their life expectations. Some of my relatives yes 3 kids but their expectation lower. Kids finish Secondary, Poly go work already. Can be cashier,delivery,plumber,electician,repair car/motor etc those kind of skilled trade. Then of cuz parents shake leg cuz kids go and earn their own monies so early. But there are families expectations is kids must be lawyer, doctor, architect, engineer, banker etc those white collar kind need to study at least Uni correct? So before they can earn big bucks they need to take your monies as a form of grooming or investment whatever you want to link to.

Insurance for kids only medical. Those life, savings not appropriate let them earn their own monies ownself buy. Parents use the govt Medisave default scheme.

revhappy

May numbers:

YTD investment growth: -5.83%
YTD networth growth: -3.10%
YTD inflow: 2.72%
Equity ratio: 74.2%

Jun has been horrible month.

YTD investment growth: -10.31%
YTD networth growth: -7.17%
YTD inflow: 3.14%
Equity ratio: 72.66%

Only solace is still have job and income coming in. Watching portfolio butchered like this is great motivation to keep working, lol.

limster

Only solace is still have job and income coming in. Watching portfolio butchered like this is great motivation to keep working, lol.

PwbW4hn.jpg

Well, the good news is that you are still outperforming Vanguard World YTD. All I need now is for the bottom to be established, maybe 5% down from current levels (eg: S&P500 will hold at 3600) , and then a summer rally to the end of the year. My target is to breakeven. 😅 🎁

sohguanh

Thanks for sharing. You are sharing YTD but do you keep track the very first time you invest until current day? If yes is it still green? For me like you YTD is red color but from first time I invest way back in 2000 it is still green color and it come from my Regional China,Dividend Advantage etc mutual funds.

homer123

YTD investment portfolio -0.238% (Received almost 10k dividend in Jun help to mitigate loss)
YTD networth +1.02% (reduced by 2%)

revhappy

Thanks for sharing. You are sharing YTD but do you keep track the very first time you invest until current day? If yes is it still green? For me like you YTD is red color but from first time I invest way back in 2000 it is still green color and it come from my Regional China,Dividend Advantage etc mutual funds.

I have been tracking since 2009 end. I keep track of how much new savings I generated from salary and my networth level each year. So stripping out the salary savings gives me the profit made from investing.

I just calculated and added the column "Cumulative Profit"

ylllbRB.jpg

I had 400k accumulated profit from investment as of end of 2021.
Today is 271k. So kind of I have give back all of 2021 profits in the 1st 6 months of this year.

limster

My preference is to measure performance yearly/YTD, so that
* I can analyse after each year how to improve my portfolio performance - why some years I did better than benchmark, some years worse than benchmark.
* YTD performance helps me do some target setting for what return I expect for the year. For 2022, I'm looking at breakeven which will 'protect' my gains from 2021.

As for % return, while its useful to monitor yearly performance for the purpose of tactical adjustments to your strategy and I don't think the long term % returns matter that much.

For example, someone who is fully vested with a long time in market may have a smaller % return than someone who goes in and out of the market briefly with small amounts, but in reality, the total $$$ value increase is much higher.

After 10 years+ investing, what is more important is your networth, whether you made your first million already, and then the next step of how many years you take to make your 2nd million.

revhappy

My preference is to measure performance yearly/YTD, so that
* I can analyse after each year how to improve my portfolio performance - why some years I did better than benchmark, some years worse than benchmark.
* YTD performance helps me do some target setting for what return I expect for the year. For 2022, I'm looking at breakeven which will 'protect' my gains from 2021.

As for % return, while its useful to monitor yearly performance for the purpose of tactical adjustments to your strategy and I don't think the long term % returns matter that much.

For example, someone who is fully vested with a long time in market may have a smaller % return than someone who goes in and out of the market briefly with small amounts, but in reality, the total $$$ value increase is much higher.

After 10 years+ investing, what is more important is your networth, whether you made your first million already, and then the next step of how many years you take to make your 2nd million.

Yes, fully agree with you. Some of us get lucky with our jobs and some of us get lucky with investing, some with both :) As long as we are lucky with any one thing and dont screw up completely with the other, it should be okay. In my case, I feel I have been very lucky with my job but regarding investments, I have been mediocre. My aim is to just not screw up completely and instead retain the purchasing power of whatever I made via earnings, through investments.

bo_tak_chek_bbfa

My networth increase by $700 this month :o Investments got hammered pretty badly. It's the lowest increase since 2020 when the stock market went freefall during the lockdowns

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.