Can you afford a car?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

mewmart

Ya wise ass.

Just happened I read a post which was quite accurate about current Coe prices, hence I asked.

If need a legit reply, based on current trend and quota numbers, estimated will only have SIGNIFICANT drop after 2025, when most of the 5 year COEs which cannot be renewed will be thrown back to the pool.

Barring any big changes in the categorisation to accommodate EVs, this should be the case.

winningeleven

On the year 2013. When both cat A and Cat B are at 90k mark. Govt did amend the MAS car loan guidelines on dp min 40/50% and loan duration to 5/6 years depending on the omv value. Then lifted this "restriction" on June 2016.

This time round it seem govt won't do anything to "soften" the price of the Coe. I still seen PHV with new car plate on their new car. Ppl still buying car with 10 years loan

EJB

On the year 2013. When both cat A and Cat B are at 90k mark. Govt did amend the MAS car loan guidelines on dp min 40/50% and loan duration to 5/6 years depending on the omv value. Then lifted this "restriction" on June 2016.

This time round it seem govt won't do anything to "soften" the price of the Coe. I still seen PHV with new car plate on their new car. Ppl still buying car with 10 years loan
They didn't lift, they down the dp required, to 30/40% based on their OMV. This surged a while then the COE quota got cut.

That time I still see people buying 10 years already, I calculated the loan and repayment, by the time they scrap the car, they still haven't break even. Worse case, they total the car at any time they die co*k standing paying up the car.

ryan_khoo

Dream forever also won't happen. If lucky, CAT A will be 50-70K. Sub 50 is no longer possible. If lucky, 45-48 but people rush in to buy, then it goes up again.
big bro EJB, there's a saying "dreams will come true" haha 😀

EJB

This coe , sigh , 108k or 11k per year , really is jin bo hua
Almost 1k per month
The way you are clocking posts at 1 every few minutes all over the place, when are you going to start advertising for your business?

summersky1986

This coe , sigh , 108k or 11k per year , really is jin bo hua
Almost 1k per month
Don't know clone, clown or what..

But if you need to break down costs to 1 month 1 month.. maybe you really can't afford to own a car

ygsub41

The way you are clocking posts at 1 every few minutes all over the place, when are you going to start advertising for your business?
i poor worker nia low ses where got business
ask the big bosses here , dont ask me

songboh9696

Changing frequency a bit.. what is the proposition of getting a full-EV vs ICE car ?
The main pain point in the past seems to be charging point for people like me who stays in HDB flat.
but now the charging point isnt that far away anymore and with proper planning, there shouldnt be a case where you EV drop dead in the middle of the road.

can anyone who drives EV share some of your assessment please..

been driving ICE for > 15 years liao.

Hotpants

Changing frequency a bit.. what is the proposition of getting a full-EV vs ICE car ?
The main pain point in the past seems to be charging point for people like me who stays in HDB flat.
but now the charging point isnt that far away anymore and with proper planning, there shouldnt be a case where you EV drop dead in the middle of the road.

can anyone who drives EV share some of your assessment please..

been driving ICE for > 15 years liao.
Currently driving a model Y for abit now going to work about 3 times a week (average 40km round trip) i do charge every week because of range anxitey still but getting use to it. I do grocery with family every weekend nearby and there is a SP charger DC60 that charge fairly quickly, usually even before we finish dinner/shopping. (30 minutes plus minus)

importantly there isnt a need to do 100% charge, if you done your errands earlier, just end the charge. i never had the thought i need to purposefully go out to charge if that is what you are asking.

songboh9696

Currently driving a model Y for abit now going to work about 3 times a week (average 40km round trip) i do charge every week because of range anxitey still but getting use to it. I do grocery with family every weekend nearby and there is a SP charger DC60 that charge fairly quickly, usually even before we finish dinner/shopping. (30 minutes plus minus)

importantly there isnt a need to do 100% charge, if you done your errands earlier, just end the charge. i never had the thought i need to purposefully go out to charge if that is what you are asking.
may i ask what is the ethics in terms of hogging the charging station, say u take more time to eat, so u have to leave the car there longer.. any stress on this or is everyone, or at least most drivers have a sense of being considerate ?
I feel that even if you charge extra $ for cars not charging, some people will still pay as they can afford it.. end up those people who genuinely need to charge their car has to wait longer and can be sibei frustrating.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.