Can you afford a car?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Hotpants

may i ask what is the ethics in terms of hogging the charging station, say u take more time to eat, so u have to leave the car there longer.. any stress on this or is everyone, or at least most drivers have a sense of being considerate ?
I feel that even if you charge extra $ for cars not charging, some people will still pay as they can afford it.. end up those people who genuinely need to charge their car has to wait longer and can be sibei frustrating.

good question. personally i havent met anyone hogging so far experience been good. but there are some charging stations like not working on something so its a little frustrating after you parked you need to move again.

i dunnno about SP chargers but for Tesla superchargers there are idle fees (i think is a dollar per minute if all stations are full) pretty painful still.

if you are taking a longer time there are slower chargers like AC7.6 or something that charge like 7KWh so you can spend whole day your car still not finished :ROFLMAO:

spurman

Unfortunately when LTA fixed the $2 bug previously, I'm pretty sure the dream will never come true again.
And plus inflation and more potential buyers and grabcars.

I cant recall much but 2005, when I first bought a car, COE was like 15k Cat A.
The first dip in 2008 to 2010, prob avg 10k Cat A.
2018 to 2020, prob avg 30k CAT A.
so 2028 to 2030, prob avg 50k lor.

So, ya, pretty much stop dream ya...

sktan10

And plus inflation and more potential buyers and grabcars.

I cant recall much but 2005, when I first bought a car, COE was like 15k Cat A.
The first dip in 2008 to 2010, prob avg 10k Cat A.
2018 to 2020, prob avg 30k CAT A.
so 2028 to 2030, prob avg 50k lor.

So, ya, pretty much stop dream ya...
I started when car no coe.😁😁
Then 1990 1K,2000 40K,2003 36K,2006 10k,2008 19k,2016 51k,2022 71k.😂😂

Happierdays

Hi. I'm looking to buy my first used car. which is better? Toyota Altis 1.6A (2006), Mazda 2 1.5A Sedan (2010), Mitsubishi Lancer 1.5A Sports (2010)?
I'm looking for something hassle-free, can sustain for 2-3 yrs, good fuel consumption, fast enough, low maintenance

Asphodeli

Hi. I'm looking to buy my first used car. which is better? Toyota Altis 1.6A (2006), Mazda 2 1.5A Sedan (2010), Mitsubishi Lancer 1.5A Sports (2010)?
I'm looking for something hassle-free, can sustain for 2-3 yrs, good fuel consumption, fast enough, low maintenance
define "fast enough"? have you driven > 1 car before?

Gerskj

Hi everyone, would need some inputs if I can afford a car. 30 and Recently married no kids and staying in HDB, mortgage fully paid for by monthly CPF deduction

looking at an Audi S5 renew COE, DP 30% or 40% at approx 35-45k rest is loan. Already saved up enough for the DP.

base (myself): $7.7k after CPF. Commissions but variable so won’t include those in

wife: $6k ish but will not touch her pay unless absolutely needed

total combine: $13k

have looked through Sgcarmart and base on available information

Monthly cost estimated: 2.5k minimum inclusive of all cost that comes with car and maintenance and around 2k spending on credit card

savings would be somewhere around 1-2k I hope.

would the bros/sis here recommend to still get a conti or stick with jap/kor cars?

would likely explore tuning car since I am quite into that.

any advice is greatly appreciated!

rashcrash

Hi everyone, would need some inputs if I can afford a car. 30 and Recently married no kids and staying in HDB, mortgage fully paid for by monthly CPF deduction

looking at an Audi S5 renew COE, DP 30% or 40% at approx 35-45k rest is loan. Already saved up enough for the DP.

base (myself): $7.7k after CPF. Commissions but variable so won’t include those in

Monthly cost estimated: 2.5k minimum inclusive of all cost that comes with car and maintenance and around 2k spending on credit card

would the bros/sis here recommend to still get a conti or stick with jap/kor cars?

Would recommend Jap car for first timer.. doubt reliability of Coe renewed Audi ..

hellomuzan

Fast forwarding to 2023, COE increased by 15% as compared to previous year for CAT B Cars, if you do your math & if you are a middle income earner, there is no way you can own a car comfortably without bleeding or sacrificing other aspect like into your savings etc. Think twice before committing to get a car in SG.

sinistral

Suggest you start with Civic 1.5T, can slowly tune all you want.

Conan1986

you can afford a car, but the car you selected seems to be a money pit kind of car, so I strongly suggest doing full research and see if you can afford if major repairs are required

DevilPlate

Car too expensive to “play/tune” liao

since no kids really no point having a car in sg…..saved up yr hard earned 40k as family emergency funds bah :)

Otytham

Hello

There is still so many big cars on the road. But I do notice a lot of people driving a lot more impatience now and there is a lot of road rage as car become more expensive.

personally, I think too much vans and lorries hogging the roads and even driving on the first lane. Thus everyone is frustrated and engraged being stocked and late for everything. Sometimes public transport keep better timing but it may a real drag.

J_Man

Hello

There is still so many big cars on the road. But I do notice a lot of people driving a lot more impatience now and there is a lot of road rage as car become more expensive.

personally, I think too much vans and lorries hogging the roads and even driving on the first lane. Thus everyone is frustrated and engraged being stocked and late for everything. Sometimes public transport keep better timing but it may a real drag.

I'm glad I'm not the only one noticing this. Sometimes entire convoy of construction vehicles. And delivery vans/pick-ups all over the place. Nowadays those heavy vehicles even in neighborhoods.

davis111

Go for new BMW 1 or 2 Series? Second hand also decent.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.