Any good renovation contractors to intro

mryang

i always see people reno always got item 2 and 3 included.
i dun understand.
why are these needed? my view, all e electric wire + piping for sink/bath were all done hidden and workin.
u mean these 2 items basically hack the wall to replace all e wiring/ pipes underneath??!! confused.
When you do plastering and paint with selant before the painting work you need to remove the wire .
And I didn't do the toilet only replacement of water heater and doors
As for plumbing work at kitchen area is because of hacking of removing old ceramic tiles so need to do plumbing work since my sink is at the wall mah

mryang

It is not easy when do Reno hor plus if you tio those beh song and uncooperative seller. Specially when they sell it lower than others unit on the same floor somemore without cov.,😔😔

Next is furniture need to take into consideration with the floor plan and the living space.

VonDeVous

Dented plus got force open sign knn now need to look for replacement for the masterbed room window grill.
Luck my digital lock door got supply window grill.
if no chewren at home, no need grills hoh? or for safety?

what door lock u bought? i thinking to get philips basic type. finger, card, pin

mryang

if no chewren at home, no need grills hoh? or for safety?

what door lock u bought? i thinking to get philips basic type. finger, card, pin
the window grill damage is at the masterbed room(outside is where the air compressor is ) and knn a number lock at the utility room window grill also. ccb
Philip is good . I am getting schlage package with promo. Enquiry afew before all is above 2k but add in fire rated door need pay $400 extra plus GST Total cost above or around 2.7k

mryang

purchasing of furniture:
1. print out your floor plan or save it in your mobile phone
2. bring it along with you
3. bring along a measuring tape

Magnificent7

I pick mine liao, thursday choose materials and finalize design before they start 3D.
Could you send your payment schedule? The IDs/contractors I met all have clauses stating prepayment of 10% to 20% upon confirmation of work at the initial stage, and pay another 50% at the selection of materials and design stage prior to providing the 3D drawings. and 35% upon carpentry fabrications. Last 5% upon final satisfactory handover.
Almost 60% payment prior to starting work after confirmation of materials and scope, 3D drawings. Is this the usual practice of ID/contractor?

mryang

Could you send your payment schedule? The IDs/contractors I met all have clauses stating prepayment of 10% to 20% upon confirmation of work at the initial stage, and pay another 50% at the selection of materials and design stage prior to providing the 3D drawings. and 35% upon carpentry fabrications. Last 5% upon final satisfactory handover.
Almost 60% payment prior to starting work after confirmation of materials and scope, 3D drawings. Is this the usual practice of ID/contractor?
Progressive payment same here.

Magnificent7

Progressive payment same here.
For progressive payment is such the usual industry practice as mentioned? For ceramic tiles, quoted up to $3.5. Any idea about the quality, designs of such a range? Or we need to factor in x$ due to the limited selection and therefore for the potential topup.
Feedback and advice would be appreciated. Thanks

mryang

For progressive payment is such the usual industry practice as mentioned? For ceramic tiles, quoted up to $3.5. Any idea about the quality, designs of such a range? Or we need to factor in x$ due to the limited selection and therefore for the potential topup.
Feedback and advice would be appreciated. Thanks
Yes . It the practice in the industry.at same time can do surprised check during the evening how the work done.

EJB

My payment schedule is
10% upon inking of contract.
45% start work.
40% upon completion of carpentry works.
5% upon handover.

I did try to negotiate the payment terms, but there isn't much to be discussed as they needed the cashflow to get the work done and order materials, it's one hand in, one hand out immediately. So much as I tried, most won't be willing to budge.

I had another one is
10% ink contract
20% upon start works
40% upon completion wet works
25% (1 week before carpentry works delivery)
5% upon handover.

This one is more 'after work complete' payment but their price is very high in the quotation.

Both contractors (and all I interviewed) were recommended and used by friends, so more or less still trustworthy. It's a hefty gamble to take depending on your renovation amount. Mine is about $108K (top ID) and $135K (bottom ID). I honestly am not comfortable also but they need the money to pay their subcons to start work. So...

Magnificent7

My payment schedule is
45% start work.
40% upon completion of carpentry works.
5% upon handover.

I did try to negotiate the payment terms, but there isn't much to be discussed as they needed the cashflow to get the work done and order materials, it's one hand in, one hand out immediately. So much as I tried, most won't be willing to budge.

I had another one is
10% ink contract
20% upon start works
40% upon completion wet works
25% (1 week before carpentry works delivery)
5% upon handover.

This one is more 'after work complete' payment but their price is very high in the quotation.

Both contractors (and all I interviewed) were recommended and used by friends, so more or less still trustworthy. It's a hefty gamble to take depending on your renovation amount. Mine is about $108K (top ID) and $135K (bottom ID). I honestly am not comfortable also but they need the money to pay their subcons to start work. So...
Thanks for sharing

EJB

Yes . It the practice in the industry.at same time can do surprised check during the evening how the work done.
I just got the keys to the house today 14 days ahead of HDB completion date as the owners are willing to let me start renovation works first.

I am keeping a set of the keys for surprise checks and also getting the combination to the number lock the contractors will be using. You're the pay master, you have rights to go in any time and see and honestly they can't stop you. I even asked to start the hacking first, looks fun actually. Hahaha.

Coffeelix

Been contact with a few renov company. Keep asking me what design I prefer. I say I no need designer.
Mainly:
1. Painting and plastering
2. Electricity rewiring
3. plumbing work for sink area & baths
4. Aircon and water heater .
5. Change of doors and metal gate
6. Kitchen cabinets refurbished
Think your budget won’t do.

my friend was quoted $30k for refurbishing kitchen cabinets with counter tops and polishing of floor.

Coffeelix

For my resale unit, it is 30K excluding Electronics / White goods and Loose Furniture
It includes:
2 toilets complete hacking & renovation (100%)
Painting
Kitchen partial renovation
Built-in wardrobes
TV feature wall
3 bedroom Vinyl flooring
Plumbing works
Electrical works

Additional 20K Electronics / White goods (TV, Fridge, Aircon, Washing Machine, Dish waster, Vacuum, Hobs & hood, all other kitchen appliances) and Loose Furniture (Beds, Sofa, Dining Table & Chairs, Book shelf, Study table)

All total : 50K

Total Duration: 5 weeks (3 weeks for sourcing & contacting)
Direct work with contractors.
Yours is good price.

Coffeelix

For my resale unit, it is 30K excluding Electronics / White goods and Loose Furniture
It includes:
2 toilets complete hacking & renovation (100%)
Painting
Kitchen partial renovation
Built-in wardrobes
TV feature wall
3 bedroom Vinyl flooring
Plumbing works
Electrical works

Additional 20K Electronics / White goods (TV, Fridge, Aircon, Washing Machine, Dish waster, Vacuum, Hobs & hood, all other kitchen appliances) and Loose Furniture (Beds, Sofa, Dining Table & Chairs, Book shelf, Study table)

All total : 50K

Total Duration: 5 weeks (3 weeks for sourcing & contacting)
Direct work with contractors.
Pls share your contact, can?

mryang

My payment schedule is
40% start work.
35% a upon 80% completion of carpentry & other items
10% 2 days before delivery of carpentry work items
5% upon handover.

Plus given the schedule can do checking

mryang

I just got the keys to the house today 14 days ahead of HDB completion date as the owners are willing to let me start renovation works first.

I am keeping a set of the keys for surprise checks and also getting the combination to the number lock the contractors will be using. You're the pay master, you have rights to go in any time and see and honestly they can't stop you. I even asked to start the hacking first, looks fun actually. Hahaha.
So good better than mine really knn. Maybe they sold to less than 5.6% of the last transaction that happens to be on the same floor and same size .😡😡 Then where does the owner stay ?🤔

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.